News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Detective Conan vs Kindaichi Translation (NDS) [100% Complete!]  (Read 33475 times)

Goveynetcom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Mad Man
    • View Profile
Re: Detective Conan vs Kindaichi's Case Files Translation (NDS)
« Reply #20 on: July 04, 2010, 03:50:34 pm »
I like the new font, looks very nice :D. And keep up the good work.

cocomonk22

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Gyakuten Saiban Translation Project
Ran into a slight problem:


As you can see in the picture, the font is spaced apart. In the untranslated rom, it looks something like this:
ゆ う や み 小 路

In the translated version, spacing remains the same, which with English characters doesn't look very good:
Tw il ig ht  L an e

Hex characters before the screen loads looks like this:
70227021700a000070180402701b0a00077018041c701b0a000a70180402701b0b004270055f700a0001

Similar problem is here:


At this part, the game script is like this:
70227021700a0000700701017018020e700c0464700b000901701b05000a700a0601701c14701200
Where are you thinking of?
7022701201
Twilight Island Folk Museum

7022700a0600701d061400007023701c15700a1900700a000070070101701803f5700d10700a1301700a140170
1803ef700a1300700a14007004015d11027018041a7004015d1103701803f57019000d701c00701c16701115700
a1900700a000070180402700a0201700d10700a1301700a1401701803ef700a1300700a14007004015d1102701
8041a7004015d1103701803f57019000d701c00701116701202
Lighthouse

7006007022701b0700687021700a000070111c70111a701203
Coal Blue

7006007022701b0700687021700a0000701122701120701204
Gift shop "Fukado"

I was hoping the spacing issue would have to do with the hex preceding the text, but it looks like that is not the case. If anyone wants to help, the first screen is taken from the beginning of Chapter 1 in the game, so from the beginning of Chapter 1 (after the prologue), just by pressing A through the dialogue and then clicking the first icon to talk to the first character two times in a row will get you to that first screen. I can provide a complete Desmume save so you can skip to Chapter 1 if needed.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2011, 06:52:53 am by Gil Galad »

Gil Galad

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
    • Homepage of Gil Galad
I'll just hazard a guess without really knowing much about the game's internals. Perhaps it needs a Variable Width Font?
Homepage of Gil Galad || New Forum

“I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve. ”

KaioShin

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5697
    • View Profile
    • The Romhacking Aerie
Looks like it's automatically adding a gap after every two symbols (spaces in the script counted!). Would be good to have a screenshot of the Japanese original to compare to. This will probably require a small ASM adjustment to stop it from automatically adding the gap. If you find the right code, it might be as simple as noping out a function call or fixing the result of a branch.
All my posts are merely personal opinions and not statements of fact, even if they are not explicitly prefixed by "In my opinion", "IMO", "I believe", or similar modifiers. By reading this disclaimer you agree to reply in spirit of these conditions.

cocomonk22

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Gyakuten Saiban Translation Project
I have taken a look at the Japanese version, and there are actually no spaces between the characters. It looks like it just uses a larger font size here that is 16 width, so now I will have to change the way the font table I have is set up.

EDIT: New larger font done


June 22, 2011, 07:21:38 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Another problem has come up; Handwriting Recognition!

This scene is the only one in the game that uses hiragana recognition, the rest use only numbers.

For testing and tweaking attempts, here is a patch that will take you to a little bit just before the screen once you start a new game: http://www.mediafire.com/?59u3505m0pmiprj
What I need help with is changing the hiragana recognition to alphabet letters. The game font does not contain ASCII, only SJIS full-width JASCII. Also, capital letters and lower case letters should go to the same SJIS code (i.e., A and a both could point to the character code 82A0).
The recognition information is probably stored in one of these two files:
dltjdb.zzz: contains dbtag Nintendo_non_kanji. Made by Decuma.
dltjdb_jis0big.zzz: contains dbtag Nintendo_jis0. Made Decuma.

Spoiler:
けいこ
Ideally, I would like to change the input to (see spoiler),
Spoiler:
KEIKO
if not possible, then KKO
but as can be seen in the following image, combinations of 5 or more characters cause problems:


If I can't figure out how to change the recognition information, I will have to fake it by keeping hiragana recognition but putting the closest matching letter over it. :banghead:
« Last Edit: June 22, 2011, 07:29:23 am by cocomonk22 »

kudo_shinichi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Well, can you please send me the rom with the current progress of translation, I need to look over it and the other data it might contain to identify what action you should do to change the input. Please send it to
Spoiler:
choco.mint_star@live.com
. Thank you.  :D  :angel:

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6904
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Sorry, but it is against the rules to ask for a ROM on this forum.
Thank you for your cooperation.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

kudo_shinichi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Unfortunately, I do not ask for the rom.  ;D
I just want the patch and I will patch myself the rom which I already have.
I just want to check what is the problem with the input for that section / scene.
Thank you. :D

Auryn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
You can do that with the original game :p

kudo_shinichi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
I know! That's why I 'm asking for the patch. I am trying to find what's wrong.  :angel:

Auryn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Apart that the last post was on june, so i doubt he is still working on this but did you carefully read his last post??
You don't need a patched version of the game to help him.

Metal Knuckles

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • WE MUST GATTAI
    • View Profile
    • Sonic Retro
The fact that he created an account just to ask for the patch along with the surplus in innocent/happy smilies is leading me to think that he's just asking so he can get the partial translation.

That aside, while the project hasn't been updated in threads since June, the DCTP thread has been posted in to notify that the project was still active as late as last month.

cocomonk22

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Gyakuten Saiban Translation Project
Re: Detective Conan vs Kindaichi Translation (NDS) Disable the Select Button?
« Reply #32 on: February 04, 2012, 06:27:46 pm »
Hasn't posted much here, but translation has actually been going well. Translated over halfway through the game if you go by episode count.

I have decided to fake the handwriting recognition. It actually works pretty well in game.
Anyway, the translators were asking if it was possible to disable the Select button, because they don't want to translate the "story progression scripts" that periodically get updated as you progress in the game.
After you finish an episode, only one version of the complete story is displayed. Hopefully I can figure out something to solve this.

Also, have to find out where this graphic is:
1) L:全体 in bottom left of this picture:

« Last Edit: February 05, 2012, 02:17:57 am by cocomonk22 »

Auryn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
    • View Profile
Re: Detective Conan vs Kindaichi Translation (NDS) Disable the Select Button?
« Reply #33 on: February 04, 2012, 06:34:55 pm »
There are 2 places where to look:
or they are in another bank in the same file as the button
or the button is graphics and the text is real text.
if you have any font that look like the text in those buttons, then it's probably that is the second of the above.
If not the first :p

cocomonk22

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Gyakuten Saiban Translation Project
Re: Detective Conan vs Kindaichi Translation (NDS) Disable the Select Button?
« Reply #34 on: February 04, 2012, 06:37:57 pm »
Well, I have completely replaced all Japanese text, so they are not text.

KC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 209
    • View Profile
Re: Detective Conan vs Kindaichi Translation (NDS) Disable the Select Button?
« Reply #35 on: February 07, 2012, 06:48:17 am »
Anyway, the translators were asking if it was possible to disable the Select button, because they don't want to translate the "story progression scripts" that periodically get updated as you progress in the game.
http://nocash.emubase.de/gbatek.htm#gbakeypadinput
The game will read that register periodically, and then most likely save it in memory to later check if any input happened. You will have to figure out where it does that, and then just look for the bit mask used for the select button.

jjjewel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Detective Conan vs Kindaichi Translation (NDS) Disable the Select Button?
« Reply #36 on: February 07, 2012, 11:41:15 pm »

Also, have to find out where this graphic is:
1) L:全体 in bottom left of this picture:


Try replacing the graphic files with zero bytes to identify which file that button is located. I'd guess it's in some of the 'flow' graphics, but I'm not sure.

Anyway, you can make some zero bytes files and replace the suspicious graphic files with these zero bytes. Ex. You can try to replace 10 files at a time with zero bytes then test the game. If you can still see the button, then that means the button is not located in those 10 files. Then you try some other files until the button doesn't show up or show up as some messy graphic. Then narrow down the files until you find out which file the button is located.

If the button is not in any of the files, it could be in arm9.bin. (I can't recall if this game has overlay files or not, but I think it's less likely to store a button graphic in overlay.)

cocomonk22

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
    • Gyakuten Saiban Translation Project
Re: Detective Conan vs Kindaichi Translation (NDS) [100% Complete]
« Reply #37 on: June 29, 2015, 04:59:51 am »
Hi everyone, after almost 6 and a half years, it's finally done!

This is my first complete rom translation. There were times when I really didn't think my skills were good enough to pull it off, but I've learned a lot and have found workarounds to avoid any ASM modifications.

Translation to English was done by the DCTP fansub group. While this is their first video game translation, this is also their last translation project unfortunately.

Release trailer:


It's out! Patching instructions are available at http://www.dctp.ws/ConanKindaichi

Download Mirror 1
Download Mirror 2
« Last Edit: June 29, 2015, 06:21:39 pm by cocomonk22 »

Trickless

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Japan Adventure Attack!
Re: Detective Conan vs Kindaichi Translation (NDS) [100% Complete!]
« Reply #38 on: July 01, 2015, 01:43:54 pm »
Congrats on getting it finished!