Newest Translations

Pokémon Picross Harukanaru Augusta - Masters '98 (Japan) Valhollian Micro Machines

Newest Utilities

Road Rash (Sega CD) Editor Mario Party Tools ECCRegen Road Rash 1 Bike Editor

Newest Reviews

Earth Worm Jim 3 ENHANCED COLOR Alien Soldier Sin and Punishment Pokemon Emerald: Greenless Version

Featured Hack Images

Resilient Morph Super Mario Infinity 2 - The Cursed Gem FF Otherworld Atari Man II

Featured Translation Images

Motteke Tamago Zoids: Mokushiroku Gunstar Heroes Daze Before Christmas

Recent Updates

Final Fantasy VI - The Eternal Crystals

Hack of Final Fantasy III

Description:

August 8, 2011 - Augmented version+!

Class Names, Music, Long Spell Names and more (see readme)

NEW - Ending names changed

NEW - Fixed some exploits

NEW - 3 different IPS files for different ROMs

April 17, 2010 -

by author MetroidQuest (formerly known as MakouEyes)

Version X: a reworked version of the previous Final Fantasy VI: The Eternal Crystals hack.

Full web page at:

http://metroidquest.angelfire.com/FF6_EC_vX/

Changes Include:

  • New Custom-composed MUSIC
  • New Events
  • New Sprites and Portraits
  • New Dungeons
  • New Characters - a total of 15 fully functional players!
  • New Espers
  • New Font
  • New items / spells, etc.
  • and much more…. (See the included Read Me for more details)

ROM / ISO Information:

  • Final Fantasy III (U) (V1.0) [!].smc - GOODSNES 2.04
  • CRC32: A27F1C7A
  • MD5: E986575B98300F721CE27C180264D890
  • SHA-1: 4F37E4274AC3B2EA1BEDB08AA149D8FC5BB676E7
  • SHA-256: 0F51B4FCA41B7FD509E4B8F9D543151F68EFA5E97B08493E4B2A0C06F5D8D5E2
  • or
  • Final Fantasy III (U) (V1.1) [!].smc - GOODSNES 2.04
  • CRC32: C0FA0464
  • MD5: 544311E104805E926083ACF29EC664DA
  • SHA-1: 057ADA1C641E3E0B3CA34E6E4F4EB1B05A87143A
  • SHA-256: 10ECCC5D2FAB81346DD759F6BE478DCB682EEF981E8D3D662DA176E1F9A996BC

Links:

Screenshots:


Credits:

Credits
ContributorType of contributionListed credit
MakouEyesHacking

User Review Information

Great hack

Reviewed By: lawnchairsoda on 07 Jan 2016

Pros:

  • This hack is really freakin’ awesome!
  • Its a lot harder than the original but its not over the top
  • I love the new enemies from FF4/FF5 mixed in
  • A great new storyline involving the light & dark crystals. It really fit in well with the FFVI universe
  • New dialogue that fits in very well
  • Big changes for Edgar, he’s a dragoon, uses Kain’s sprites, and no more tools. He uses dragon powers now.
  • Big changes for Cyan, he’s a dark knight now, he uses Cecil’s sprites and you can even change him from dark knight to paladin. Also, his abilities are changed.
  • Gau has a selectable attack now instead of just rage
  • Only magic users can use espers, I always thought I wouldn’t like this but after playing it, I love it!
  • Love how the WoR was overhauled, it’s way different. I loved exploring and seeing what was around.
  • new dungeons
  • Locke can throw things now
  • a couple extra playable characters
  • Siegfried was replaced with Gilgamesh, not sure why I like this so much but I do. He’s just not a b**** like Siegfried was
  • certain characters can equip two weapons automatically. Shadow and Sabin I think
  • Shadow can gil toss now
  • equipment usage is rearranged to be more appropriate

Cons:

  • There’s such a limited number of enemies. I mean, lots of enemies are new, but you’ll fight the same selection of 3 enemies 8 times in a row. Need more variation in enemies per dungeon. What the heck happened to all the enemies?
  • Cyan’s dream sequence in the WoR ruined was too hard and there’s no going back once you get there. One piece of advice, make sure you’ve got plenty of tents or sleeping bags before you go so you can level up if needed.
  • One way that FF6 was perfect was the music, so I’m not sure why they decided to use music from FF4. I mean, don’t get me wrong, FF4 was great and had great music but replacing the battle music with FF4’s battle music was a bad call. Its just not as good as FF6’s battle music. There’s other places where they replaced the music, as well, like the Phantom Forest and cave dungeons. Not good.
  • I hate how Sabin’s new name is Mash, although you can change all their names just like normal
  • Terra is blonde now, hate it

In summary, this hack is just freakin’ awesome! Its by far the best FFVI hack I’ve played. I highly recommend it. It’s fun, more difficult, and a total nostalgia trip! The pros FAR outweigh the cons. I actually had to nitpick when it came to the cons. I rate it a 10/10

Version 10.8.3 Recommended - Yes

User Reviews
HeadlineAuthorDateVersionRecommended
Some good, some bad.Paladin_A27 Sep 201710.8.3No
Great hacklawnchairsoda07 Jan 201610.8.3Yes
It's Worth Playing just to check out the World of RuinKlaviaturist13 Aug 2011N/AYes
Wow, what a hack!Gi Nattak06 Jun 2010N/AYes
Not as bad as they sayjasonsgroovemachine01 Sep 2009N/AYes
Not bad, but needs more testing...Bond69731 Aug 2009N/ANo
This Hack Could Be BetterDeathlike223 Aug 2008N/ANo