Newest Translations

Pokémon Picross Harukanaru Augusta - Masters '98 (Japan) Valhollian Micro Machines

Newest Utilities

Road Rash (Sega CD) Editor Mario Party Tools ECCRegen Road Rash 1 Bike Editor

Newest Reviews

Earth Worm Jim 3 ENHANCED COLOR Alien Soldier Sin and Punishment Pokemon Emerald: Greenless Version

Featured Hack Images

Resilient Morph Super Mario Infinity 2 - The Cursed Gem FF Otherworld Atari Man II

Featured Translation Images

Motteke Tamago Zoids: Mokushiroku Gunstar Heroes Daze Before Christmas

Recent Updates

Final Fantasy VI - The Eternal Crystals

Hack of Final Fantasy III

Description:

August 8, 2011 - Augmented version+!

Class Names, Music, Long Spell Names and more (see readme)

NEW - Ending names changed

NEW - Fixed some exploits

NEW - 3 different IPS files for different ROMs

April 17, 2010 -

by author MetroidQuest (formerly known as MakouEyes)

Version X: a reworked version of the previous Final Fantasy VI: The Eternal Crystals hack.

Full web page at:

http://metroidquest.angelfire.com/FF6_EC_vX/

Changes Include:

  • New Custom-composed MUSIC
  • New Events
  • New Sprites and Portraits
  • New Dungeons
  • New Characters - a total of 15 fully functional players!
  • New Espers
  • New Font
  • New items / spells, etc.
  • and much more…. (See the included Read Me for more details)

ROM / ISO Information:

  • Final Fantasy III (U) (V1.0) [!].smc - GOODSNES 2.04
  • CRC32: A27F1C7A
  • MD5: E986575B98300F721CE27C180264D890
  • SHA-1: 4F37E4274AC3B2EA1BEDB08AA149D8FC5BB676E7
  • SHA-256: 0F51B4FCA41B7FD509E4B8F9D543151F68EFA5E97B08493E4B2A0C06F5D8D5E2
  • or
  • Final Fantasy III (U) (V1.1) [!].smc - GOODSNES 2.04
  • CRC32: C0FA0464
  • MD5: 544311E104805E926083ACF29EC664DA
  • SHA-1: 057ADA1C641E3E0B3CA34E6E4F4EB1B05A87143A
  • SHA-256: 10ECCC5D2FAB81346DD759F6BE478DCB682EEF981E8D3D662DA176E1F9A996BC

Links:

Screenshots:


Credits:

Credits
ContributorType of contributionListed credit
MakouEyesHacking

User Review Information

Not as bad as they say

Reviewed By: jasonsgroovemachine on 01 Sep 2009

First of all, I’d like to say that I’ve been Let’s Playing this game over on YouTube, both an older version, and a new version.

I don’t know exactly what the problems some of the other reviewers have had, but I didn’t have them.

Of course, 9.08 came out after I started the LP, but I’ve seen some videos the creator made where he shows the ‘buggy’ events in the game, and they just don’t exist.

I like this hack. Its a complete going over on the game. We get new character sprites, new portraits in the menu, new story, new attacks, new weapons and some new armor.

One of the first big changes (other then the big change in the story) is the fact that Edgar is now a dragoon and has Kain’s sprite from FF2/4. Cyan got the same treatment, as did Strago and Relm.

All of these characters are also given new abilities save the very few that can still learn magic. Yup, not everyone can learn magic in this hack, so you’ve gotta play it a bit differently.

The difficulty has been ramped up a tad, so its going to be a bit of a challenge for some players, I ran into trouble a couple times myself.

All that said, and I’ve been going on too long already, is that this is perhaps one of the best FF6 hacks I’ve come across. It looks good, its different enough to be really interesting but its similar enough to be familiar. The new plot, new abilities and new restrictions (like the majority of the party not getting to use magic) make it a fun experience.

You can see that Let’s Play I mentioned at my youtube page. Its the same name I’ve got here, jasonsgroovemachine, if you want to take a look at it.

Thanks for the use of your head, and I’d say definatly download this and give it a try.

Recommended - Yes

User Reviews
HeadlineAuthorDateVersionRecommended
Some good, some bad.Paladin_A27 Sep 201710.8.3No
Great hacklawnchairsoda07 Jan 201610.8.3Yes
It's Worth Playing just to check out the World of RuinKlaviaturist13 Aug 2011N/AYes
Wow, what a hack!Gi Nattak06 Jun 2010N/AYes
Not as bad as they sayjasonsgroovemachine01 Sep 2009N/AYes
Not bad, but needs more testing...Bond69731 Aug 2009N/ANo
This Hack Could Be BetterDeathlike223 Aug 2008N/ANo