Romhacking.net

Romhacking => ROM Hacking Discussion => Topic started by: Kylara on July 20, 2011, 02:02:23 am

Title: Arcade game graphics
Post by: Kylara on July 20, 2011, 02:02:23 am
So, I have this game that I'd like to dump graphics from, but for the largest part of it, I'm stumped. The game in question is "Quiz Bisyoujo Senshi Sailor Moon - Chiryoku Tairyoku Toki no Un", quizmoon is the short game tag thing that MAME uses. The majority of the graphics seem to be in 4 files. The odd thing, to me at least, is the fact that the sprites seem to be divided between these 4 files. Despite the lack of palette and the slight garble to them, you can see that an individual sprite is present in all 4 files, as well as see that there are parts in each not found in the others. See here. (http://img834.imageshack.us/img834/9366/spritese.jpg) What does this mean? Is there any way I can (with help, cuz I'm totally lost) put together a driver for Turaco to dump these? Any help is appreciated. And yes, I do realize that for the most part, no two arcade games are set up in the same way. =S
Title: Re: Arcade game graphics
Post by: Cryomancer on July 22, 2011, 03:38:16 pm
You should try the built-in viewer thingie in MAME, I know my girlfriend used that to put together several sprites from that game in the past.

Here's a guide for it, works pretty well:  http://www.spriters-resource.com/community/showthread.php?tid=10779
Title: Re: Arcade game graphics
Post by: Kylara on July 23, 2011, 02:49:16 am
Thanks! I tend to prefer the direct approach, but this is pretty much as good. I have some palette issues with some of the sprites, not really sure what I can do about that.
Title: Re: Arcade game graphics
Post by: Cryomancer on July 24, 2011, 11:56:39 pm
Some arrow key or pageup/down type key should go through the palettes if that's what you mean.
Title: Re: Arcade game graphics
Post by: Kylara on July 25, 2011, 11:56:28 pm
Oh, it does, and there are tons on the list of palettes... But it only applies so many to the sprites, and sometimes none of them work for a particular set of sprites, even if those sprites are what was displayed at the time you brought up that particular menu. It's odd.