Newest Hacks

Mega Man 4 - Ridley X Hack 9 Shadowrun: Vikfield's mod Mendel Palace Vapor Coin Flip Fix

Newest Translations

Donkey Kong Shiryou Sensen: War of the Dead Double Dragon Double Dragon

Newest Utilities

Quake 3 Revolution Tools Griever's Pointer Searcher (English Translation) SPCTool PCSX 1.5 with Code Marker

Newest Documents

Documents

Newest Reviews

Metroid: SR387 Mega Man X5 Improvement Project Castlevania - Eternal Confrontation Mother 2.1 - Relocalized

Newest Homebrew

Into the Blue RI Probe Star Evil Lunar Limit

Featured Hack Images

Gate of Thunder Force Pac-Man 3D EquestriaBound Ninja Gaiden / Shadow Warriors - updated

Featured Translation Images

Kaite Tsukutte Asoberu Dezaemon Dual Orb 2 Boxxle Puzzle Boy

Recent Updates

Rockman No Constancy

Hack of Mega Man 2

Description:

Rockman No Constancy is a complete romhack of Rockman 2.

Modifications include completely new soundtrack, new graphics, altered bosses/weapons, and completely new level layouts.

v1.0 (21 October 2007) Initial release:

NORMAL mode can be satisfactorily cleared even without a save states.

HARD mode specifications:

  • Attack power/Half Defense power, or 3/4 (Damage fraction up)
  • Life recovery amount 10 → 8; Life recovery small amount 2 → 1
  • Shocked only during unbeatable time knockback after hit (110 frames to 32 frames)
  • Change Rockman’s body color and title color
  • Heatman’s weapon has improved energy efficiency to 1 due to operational reasons

UPDATE: v1.2 (2018/04/13)

  • mainly cosmetic changes
  • player sprite designed to look like Rockman X
  • got weapon and ending image of Rockman changed
  • got weapon image of Roll changed

ROM / ISO Information:

  • File: Rockman 2 - Dr. Wily no Nazo (J) [!].nes
  • Length: 262160 Bytes (2 Mbit)
  • CRC32: 30B91650
  • MD5: 055FB8DC 626FB1FB ADC0A193 010A3E3F
  • SHA1: FB51875D 1FF4B0DE EE97E967 E6434FF5 14F3C2F2

Links:

Screenshots:


Credits:

Credits
ContributorType of contributionListed credit
IKAHacking

User Review Information

One of the best!

Reviewed By: RRThielNC on 21 Oct 2014

Rockman No Constancy is considered by many people to be one of the best, if not THE best Rockman hack of all time. Those are pretty big claims. And, while I wouldn’t call it the absolute greatest hack out there, I can wholeheartedly say that it’s right up there as one of the best! RNC is a hack that changes the level design, music, tiles, weapons, and boss/enemy A.I, and almost everything in this hack is done very well!

First off, this hack looks great. The visually pleasing color palettes, mixed with the very top-notch sprite quality make this hack an absolute treat to look at. Many, if not all of the levels from this hack are references to other games. For example, Air Man Stage is based off the Bubbly Clouds level from Kirby’s Dream Land, Flash Man’s level is based off a level from Yoshi’s Island, and Wily Stage 4 is based off a level from MegaMari.

The music in this hack is also very well done. While I didn’t recognize any tracks at first, I still enjoyed them greatly. Not only are the songs nicely done, but they also fit their stages very well, which is pretty important for having a good soundtrack. I’m pretty sure there’s an NSF file available for download somewhere on the internet, so if you have an NSF player, go crazy with that.

The boss/enemy A.I in this hack, while sometimes frustrating, is very impressive and cool. While not all enemies have new patterns, the ones that do are pretty nice. The bosses in this game are impressive, but they can be very tough at times. Most of the bosses are very agile and can hit pretty hard. The final boss, for example, can hit like a bulldozer if you run into him. But that’s beside the point. The A.I is very good.

Level design is the flavor of the day with a lot of these hacks, and that’s because it’s damned important. I don’t care how pretty your hack looks, how impressive your A.I is, or how good your music is. If you have bad level design, I will deduct points. Luckily, RNC passes with flying colors. Each level is very well put together, providing lots of challenge(sometimes a little too much so), fun, and replay value. The best part about it is that it feels really gratifying when you get really good at it after dying over and over, and there’s never a point where I feel dying is the game’s fault.

Overall, I don’t really have anything to complain about with this hack. It looks great, it sounds great, the A.I is great, and the level design is great. While I don’t think I would call it the greatest hack of all time, I certainly think you’s be doing yourself a disservice by not at the very least giving it a try. I give this hack a full recommendation to go play it!

Recommended - Yes

User Reviews
HeadlineAuthorDateVersionRecommended
One of the best romhacksbrickmanThebrick:v15 May 20181.0 and 1.Yes
A New ClassicMother Kojiro23 Nov 20171.0Yes
OverratedKallisto25 Mar 20171.0No
A ''different'' expensive hackTimaeus20 Oct 20151.0Yes
For Hardcore Players Only!Chris Miller06 Mar 20151.0Yes
One of the best!RRThielNC21 Oct 2014N/AYes
Plint Michigan ReviewsPlint Michigan20 Sep 2011N/AYes