News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Final Fantasy 3 Dungeon Crawl? Looking for some direction.  (Read 2881 times)

nightwork

Final Fantasy 3 Dungeon Crawl? Looking for some direction.
« on: April 04, 2011, 02:58:47 pm »
Hello all,

I am brand new to rom hacking, so I am doing my reading and trying to learn the basics now. However, I thought it would be good to mention my idea and see if anyone had any advice, direction or was interested in collaborating on it. I am also interested in someone with some experience giving some input about how hard this will be.

So here is the idea:
A dungeon crawl style game using the Final Fantasy 3 battle engine, monsters, items and characters. The beginning of the game you select four of the playable characters for your party then enter the dungeon at lvl 1 with starting equipment. The dungeon floors are randomly generated. As you progress the levels get harder.

Dungeon crawls have a few basic themes:
1: work your way to  the exit
2: get to the bottom kill a boss and get back out alive
3: just see how deep you can make it

I am not sure which of these would fit best yet, but that can come later. Also, I want to include vicks and wedge at some point. I was thinking that as you progress the game each fight raises the chances that you fight vicks and wedge. That way it is still random, but will happen about the same point in the game.

So, does anyone think it is a cool idea? anyone want to help? Do you think it will be very hard to pull use the battle engine, monster tables, items etc?

thanks in advance,
nightwork

Gideon Zhi

• Discord Staff
    • View Profile
    • Aeon Genesis
Re: Final Fantasy 3 Dungeon Crawl? Looking for some direction.
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2011, 03:32:16 pm »