Romhacking.net

Romhacking => Newcomer's Board => Topic started by: deadlyblossom on February 05, 2016, 09:17:09 pm

Title: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 05, 2016, 09:17:09 pm
Hi I'm deadlyblossom and I'm new here and it's great to be here.

Anyway I was able to get the Patch for Final fantasy 2 for NES fan translation but it expects to patch to a rom. I was want a normal patch so I can equip it to my RetroN 5 witch I got some time ago and to my Cartage.

So any ideas?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Disch on February 06, 2016, 03:34:45 am
Welcome, deadlyblossom!

You need a ROM.  A patch is something that changes a ROM.

You'll have to get a copy of the original Japanese ROM, apply the patch to it to translate the game (using a patching utility), then use the translated ROM for your RetoN 5.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 06, 2016, 07:33:49 am
And how am I suppose to do that?

Get the Japanese ROM and patch it then take to RetroN 5 and do something like that?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Disch on February 06, 2016, 11:53:21 am
For legality reasons you won't be able to get a ROM on this site, but you shouldn't have much trouble finding one on the internets somewhere.

Assuming your translation patch is in the IPS format, you can use a patcher like LIPS to apply the patch to the ROM to translate it.  You can get LIPS on this site:  http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/240/

Once your ROM is patched, I assume you know how to get your ROMs onto your RetroN 5
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 06, 2016, 01:15:49 pm
I tried but failed.


So okay (sighs) what should I do create a normal fan translation patch for Final Fantasy 2 for NES of my own but get permission from Neo Demiforce first?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Disch on February 06, 2016, 02:23:22 pm
Waaaaat?

You don't need to get permission from anyone.  Just get a ROM and patch it.  You're probably making this more complicated than it needs to be.

1)  Find the ROM online somewhere
2)  Download the patch
3)  Download LIPS
4)  Use LIPS to apply the patch to the ROM

What did you try?  How did you fail?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: SunGodPortal on February 06, 2016, 02:43:38 pm
Quote
What did you try?

English. LOL
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 06, 2016, 09:20:44 pm
Okay am I in trouble?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Disch on February 07, 2016, 01:18:12 am
No, you're fine.  Just try to be more specific about your problem.  "I've tried and failed" doesn't tell us much -- and if we don't know what you're doing [wrong], we don't know how to direct you.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 07, 2016, 07:48:48 am
Okay then maybe I should make my own deal and it is to be normal patch using the IPS tool with except I'm doing with RetroN 5.

So if that's the case then I should better get started.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Disch on February 09, 2016, 11:44:40 am
You don't have to make your own translation.  Just apply the patch and you'll have a translated ROM.  It really isn't difficult.  Walk me through what you're actually trying when you apply this patch so I can see where you're going wrong.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: C_CliFF on February 09, 2016, 12:17:38 pm
1)  Find the ROM online somewhere
2)  Download the patch
3)  Download LIPS
4)  Use LIPS to apply the patch to the ROM

It doesent get any clearer than this.

First, get the patch here:

http://www.romhacking.net/translations/139/

Get the tool here:

http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/240/

Download the ROM by searching on the internet and apply the patch using the tool.

Good luck.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Gideon Zhi on February 09, 2016, 01:58:42 pm
I think the disconnect here is that the guy is trying to play the patch on the Retron 5, which itself doesn't load patched games. You plug a game in, it reads the game and stores the game in its internal memory. If you have a patch, it has to be loaded on an SD card or something, and the system will apply it automatically at runtime or something? The retron 5 has some patching functionality but there's no way to load a patched ROM directly onto the device, as far as I know.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Disch on February 09, 2016, 02:04:27 pm
The retron 5 has some patching functionality but there's no way to load a patched ROM directly onto the device, as far as I know.

So what you're saying is that the Retron 5 is complete garbage?   :laugh:


But seriously how would it know whether or not you're loading a patched ROM unless it keeps a hash of every commercial ROM ever made?  What would be the point of that?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Gideon Zhi on February 09, 2016, 02:50:08 pm
So what you're saying is that the Retron 5 is complete garbage?   :laugh:


But seriously how would it know whether or not you're loading a patched ROM unless it keeps a hash of every commercial ROM ever made?  What would be the point of that?

Apparently you load the patch onto an SD card and set it in a game's Game Specific Settings.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eh3N2Msdmgc
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 10, 2016, 10:41:50 am
Thanks Gideon Zhi for correcting somebody.

Now if you excuse me, I got the Japanese Language and knowledge to study so I can make my own fan translation.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Gideon Zhi on February 10, 2016, 04:13:20 pm
Thanks Gideon Zhi for correcting somebody.

Now if you excuse me, I got the Japanese Language and knowledge to study so I can make my own fan translation.

I'm going to correct another person here - you don't need to (or, at least, shouldn't need to) create your own translation. The current one should work. Have you been able to get any other translations working on your Retron?

No-Intro only shows the one rom revision for FF2, so either you have an undumped revision on your cartridge (highly unlikely) or you're doing something wrong.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 10, 2016, 06:23:51 pm
Okay so where can I find the normal IPS patch?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: SleepyFist on February 10, 2016, 06:57:46 pm
What you have(I think) may actually be a bad ROM dump,In which case the patch isnt at fault, sometimes when the data is pulled from the game cartridge and made into a ROM file it becomes corrupted, or has additional data added to it that causes various incompatabilities, I recommend maybe trying the ROM from another source.

I assume that this
http://www.romhacking.net/translations/139/
Is the patch you're trying to use?
Its working for me on FCEUX with the only glitches being at the title screen.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 10, 2016, 07:18:19 pm
Okay I found the one in fantasyanime.com and it worked.


I know there is a tool to do this translating in the Getting Started link. So you want me to study the one done by demiforce and the original Japanese ROM?

So if I do have to do this then you think that I will get my problem solved? Because I've waited too long for the chance to experience 1-10 all on TV and the money in all of 8-bit 16-bit and 3D to be Gil and the whole 9 yeards?

If so thenwhat download from the Getting Started link should I get?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: SleepyFist on February 10, 2016, 07:45:19 pm
Sorry, but I think you're losing me :o slow down and try to phrase what you say a little better.

I think the Gist of this is that you want final fantasy II on your Retron5,
but you don't need to make another patch, Demiforce already made one,
and It will work if you get it attached to a proper FF II ROM.

But anyway.
Retron5 can play gameboy advance right?
well google Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls rom
and you should be good to go no patching required.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 10, 2016, 07:56:36 pm
Darn I guess no wants to help and keeps misunderstanding and I rather play through 8-bit rather than something like that.

I'll only settle with Game Boy Advance version for soul of rebirth where Mindu takes over for Firion.

In other I will do what I want to do right and with the script the way I see fit, with or without your concents.

Sorry I got that from that Mortal Kombat movie.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Lenophis on February 11, 2016, 01:05:42 am
Aside from an obvious language barrier in play here, there is one thing that hasn't been mentioned.

If you have patched to a rom already, that rom is toast. Any other patches applied to that same rom will still give a broken rom. This is why it always said to make backups (copies) of whatever you patch to in case something very bad goes wrong.

So, your instructions are as follows:

1) Get new rom
2) Backup new rom
3) Apply patch to new rom
4) Copy rom to Retron5.
5) ??
6) Profit!
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 11, 2016, 06:56:57 am
Will you please stop this wild goose chase.

I don't need this advice.

And you heard what someone said it does not work that way?

So ether you let me make my own or I''ll report you to the Current Moderators for not telling me the language that I understand and not getting it through your head that Retron 5 does not work that way.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: amitrius17 on February 11, 2016, 10:24:26 am
And my romz save the day yet again 8)

Btw guys, I do have a patching tutorial (http://fantasyanime.com/patching) (with a video) that you can send people to so you don't have to fuss with explaining patching. However in relation to this thread, I don't have any info with patching for the Retron5.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 11, 2016, 03:13:35 pm
Well now that this is not going well I'm going to back off.

No more of this.

I should just download the getting started right now and then leave them be until I do deeper research on the Japanese language.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: SunGodPortal on February 11, 2016, 03:39:27 pm
Bonus: A noob with very poor english skills is the worst. They ask questions like "how did I doing if active with room hacking or different ?" and then some of them get mad when you have no idea what they are talking about.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Bonesy on February 11, 2016, 03:44:11 pm
god why did they have to make the retron5, we aren't the damn support forum for it
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 11, 2016, 04:31:00 pm
Okay I won't talk about anymore so let's drop it.

And why simple. Hyperkin company wanted to create a multi console that plays both American and Japanese versions of NES Super NES and Genesis and only the American Game Boy Game Boy Color and Game Boy Advice. (Sorry Pokemon fans you'll never play the Green version.)

So why don't we drop it and let me do it my way.

I'll study Japanese and such and try to find a team who were super smart that were considered Dexter and Blossom children. Sorry I like this crossover pairing since I'm reading Powerpuff Girls D.

February 11, 2016, 09:17:30 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Sorry to double but everyone I apologize I did not know that there were the IPS there all along.

It is the FF2EINES.IPS patch.

And I need no Lunar IPS utility I put it into my SD card and put it into the Retron 5 and it worked like a charm.

Looks like I've been bent out of shape for nothing.

And Isao Kronos there are reason why I must have Retron 5 for this. I know this site doesn't support it but I have run into a hiccup feeling like Becky Botsfort (A.K.A Word Girl) when it comes to a little sibling.

Sorry you watched Word Girl have you?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Rotwang on February 12, 2016, 08:31:41 pm
I'll study Japanese and such and try to find a team who were super smart that were considered Dexter and Blossom children. Sorry I like this crossover pairing since I'm reading Powerpuff Girls D.

...

And Isao Kronos there are reason why I must have Retron 5 for this. I know this site doesn't support it but I have run into a hiccup feeling like Becky Botsfort (A.K.A Word Girl) when it comes to a little sibling.

Sorry you watched Word Girl have you?

What the hell are you talking about?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: deadlyblossom on February 13, 2016, 12:09:09 pm
It's just a saying.


The rest of you should get Retron 5 order off the Internet Final Fantasy 1 (American) Final Fantasy 2 & 3 NEs (Japanese) Final Fantasy 4, 5 & 6 Super NES (Japanese) Secret of Mana Super NES (American) Chrono Trigger (American) Sailor Moon Another Story (Super NES) (Japanese) Get the IPS Patches of Final Fantasy 1, 2, 3 & 5 here and get thos IPS Patches of Chrono Trigger Final Fantasy 4 & 6 and Secret of Mana.

Oh the IPS patch for Sailor Moon: Another Story is here too. And get the controllers for it too.
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: Rotwang on February 13, 2016, 03:46:08 pm
But I already have about 4 different ways to play hacked ROMs on my TV with a controller, why would I shell out money for a fifth that can't even play repros?
Title: Re: Final Fantasy 2 trouble
Post by: SunGodPortal on February 13, 2016, 03:57:56 pm
Quote
The rest of you should get Retron 5 order off the Internet

No thanks. I've already got a Powerpak and the only games it doesn't play are ones that I don't care about anyway. As for consoles, I have the real thing because I don't want to have to buy the same thing again in a few months. Some people act like they are a bad buy because they are so old and will magically stop working, but while the cheap Chinese pieces of shit they bought are catching fire and giving them lead poisoning I'll still be playing my perfectly functioning consoles that were made in Japan when I was a kid.