Romhacking.net

Romhacking => Personal Projects => Topic started by: RhysOwens101 on February 11, 2017, 09:38:58 am

Title: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Cancelled)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on February 11, 2017, 09:38:58 am
Mega Man 3 - Master Battle

Hack Features:
Modified Bosses:
To Do:

Screenshots (2/11/17):
(http://i.imgur.com/ur8rS4A.png)
(http://i.imgur.com/HLzOEmP.png)
(http://i.imgur.com/55enIie.png)
(http://i.imgur.com/yywDlR0.png)
(http://i.imgur.com/2UjMUIX.png)
(http://i.imgur.com/Jtwp1TO.png)
(http://i.imgur.com/ovQ9yGx.png)
(http://i.imgur.com/e6juGgV.png)

Demo Patch 1 (Robot Masters Only): https://www.dropbox.com/s/6qld13jnioi9ulb/Mega%20Man%203%20-%20Master%20Battle.zip?dl=0
Demo Patch 2 (Half of the Doc Robot Bosses): https://www.dropbox.com/s/l9ta2edegvko4q2/Mega%20Man%203%20-%20Master%20Battle%20-%20Demo%202.ips?dl=0
To be applied to: Mega Man 3 (USA).nes

Made Using:
Credits:
kuja killer (for his MM3 Hacking Documents)

[/list]
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Demo Patch 1)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on February 18, 2017, 12:44:19 pm
Update 1: Demo Patch 1 has been released.
There's a glitch where you can instantly kill Gemini Man if you shoot his clone first. It's my fault and I don't know how to fix it.

Next Demo Patch:
Doc Robot Bosses
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Demo Patch 1)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on February 26, 2017, 10:57:56 am
Update 2:
Progress is going real slow. That's because I have other things to do and because I don't know how to change the door data for the Doc Robot Stages.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Demo Patch 1)
Post by: kuja killer on March 01, 2017, 07:33:17 am
http://acmlm.kafuka.org/uploader/get.php?id=3176

do you have this file ? some of the doc robots are documented a bit, i havent updated this since 2008 though.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Demo Patch 1)
Post by: Ness on March 01, 2017, 09:30:32 am
That's because I have other things to do and because I don't know how to change the door data for the Doc Robot Stages.

Doesn't MegaFLE X suppor that? I haven't actually tried but apparently it's possible to change which TSA blocks it uses when opened & closed, the location of the doors on the screen, the screen and scroll numbers they're at (for both set of doors in the doc robot stages).
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Demo Patch 1)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 01, 2017, 10:55:59 am
Doesn't MegaFLE X suppor that? I haven't actually tried but apparently it's possible to change which TSA blocks it uses when opened & closed, the location of the doors on the screen, the screen and scroll numbers they're at (for both set of doors in the doc robot stages).
That's what I'm looking for. I need the locations of the doors which can't be opened until the Doc-Robot mid-boss is defeated.

Update: I'm thinking of skipping the Mid-Bosses and going straight to the End-Bosses.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 08, 2017, 02:56:39 pm
Another Update:
For (Doc Robot) Spark Man's stage, I decided to skip Metal Man and go straight to Quick Man since the level ends when you defeat him, but apparently, the level needs to have 2 bosses beaten to end.
I really need help with the Doc Robot doors and where they are locked until the boss in it's room is defeated.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 18, 2017, 06:39:16 pm
Apparently, after the RHDN downtime, some posts have disappeared.
I'm looking for a way to change the locations of when the door unlocks after the Doc Robot is defeated and the screen number for the second Doc Robot boss.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: kuja killer on March 18, 2017, 07:25:26 pm
yea my post in this thread got deleted i noticed. :( - i'll post again
I'd like an example of one of your levels which i can quickly make in MegaFLE, so that i can test this out myself before i know what the deal is with the doors stuff.

like, show me a level map of one of them, and then i'll make a copy of it in megafle on a un-modified mm3 rom, so i can test exactly what your setup was.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 18, 2017, 08:29:44 pm
(http://i.imgur.com/oTnJ8yU.png)
Here's what you wanted, right?
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: kuja killer on March 18, 2017, 10:08:11 pm
okay i found the problem after testing that setup, the code expects there to be one of those "in between" rooms after the first door. like how all the levels normally have, the original doc robot levels have 1 of those empty in between rooms on the 1st doc robots of each stage, so that's what you needed to do.

you just gotta add 1 more room before metal man's room.

also change these 2 values to "03"
3DA9F and 3DBA6
that's the screen check for when the doc robot levels are allowed to end. originally it was 18, which means the doc robot levels had to be more than 18 hex, sreens long or else it would not end properly.
So 03 is just the room before the 2nd doc robot in your case here.

Also to fix the door glitches i noticed when they open/close, just should only need to edit door positions for "door point 1" which is what i did. press that arrow button on the scrollbar a couple times so you can edit the door positions after metal man. - so they match your ground height. i dont know if it's going to affect other levels, cause sometimes some doors share the same pointers as doors in other levels, so i dont know 100% there
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 19, 2017, 08:33:17 am
okay i found the problem after testing that setup, the code expects there to be one of those "in between" rooms after the first door. like how all the levels normally have, the original doc robot levels have 1 of those empty in between rooms on the 1st doc robots of each stage, so that's what you needed to do.

you just gotta add 1 more room before metal man's room.

also change these 2 values to "03"
3DA9F and 3DBA6
that's the screen check for when the doc robot levels are allowed to end. originally it was 18, which means the doc robot levels had to be more than 18 hex, sreens long or else it would not end properly.
So 03 is just the room before the 2nd doc robot in your case here.

Also to fix the door glitches i noticed when they open/close, just should only need to edit door positions for "door point 1" which is what i did. press that arrow button on the scrollbar a couple times so you can edit the door positions after metal man. - so they match your ground height. i dont know if it's going to affect other levels, cause sometimes some doors share the same pointers as doors in other levels, so i dont know 100% there

Wow, it's all fixed. Thanks.
But now I need the values which are used in the other Doc Robot Stages.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: kuja killer on March 19, 2017, 09:30:58 am
this applies to all the 4 levels.

you set them up the same way as i described. having that empty room before the first doc robot, and the empty room before the 2nd doc robot's room too.

For the actual door graphics, again you just only edit the screen numbers in the "door point 1" and door point 2.

where it says "screen of door point" use 0 for the door point 1, and 3 for the door point 2.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 19, 2017, 10:09:28 am
this applies to all the 4 levels.

you set them up the same way as i described. having that empty room before the first doc robot, and the empty room before the 2nd doc robot's room too.

For the actual door graphics, again you just only edit the screen numbers in the "door point 1" and door point 2.

where it says "screen of door point" use 0 for the door point 1, and 3 for the door point 2.
No, I want the locations of the values of the screen checks for Doc Robot's defeat ending the level.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: kuja killer on March 19, 2017, 04:28:18 pm
i just told you it's the same, i gave you the 2 addresses already, it applies for all 4 doc robot levels... there aren't anymore areas.

the code does "lda $22 (current level), cmp #$08, BCC something, cmp #$0B, BCS something, lda $F9 (current screen number), doc robot case here ..the 08-0B were the 4 doc robot levels.

as long as 4 the levels end on screen 4 exactly like the way i did in my test, and those 2 addresses are set to "03"
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 19, 2017, 06:29:29 pm
i just told you it's the same, i gave you the 2 addresses already, it applies for all 4 doc robot levels... there aren't anymore areas.

the code does "lda $22 (current level), cmp #$08, BCC something, cmp #$0B, BCS something, lda $F9 (current screen number), doc robot case here ..the 08-0B were the 4 doc robot levels.

as long as 4 the levels end on screen 4 exactly like the way i did in my test, and those 2 addresses are set to "03"
I did what you told me for Needleman's stage, but the door in Airman's room won't open, even after I've defeated him.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: kuja killer on March 19, 2017, 07:00:24 pm
did you make sure to go to the Door editor window, and set the same screen numbers there for the Door Point 1, and Door Point 2 like i mentioned ??

http://s3.postimg.org/stqcoxd9v/needle.png
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 20, 2017, 03:16:44 am
did you make sure to go to the Door editor window, and set the same screen numbers there for the Door Point 1, and Door Point 2 like i mentioned ??

http://s3.postimg.org/stqcoxd9v/needle.png
(http://i.imgur.com/d9SybUo.png)
Yes I did. I still don't know why it doesn't open.
It must have something to do with the TSA Choices.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: kuja killer on March 20, 2017, 06:02:52 am
click door point 2 ...did you put a 3 in it's box for that ?? ...
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 20, 2017, 12:30:04 pm
click door point 2 ...did you put a 3 in it's box for that ?? ...
Yep, sure did. That didn't help.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: kuja killer on March 20, 2017, 01:50:50 pm
hrm i dont know what else to suggest then, only way i can know what your doing wrong, is if i looked at your ROM myself and corrected the mistakes. :| this has taken way too long for my tastes..
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 20, 2017, 01:52:15 pm
hrm i dont know what else to suggest then, only way i can know what your doing wrong, is if i looked at your ROM myself and corrected the mistakes. :| this has taken way too long for my tastes..
I'll send you another IPS later.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 28, 2017, 05:19:06 pm
Here you go:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7nmi1kuq666udol/MM3MB%20Doc%20Robot%20Help.ips?dl=0
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: kuja killer on March 28, 2017, 11:28:30 pm
https://www.mediafire.com/?qfc3588c1qyatww

And here you go. - cant believe i did not ask you about this, it was the last possible thing ever that i would even bother to think of, this had nothing at all to do with doors seriously. :( ..it was the fact that you didnt finish setting up the scroll position types like "right, down, up" on the Screen Editor ..the screens after the first doc fight were "up up --- rest of the original megaman 3 path" ..when they needed to be "right, right" leading to the 2nd boss room. THAT's why the door wasnt opening, had nothing to do with the actual doors, ugh :|

So i set those for you. I also setup the bunches of "right x1" for you for Doc Gemini, and Doc Shadow even though you havent started on those levels yet.

I fixed a couple other little quick spots too like these:
http://s16.postimg.org/8v9ugjshh/hid-door.png - these spots were using regular "background" property instead of wall. So i added the wall to that spot from the original mm3 room setup. Also fixed that in the Doc Spark doors too.

I "half" fixed the strange unknown door open in gemini that happened on your 2 extra screens at the beginning, but i could not fix the other side after the end of the scroll :(

So anyway i hope this is enough for you to continue and finish your hack though. I wish you could of started with Megaman 3 improvement as the base of your hack though, but ah well, thats okay.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 29, 2017, 03:06:15 am
https://www.mediafire.com/?qfc3588c1qyatww

And here you go. - cant believe i did not ask you about this, it was the last possible thing ever that i would even bother to think of, this had nothing at all to do with doors seriously. :( ..it was the fact that you didnt finish setting up the scroll position types like "right, down, up" on the Screen Editor ..the screens after the first doc fight were "up up --- rest of the original megaman 3 path" ..when they needed to be "right, right" leading to the 2nd boss room. THAT's why the door wasnt opening, had nothing to do with the actual doors, ugh :|

So i set those for you. I also setup the bunches of "right x1" for you for Doc Gemini, and Doc Shadow even though you havent started on those levels yet.

I fixed a couple other little quick spots too like these:
http://s16.postimg.org/8v9ugjshh/hid-door.png - these spots were using regular "background" property instead of wall. So i added the wall to that spot from the original mm3 room setup. Also fixed that in the Doc Spark doors too.

I "half" fixed the strange unknown door open in gemini that happened on your 2 extra screens at the beginning, but i could not fix the other side after the end of the scroll :(

So anyway i hope this is enough for you to continue and finish your hack though. I wish you could of started with Megaman 3 improvement as the base of your hack though, but ah well, thats okay.
Wow, thanks,
but after editing Air Man's behavior, the game won't work. It stopped working after editing some of his tornado Y-positions.
So that might help you find the problem. https://www.dropbox.com/s/gxdwyw5zksascl2/Mega%20Man%203%20-%20Master%20Battle.nes?dl=0
EDIT: Is the patch you gave me compatible with an Original MM3 US Rom?
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: kuja killer on March 29, 2017, 03:58:49 am
i never saw any crashes or anything during Airman earlier tonight while fixing the door stuff.....i just used an unmodified megaman 3 rom to make the patch, just regular english ...so yea it's fine...i guess ?

edit: woooa what the hell...the WHOLE entire rom is shifted to the right by 1 byte ...what the hell happened ..yea you must have a different ROM or something :-\

i dont know if this matters or not but uhhh. this is the checksum stuff or whatever of the un-modified mm3 rom i have... for you to compare to yours

May 19, 1997
ROM CRC32:  0x603aaa57
ROM MD5:  0x4a53b6f58067d62c9a43404fe835dd5c
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 29, 2017, 08:31:51 am
i never saw any crashes or anything during Airman earlier tonight while fixing the door stuff.....i just used an unmodified megaman 3 rom to make the patch, just regular english ...so yea it's fine...i guess ?

edit: woooa what the hell...the WHOLE entire rom is shifted to the right by 1 byte ...what the hell happened ..yea you must have a different ROM or something :-\

i dont know if this matters or not but uhhh. this is the checksum stuff or whatever of the un-modified mm3 rom i have... for you to compare to yours

May 19, 1997
ROM CRC32:  0x603aaa57
ROM MD5:  0x4a53b6f58067d62c9a43404fe835dd5c
I applied your patch to an unedited MM3 rom and everything is okay now.
EDIT: I'd like some info on editing Heatman and Quickman because there's none in the word file.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: Ness on March 29, 2017, 11:06:06 am
I'd like some info on editing Heatman and Quickman because there's none in the word file.

Honestly no offense but the best way to find those info is to learn to do the searching yourself.

MM3's RAM map should be available. During a fight with Heatman or whatever, based on the ram map you can find the addresses used by the object. For instance according to datacrystal, ram address $0360 to $037F = X Coordinate, so one of those will be the object's X coordinate. You can easily guess it and freeze or change it to make sure.

Set a write breakpoint on that address, that will open up the debugger, which in turn leads you to the relevant rom data. From there, learn how to use the debugger and to read 6502 assembly. It's not hard, if I'm learning it without no prior programming knowledge, anyone can.

Make sure that the breakpoint sent you to the boss's code, and not a routine that a boss uses which is probably used by many other things (not a good idea to change that just yet). If you're seeing a routine you can "step out" which brings to the point which called it.

At that point the easier edits is to find a bunch of LDA addresses and to mess with them. Once you get the hang of it and a better understanding you can try replacing a routine by another, and then more, much more.

Do this for different ram addresses (coordinate, speed, etc)

Basically base yourself on whatever MM3 doc there is and on 6502 assembly tutorials.
Make sure to take notes of everything you're doing. Always set back to default whatever you changed that didn't end up interesting or useful. Make backups.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Help Needed)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on March 29, 2017, 12:15:18 pm
Honestly no offense but the best way to find those info is to learn to do the searching yourself.

MM3's RAM map should be available. During a fight with Heatman or whatever, based on the ram map you can find the addresses used by the object. For instance according to datacrystal, ram address $0360 to $037F = X Coordinate, so one of those will be the object's X coordinate. You can easily guess it and freeze or change it to make sure.

Set a write breakpoint on that address, that will open up the debugger, which in turn leads you to the relevant rom data. From there, learn how to use the debugger and to read 6502 assembly. It's not hard, if I'm learning it without no prior programming knowledge, anyone can.

Make sure that the breakpoint sent you to the boss's code, and not a routine that a boss uses which is probably used by many other things (not a good idea to change that just yet). If you're seeing a routine you can "step out" which brings to the point which called it.

At that point the easier edits is to find a bunch of LDA addresses and to mess with them. Once you get the hang of it and a better understanding you can try replacing a routine by another, and then more, much more.

Do this for different ram addresses (coordinate, speed, etc)

Basically base yourself on whatever MM3 doc there is and on 6502 assembly tutorials.
Make sure to take notes of everything you're doing. Always set back to default whatever you changed that didn't end up interesting or useful. Make backups.
I booted up FCEUX and went to Heatman's room. Then I opened the RAM Search and changed some values at the addresses you showed me, but Heatman will not move. No luck.

April 02, 2017, 09:29:53 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Also here are some screenshots of the Doc Robot bosses.
(http://i.imgur.com/HfsOAyZ.png)(http://i.imgur.com/j23F0M4.png)
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Demo Patch 2)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on April 05, 2017, 12:28:00 pm
Demo Patch 2 is out! It has the Air Man, Crash Man, Metal Man and Heat Man modified.
Demo Patch 3 will have the rest of the Doc Robot Battles modified.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Demo Patch 2)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on April 13, 2017, 09:33:21 am
Quick Update:
Not much has been done because I have other things to do, for example, working on a hack for the Gameboy MM1.
I will continue working on this though at one point, don't worry.
Title: Re: Mega Man 3 - Master Battle (Cancelled)
Post by: RhysOwens101 on May 26, 2017, 10:54:36 am
The project has been cancelled since like early May because I realized that Boss Rush hacks are pretty low effort, so I'm making a full level and gameplay hack.