News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2  (Read 165379 times)

Jonesy47

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei - Testers wanted
« Reply #180 on: August 10, 2014, 02:30:48 am »
I just wanted to point out that I'm having the same issue with spell names on 080914_5, but with Megami Tensei I (haven't tested 2). Item names are working fine for me, though, and everything else is looking excellent as well! Thank you so much for your work on this.

I can confirm this problem also with 080914_5. Was not occuring with me on 080914_4 though. I could read spell titles perfectly in every screen in that version. Probably gonna switch back until 080914_6 (or 081014, ha). Use 080914_4 for now if you want spells to show, at least in MT1.

ddstranslation

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei - Testers wanted
« Reply #181 on: August 10, 2014, 03:04:21 am »
I just wanted to point out that I'm having the same issue with spell names on 080914_5, but with Megami Tensei I (haven't tested 2). Item names are working fine for me, though, and everything else is looking excellent as well! Thank you so much for your work on this.

It is my pleasure, thank you for your compliment. :)

I have put up a newer patch that should hopefully resolve every last problem with text not appearing. Please try it out and let me know if there are still any problems.

Jonesy47

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei - Testers wanted
« Reply #182 on: August 10, 2014, 03:27:26 am »
Spell names back in 080914_6! WORD.

Fang

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei - Testers wanted
« Reply #183 on: August 10, 2014, 05:10:15 am »
I've encountered a weird bug where if I use Mappara in 'Hell', the game would just freeze up. Music would still be playing, but the Moon Phase animation stops and I can't get controls through. I've done this multiple times to confirm it.


ddstranslation

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei - Testers wanted
« Reply #184 on: August 10, 2014, 05:24:55 am »
I've encountered a weird bug where if I use Mappara in 'Hell', the game would just freeze up. Music would still be playing, but the Moon Phase animation stops and I can't get controls through. I've done this multiple times to confirm it.

Ah, apologies. That sounds like a very insidious bug. Do you have a way to post your save file so that I may download it and try to debug it on my own computer? I will try to find out why it causes the game to freeze, as soon as I get some sleep. :)

Pennywise

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2220
  • I'm curious
    • View Profile
    • Yojimbo's Translations
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei - Testers wanted
« Reply #185 on: August 10, 2014, 01:05:09 pm »
I haven't played the patch, but I noticed a discrepancy with one of the demon names from a screenshot.

I believe Yomotu-Shikome is supposed to be Yomotsu-Shikome.

Fang

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei - Testers wanted
« Reply #186 on: August 10, 2014, 01:59:32 pm »
Ah, apologies. That sounds like a very insidious bug. Do you have a way to post your save file so that I may download it and try to debug it on my own computer? I will try to find out why it causes the game to freeze, as soon as I get some sleep. :)

Here are all related files to the game: https://www.mediafire.com/folder/u6q541aztvfny/KMT_Bug_Sample_%5BHell-Mappara_Freeze%5D

MagmyGeraith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #187 on: August 10, 2014, 02:36:34 pm »
I just had that exact same Mappara freeze bug happen to me in Daedalus, 7F. I'm running Beta 7 from a SD2SNES cart on an official SNES, if that matters at all.

It probably saved me some headache; I'm sure I would've died before I made it back to Micon.

Fang

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #188 on: August 10, 2014, 02:44:18 pm »
I just had that exact same Mappara freeze bug happen to me in Daedalus, 7F. I'm running Beta 7 from a SD2SNES cart on an official SNES, if that matters at all.

It probably saved me some headache; I'm sure I would've died before I made it back to Micon.

I've tested Mappara outside of Hell and it is indeed a bug in all areas. Oddly enough, it worked before with other patches such as the second one, so uh, yeah.

ddstranslation

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei - Testers wanted
« Reply #189 on: August 10, 2014, 03:01:07 pm »
I haven't played the patch, but I noticed a discrepancy with one of the demon names from a screenshot.

I believe Yomotu-Shikome is supposed to be Yomotsu-Shikome.

It was an unfortunate sacrifice I had to make. Monster names are limited to 8 tiles, and with my font, that name would have required 9 tiles, which would have required a massive change to the game's systems. Spelling it that way made it just barely fit within 64 pixels on the dot. I had to make a similar change for Medusa's Shadow (Medusa Shadow) and the Nine-tailed Fox (9-tailed Fox) enemies.

Here are all related files to the game: https://www.mediafire.com/folder/u6q541aztvfny/KMT_Bug_Sample_%5BHell-Mappara_Freeze%5D

Thank you. I will try to figure out what's causing the hang-up as soon as possible. If it was working earlier, that will give me a clue as to what exactly broke it.
*Edit: I have posted a new patch. Please try it out and see if it fixes the problem with Mappara.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2014, 03:20:05 pm by ddstranslation »

Pennywise

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2220
  • I'm curious
    • View Profile
    • Yojimbo's Translations
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #190 on: August 10, 2014, 03:21:38 pm »
The original Megami Tensei had the same limitation, but I was able to expand it to 10 tiles. Broke pretty much every other screen with demon names though and I went back and forth and breaking and fixing parts of the game until I finally got it right.

ddstranslation

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #191 on: August 10, 2014, 03:36:01 pm »
The original Megami Tensei had the same limitation, but I was able to expand it to 10 tiles. Broke pretty much every other screen with demon names though and I went back and forth and breaking and fixing parts of the game until I finally got it right.

Please understand, I had to make an executive decision as to whether or not it was worth reworking the game's systems for handling a 9th tile for demon names and re-adjusting the many UIs that are designed to only handle an 8-tile name, simply for the sake of one monster's letter "s". I just don't think I have that much energy in me to expend on an endeavor like that.

I believed it was an acceptable change, especially since the "tsu" character is pronounced very similarly to "tu" in English. Another alternative would be to change the 8x8 font to something slimmer that would allow all 14 or 15 characters to fit in the space. I hope you understand my feelings on this.

Drunk Metroid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #192 on: August 10, 2014, 03:45:26 pm »
Hello! I made an account just to be able to post any issues I might come across and to say that I am super excited for your project to come to completion! Being able to play the origin of one of my favorite series is something I never really thought was going to come to fruition.

I haven't found any issues just yet in my short time with it, but keep up the good work! I am impressed with the amount of effort you have been taking to incorporate feedback and the frequent updates along with transparency, and I hope you keep it up.

Pennywise

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2220
  • I'm curious
    • View Profile
    • Yojimbo's Translations
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #193 on: August 10, 2014, 03:49:51 pm »
I think my last post was too matter of fact and not enough praise for your work. I think you're doing a great job.

Chpexo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
    • View Profile
.
« Reply #194 on: August 10, 2014, 03:59:18 pm »
.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2016, 10:16:02 am by Chpexo »

ddstranslation

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #195 on: August 10, 2014, 04:04:50 pm »
Hello! I made an account just to be able to post any issues I might come across and to say that I am super excited for your project to come to completion! Being able to play the origin of one of my favorite series is something I never really thought was going to come to fruition.

I haven't found any issues just yet in my short time with it, but keep up the good work! I am impressed with the amount of effort you have been taking to incorporate feedback and the frequent updates along with transparency, and I hope you keep it up.

Thank you for your kind words. As long as you have an account now, feel free to post any issues, bugs or typos that you may see when playing.

I think my last post was too matter of fact and not enough praise for your work. I think you're doing a great job.

Heh, please don't feel like you have to praise me or anything, though thank you just the same. :) I understand what you were saying, it's all part of the technical challenges of localizing a game. I was considering expanding the monster names a long time ago when I was working with a different font, but went with a smaller font (I think I copied it from the Dragon Quest Caravan Heart game) and found out that all the names now fit except for that one monster's. I wanted to just move on to the more pressing issues of the game and decided to just re-spell it that way. I almost ran into a similar issue with the Cathedral of Shadows and wanting lengthy class names but worrying that it'd push the demon names and chart off the screen or be brushing up so close to each other that it may become illegible.

But I welcome such discussion about how things were done in the game. I have no problem explaining how or why I did "X" thing in the game, or discussing alternatives.

Jonesy47

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #196 on: August 10, 2014, 05:20:52 pm »
Mappara is working again in kmt_beta_081014_8.
Also, as far as I can tell, the names are now fixed while saving at the elder. Good job!

Also, I think the compromise of 8 tiles as opposed to 9 tiles and crazy amounts of work is the right choice. It's not like tons of officially released snes games didn't make far worse compromises and, honestly, the difference between "tu" and "tsu" in an english game is hardly a big deal. I'd stick with 8 tiles.

Fang

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #197 on: August 10, 2014, 08:34:16 pm »
Mappara does work as intended now. Good work!

Now, not really a bug, but when I use Status-healing items on party members that have no problems, it says "______ effect wore off." even though there was no effect to begin with. Based on skill usage texts, it sounds to me that it should be "No need for ______." instead...?

ddstranslation

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #198 on: August 10, 2014, 10:49:59 pm »
Mappara does work as intended now. Good work!

Now, not really a bug, but when I use Status-healing items on party members that have no problems, it says "______ effect wore off." even though there was no effect to begin with. Based on skill usage texts, it sounds to me that it should be "No need for ______." instead...?

Ah, you are correct. I mistranslated that line, and have changed it to read "__ had no effect". It will be included in the next update.

Fang

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Kyuuyaku Megami Tensei 1 & 2
« Reply #199 on: August 10, 2014, 11:34:09 pm »
Hey, I'm not 100% sure if this is a hack problem or if it's just my emulator settings, but when reaching the Rotting Sea of Flames and then exiting, the game has odd graphical hiccups from the filter effects. I made a gif recording of it.

Spoiler:

I'm not a genius at emulation, so I wouldn't be surprised if this is just me.