Newest Translations

Kirby's Avalanche A Boy and His Blob: Trouble on Blobolonia Batman Granada

Newest Utilities

Demolisher Sonic Adavance Editor GIMP ROM image file plugin PSXImager V2.0

Newest Reviews

Megaman 3 Justiley The Legend of Zelda - Link's Shadow Captain Toad Treasure Tracker for SNES II One Missile Doors Patch

Newest Homebrew

Retroid LvR Jet Pilot Rising Falling

Rockman No Constancy

Hack of Mega Man 2

Description:

Rockman No Constancy is a complete romhack of Rockman 2.

Modifications include completely new soundtrack, new graphics, altered bosses/weapons, and completely new level layouts.

v1.0 (21 October 2007) Initial release:

NORMAL mode can be satisfactorily cleared even without a save states.

HARD mode specifications:

  • Attack power/Half Defense power, or 3/4 (Damage fraction up)
  • Life recovery amount 10 → 8; Life recovery small amount 2 → 1
  • Shocked only during unbeatable time knockback after hit (110 frames to 32 frames)
  • Change Rockman’s body color and title color
  • Heatman’s weapon has improved energy efficiency to 1 due to operational reasons

UPDATE: v1.2 (2018/04/13)

  • mainly cosmetic changes
  • player sprite designed to look like Rockman X
  • got weapon and ending image of Rockman changed
  • got weapon image of Roll changed

ROM / ISO Information:

  • File: Rockman 2 - Dr. Wily no Nazo (J) [!].nes
  • Length: 262160 Bytes (2 Mbit)
  • CRC32: 30B91650
  • MD5: 055FB8DC 626FB1FB ADC0A193 010A3E3F
  • SHA1: FB51875D 1FF4B0DE EE97E967 E6434FF5 14F3C2F2

Links:

Screenshots:


Credits:

Credits
ContributorType of contributionListed credit
IKAHacking

User Review Information

Plint Michigan Reviews

Reviewed By: Plint Michigan on 20 Sep 2011

I have the most random reason for reviewing this game.

I’ve been playing King of Fighters games for a while. One of these is KoF 96, which marks the first appearance of a character named Goentz. This guy kept beating me over and over, so of coarse I got to listen to his theme a lot. Yes, I think you know where this is going.

At first I thought nothing of his theme until just recently I was thinking about it and I started to think “Didn’t I hear that melody before?” And that’s when I dug out a copy of Rockman No Constancy from my thumb drive and played Bubbleman’s stage. Sure enough, in 8-bit form, the song playing during the long treacherous temple using graphics from Donkey Kong Land for the Gameboy was none other than the theme of the Orochi King himself, Goentz.

But to the review. I like me some Megaman, and I like me a challenge. This game does NOT disappoint on that aspect. We got new music from not just KoF 96, but there are melodies from Megaman Zero, Namco X Capcom, Legend of Valkyrie, and… the rest I have no idea. The graphics are amazing, imitating games like Megaman X, Donkey Kong Land, Yoshi’s Island as well as others. But the gameplay is what seals it for me.

Sure, it may be your basic Megaman Full-Throttle hack with bells and whistles, but the game is challenging! And by challenging, I mean possible challenging. You don’t have any of those unfair traps like in Exhaust where the only way to make it possible is to have the turbo on(Quickman’s stage is what I am talking about, of course). This game has pure raw challenge that will satisfy the hunger of a Megaman thrill-seeker. So if you like challenge, this is the game for you. Of course, Megaman fans and people like me who are only interested in full throttle hacks would also be interested as well.

Recommended - Yes

User Reviews
HeadlineAuthorDateVersionRecommended
One of the best romhacksbrickmanThebrick:v15 May 20181.0 and 1.Yes
A New ClassicMother Kojiro23 Nov 20171.0Yes
OverratedKallisto25 Mar 20171.0No
A ''different'' expensive hackTimaeus20 Oct 20151.0Yes
For Hardcore Players Only!Chris Miller06 Mar 20151.0Yes
One of the best!RRThielNC21 Oct 2014N/AYes
Plint Michigan ReviewsPlint Michigan20 Sep 2011N/AYes