Romhacking.net

Romhacking => Personal Projects => Topic started by: falchion22 on May 17, 2016, 11:10:05 PM

Title: Megaman Z
Post by: falchion22 on May 17, 2016, 11:10:05 PM
Here is a hack that I began back in 2007. I lost interest in it and put it on hold and uploaded what I had so done at the time.
After playing various Megaman hacks, I was inspired to start work on the project again.

Previous Hack:
(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/Red-Zero.gif) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/Red-Zero.gif.html)
(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/2.gif) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/2.gif.html)

Updated Hack:
(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/1amp2.png) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/1amp2.png.html)
Edited Megaman X to look like Zero. Changed Title Screen.
(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/8.png) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/8.png.html)
Changed 90% of dialogue.
(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/10.png) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/10.png.html)
Edited Get Weapon Portrait to look like Zero.
(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/4.png) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/4.png.html)
Changed Dr. Light into Dr. Wily.
(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/5.png) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/5.png.html)
Edited Boss select screen "Megaman X" icon into "Z"
(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/7.png) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/7.png.html)
Zero can use the upgrades given to him, but his armor looks the same.
I am still working on editing those sprites.

Also, Zero has no ponytail. I apologize for my lack of asm coding knowledge, but I am hoping this hack will inspire someone to find a way to include his hair.

I will be releasing a patch later this month.

Also, I want to thank Justin3009, Xstuff, and Protorock for helping me with this project and for answering my questions.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Satoshi_Matrix on May 18, 2016, 05:23:40 AM
Awesome! I really look forward to this! Do you need a beta tester? I'd love to give this a run and see if I can't find any bugs that could might need fixing before the proper release.

As for Zero's hair, might it help to look at Megaman X3, or the X3 hack where Zero is fully playable? Just throwing that out there.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: justin3009 on May 18, 2016, 10:15:55 AM
Yep, he's asked about it via PM and the easiest answer is to copy Zero's Sprite Assembly, VRAM data and Animation data over.

The problem with that is that it's going to take a massive rewrite of all that data and the bits that load the animations would have to change as well.

It's not easy whatsoever and it's ludicrously time consuming. It's possible to expand the ROM and just slap the data as is from X3 into X1, but that seems pretty wasteful. It'd save days of work so the only real thing left is animation bit changes.

Either way, it's an annoying hassle and will take large amounts of time to do if done. Plus, if done this way, he'd have to redo all of Zero's graphics to match the new layout in ROM.. yeah it's a headache no matter which way you go.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: andrewclunn on May 18, 2016, 02:47:20 PM
Almost sounds easier to stick the x1 level data into x3
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: justin3009 on May 18, 2016, 03:35:13 PM
It most likely is honestly.  Then comes rewriting all the enemy AI and what not too.  Uch.

No matter which way this is done, it will take a ridiculous amount of time either on a coders part or the actual hackers part.  There is no easy way around it sadly.

I think my biggest concern minus the copying data over is the Sprite Assembly/VRAM setup.  I believe X2/X3 use the CX4 chip to appropriately set everything up while X1 does not.  Interestingly enough, if X1's routine could be copied over into X2/X3, this would fully allow graphics to be used in any bank WITHOUT the CX4 chip throwing a fit about them.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: bradzx on May 19, 2016, 12:12:19 AM
GET THE F*** OUT!!!  X'D FINALLY I AM WAITING FOR THIS SO F***ING LONG THAT SOMEONE WILL DO IT FOR PLAYABLE ZERO!!!!   BOO-YA!!!!   I CANT WAIT PLAY THIS HACK!!!  <3 <3 <3 <3  :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Synnae on May 19, 2016, 09:22:16 AM
Wow. This looks great. I will make sure to play it. ;D

Shame on the hair, though. It will probably be the hack's only flaw. But since it's so hard to do, I guess it can't be helped. :(

...and I guess this also ends up killing my hopes for a Roll Chan X hack someday... :'(

Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: justin3009 on May 19, 2016, 10:09:06 AM
Graphically speaking, if the game gets expanded to 2 MB then Zero's sprites could be transferred over.  The Sprite Assembly and stuff I haven't checked yet, though I think a slight ROM expansion would be good so the dialogue could be moved and be edited however it's needed without constraint.

I'm willing to do most of the brunt work to technically have Zero playable instead of X, but I don't have the patience to overlay any of the sprites and such, that'd be up to the user.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: falchion22 on May 19, 2016, 03:21:10 PM
Quote from: justin3009 on May 19, 2016, 10:09:06 AM
Graphically speaking, if the game gets expanded to 2 MB then Zero's sprites could be transferred over.  The Sprite Assembly and stuff I haven't checked yet, though I think a slight ROM expansion would be good so the dialogue could be moved and be edited however it's needed without constraint.

I'm willing to do most of the brunt work to technically have Zero playable instead of X, but I don't have the patience to overlay any of the sprites and such, that'd be up to the user.

I have the patience to do the sprites. Count me in. I actually enjoy doing sprite work.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: shadow501 on May 24, 2016, 12:19:58 AM
My wish play by Zero, Good job   :thumbsup:
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Synnae on May 24, 2016, 11:58:09 AM
Quote from: falchion22 on May 17, 2016, 11:10:05 PM
Zero can use the upgrades given to him, but his armor looks the same.
I am still working on editing those sprites.

You could palette swap the armor parts with the color black depending on the upgrade. It'd be like a reference to Zero's Black Armor from later games.

Simply palette swapping would probably be less stressful than redesigning sprites completely.

Here is a quick edit I did:

(http://i.imgur.com/3ukGAyh.png)

He could look like that with all four upgrades.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: justin3009 on May 24, 2016, 04:41:41 PM
That's actually a really good idea and it cuts out A LOT of excess work.  The only thing that'd need to be changed then is the calling of the extra routines for graphics when you have the armor pieces, which is extremely simple honestly.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Vanya on May 25, 2016, 08:05:37 AM
The original sprite for Zero didn't have the green chest boobs, so might I suggest using the armor upgrade to add them in as a nod to the original oversight?
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Midna on May 25, 2016, 08:58:17 PM
If you'll look, the sprites in this hack already have the booblights.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Vanya on May 26, 2016, 08:49:55 AM
I know. I'm suggesting not having the boob lights until after getting the armor upgrade.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: falchion22 on May 26, 2016, 11:47:18 AM
Quote from: Vanya on May 26, 2016, 08:49:55 AM
I know. I'm suggesting not having the boob lights until after getting the armor upgrade.

(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/Zero%20Armor%20Compare1.png) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/Zero%20Armor%20Compare1.png.html)

You mean like this.....?
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Vanya on May 27, 2016, 09:55:13 AM
Yeah. Just like that.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: pollux on May 27, 2016, 10:32:33 AM
I think Zero's had enough of a design evolution throughout the series for something like that to work (although I'm not sure what you'd do for the head)
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: thainferno305 on May 28, 2016, 01:26:30 AM
hell yeah ive been waiting for along time for zero to get his exposer in x1 to make him playable
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Vanya on May 28, 2016, 07:26:41 PM
My first thought was for the helmet upgrade to do something new that can be thought of as internal instead of giving it a new look.
The block breaking could be tacked on to the Buster Upgrade instead. I always found the Helmet Upgrade in this game was a little too... Super Mario -ish.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Satoshi_Matrix on May 31, 2016, 12:35:03 PM
And it was only used a couple of times in the game, and future X games abandoned the idea switching to other helmet upgrade abilities like the search and the omega blaster.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Bahamut ZERO on June 02, 2016, 07:07:04 PM
Hell yeah, always wanted to  play through X1 as Zero!

Lack o' ponytail doesn't really bother me. Never been a big fan of watching his hair flailing all over the place with every step he takes anyway haha.

Hell, if you have the space on the sprites, you could always just add some yellow to the bottom left side of his helm so it just looks like he has  hair, then add a bit to his running sprites (whenever you see more of his back I guess). Then the only time it'd look out of place would be when he's coming down from a jump.

But hair or no hair this still totally kicks ass. Outside of Wily's sprite looking a little bit like he has some beard for a chin, this hack's looking damn fine! Keep up the good progress.  :beer:
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Atrushan on June 09, 2016, 12:30:13 PM
Quote from: Vanya on May 25, 2016, 08:05:37 AM
The original sprite for Zero didn't have the green chest boobs, so might I suggest using the armor upgrade to add them in as a nod to the original oversight?
wouldn't that kinda ruin the story considering Zero's body was destroyed, and then remade and upgraded in x2?
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: falchion22 on June 09, 2016, 01:59:23 PM
Ok, Megaman Z is ready to download. Enjoy!

You can find it here:

http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2889/
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Seeeeph on June 10, 2016, 04:02:05 AM
.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Atrushan on June 10, 2016, 04:24:26 AM
Freezes before the Vile fight for me, using ZSNES. The intro Vile fight, that is.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Bonesy on June 10, 2016, 04:46:48 AM
Quote from: Atrushan on June 10, 2016, 04:24:26 AM
Freezes before the Vile fight for me, using ZSNES. The intro Vile fight, that is.

people use zsnes still?  ::)
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: shadow501 on June 10, 2016, 09:21:45 AM
Quote from: Atrushan on June 10, 2016, 04:24:26 AM
Freezes before the Vile fight for me, using ZSNES. The intro Vile fight, that is.

Me too, it is freezes :huh:
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Seeeeph on June 10, 2016, 11:43:51 AM
.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: falchion22 on June 10, 2016, 12:23:30 PM
Quote from: shadow501 on June 10, 2016, 09:21:45 AM
Me too, it is freezes :huh:

Make sure that you are patching Mega Man X (U) (V1.1)[!].smc and that the rom has no header.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: justin3009 on June 10, 2016, 03:29:12 PM
Quote from: Seeeeph on June 10, 2016, 11:43:51 AM
I do. If its not broken, why change? Hate Snes9x and especially all forks of higan/bsnes. Found more bugs in my hack when using Snes9x for what its worth and zsnes is still stable after all these years.

All depends on users choices I guess.

Just an FYI, SNES9X is a bit more accurate than ZSNES so finding bugs in SNES9X more than likely means there's a lot of fixing that needs to be done.  Though, I do tend to use ZSNES as well if I'm actually playing anything.  It's a lot easier to work with and the GUI is nice.  I should probably upgrade to the very latest version of SNES9X though as I hear that's improved ten fold from what it used to be.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: zstandig on June 10, 2016, 03:42:45 PM
First I tried it using BSNES (073), it worked but there were odd graphical corruptions (the Wily capsule and the 'Z' in the title particularly)

I then found a different MMX 1.1, only this one was '.sfc' I then used a tool to make sure its checksum was okay.

That cleared up the graphical corruptions.

I then put it on my powerpak to play it on real hardware.

For some reason or other I hit two areas that cause freezing.

*Right before Vile in the intro stage
*The minute you begin to move in Launch Octopus's stage (Somehow I managed to remember that 888888888877 password from my youth  ;D)

After trying real hardware I went and tried it again on BSNES, and it froze in the intro right before Vile.


There were also other weird graphical..I don't know how to describe it.. stuttering? Like when I compared the title screen animation the X and the Z animates in an odd way and during the intro stage when the bee copter things fall there is noticeable..I can't describe it, just something looks off.

Observations:

I really like the attention to detail. Specifically the icon in the boss meter being changed from a Wily skull to a Sigma emblem.

I did a quick play through of Chill Penguin, Flame Mammoth and Storm Eagle and everything worked fine. Thank you for making this.

Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Atrushan on June 11, 2016, 01:11:17 AM
Got one that seems to work, ZSNES said bad rom on all of the ones I have whether they work or not, so I dunno if that's the reason for this or not, but when X came to save Zero, half of his buster disappeared while charging, as well as there didn't seem to be a charging animation. I rather enjoy the changes so far(Although it's weird that X can dash in the beginning with no armor pieces in X1), though so far I found his head part upgrade message to be a little lacking. The boot upgrade's text was rather nice, however the head piece didn't detail what the head piece did and Wily just sorta repeated himself in what he said with the boot upgrades.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Zynk on June 11, 2016, 08:53:56 AM
Quote from: falchion22 on June 10, 2016, 12:23:30 PM
Make sure that you are patching Mega Man X (U) (V1.1)[!].smc and that the rom has no header.
Would you like to double check? Because you provided this instead of that -

QuoteMega Man X (USA) (Rev 1).smc
CRC32: DED53C64
MD5: DF1CC0C8C8C4B61E3B834CC03366611C
SHA-1: C65216760BA99178100A10D98457CF11496C2097
SHA-256: B8F70A6E7FB93819F79693578887E2C11E196BDF1AC6DDC7CB924B1AD0BE2D32

For me, the one in the quote worked. You need the exact ROM that is unheadered.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Atrushan on June 11, 2016, 05:23:58 PM
So far the hack is nice as far as the model for Zero, I might even like it more than the X3 one, though of course it doesn't have his hair, it's still quite nice. Good job though so far, would love it more if there was some more creativity with the buster or some other QOL improvements, but it does it's job and I shouldn't compare the two.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: falchion22 on June 11, 2016, 06:00:44 PM
Quote from: Zynk Oxhyde on June 11, 2016, 08:53:56 AM
Would you like to double check? Because you provided this instead of that -

For me, the one in the quote worked. You need the exact ROM that is unheadered.

Thanks for pointing that out. I will update the Rom info to reflect the correct rom.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Axiphel on June 11, 2016, 07:16:16 PM
Quote from: Seeeeph on June 10, 2016, 11:43:51 AM
I do. If its not broken, why change? Hate Snes9x and especially all forks of higan/bsnes. Found more bugs in my hack when using Snes9x for what its worth and zsnes is still stable after all these years.

All depends on users choices I guess.

Of course when you build a hack around ZSNES' speedhacks they obviously won't work correctly in more accurate emulators. ZSNES is horribly hacky and inaccurate and should really only ever be used if you just absolutely have to play a rom hack that is built around ZSNES and won't work in better emulators. It's also a security risk 'With specially made hacks and homebrew ROMs, it is possible for them to break out of ZSNES itself and execute native code on the host computer (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3SOYneC7mU).'


Hey if you hate change then keep on keepin on. I would never want to use a program that hasn't been updated in nearly 10 years, with horrible inaccuracies and security flaws, but that's just me.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: zstandig on June 12, 2016, 12:59:16 PM
I tried making it again and this time nothing freezes, I don't know what went wrong before. Some minor graphical glitchyness is still present but not that noticeable at all.

My only two-cents is that the 'Wily' capsules look a little out of place. I was actually expecting the pink/red capsules from MMX3.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: thainferno305 on June 13, 2016, 12:00:31 AM
I went to armed armadillo stage and I repeat that level 5X and I did not get the secret weapon Hadouken did you got rid of that for zero
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Seeeeph on June 13, 2016, 02:13:11 AM
.
Title: ###
Post by: FCandChill on June 13, 2016, 02:47:33 AM
Comment removed because reasons...
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: falchion22 on June 13, 2016, 01:19:28 PM
Quote from: zstandig on June 12, 2016, 12:59:16 PM
My only two-cents is that the 'Wily' capsules look a little out of place. I was actually expecting the pink/red capsules from MMX3.

I was trying to re-create the capsule he was in during the Megaman X4 anime:

(http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c132/falchion22/Capsule%20Compare.png) (http://s26.photobucket.com/user/falchion22/media/Capsule%20Compare.png.html)
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: zstandig on June 13, 2016, 03:10:13 PM
Neat, I didn't even remember that.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Zynk on June 13, 2016, 08:20:39 PM
I think it was mentioned already, but maybe revise the Wily Capsules dialogue to have Wily's message only and remove Zero's POV message. Reading it was smh disruptive.

And was Zero's black form implemented? It could practically replace X's armor sprite. And I think when X first appeared in the game, X has a missing tile sprite (i.e. X's standing shooting sprite)
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Atrushan on June 14, 2016, 02:36:36 PM
Quote from: Zynk Oxhyde on June 13, 2016, 08:20:39 PM
I think it was mentioned already, but maybe revise the Wily Capsules dialogue to have Wily's message only and remove Zero's POV message. Reading it was smh disruptive.

And was Zero's black form implemented? It could practically replace X's armor sprite. And I think when X first appeared in the game, X has a missing tile sprite (i.e. X's standing shooting sprite)
My issue wasn't with Zero's pov in the messages, just that there was no real information. The boot enhance capsule was alright but the head piece was absolutely nothing new and didn't even say what the head piece did. I would suggest giving small bits of story info with each capsule but also still describing what the armour piece in question does.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: falchion22 on June 14, 2016, 06:22:36 PM
Thank you all for the feedback. I will be sure to address some of the issues in the next release.

Here are a few answers to common questions some have asked:

1.When will you release a patch with Zero's hair ponytail?

Well, The honest answer is I don't know how to implement his hair. I only know how to hack sprites, text, and some minor coding.Asm coding is a bit confusing for me so I am limited in what I can do.I believe however, that Justin3009 was going to give it a try.

2.Is Zero's black armor implemented?
No, I did not put it in because my goal was to put in the X2 armor. But, I ran out of motivation to do even that. Maybe in the next release...

3. Zero's POV (Point of view) dialogue is confusing.Can you change it?
Lol, some people like it, some people don't. It's kind of "hit or miss" in regards to that. Again, I will consider removing it or changing it to something else.

4. How come the helmet upgrade dialogue lacked?
Well for various reasons...I ran out of ideas...and hex limitations...lol. But again, I will consider it for the next release.

5. There are some sprite errors noted ie: Megaman X in his intro against Vile, X is missing some tiles.

Yes, I am aware. When I over layed X's tiles over the original Zero's, I noticed that because of Zero's height difference, his buster is higher than X. So I had to make X stand up to shoot at Vile. But I ran out of space for the bottom of his cannon tile.

If any one of you have a suggestion for how to overcome tile 8x8 limitations please let me know.
Title: Re: Megaman Z
Post by: Zynk on June 14, 2016, 08:25:35 PM
@falchion22: I have a suggestion, a bit nitpicky. You know the texts have colors for Zero (red) and X (blue)? Maybe you could match the text colors to X & Zero?