logo
 drop

Main

Community

Submissions

Help

Author Topic: Super Mario Unlimited (SMB) - Released!  (Read 130200 times)

frantik

• View Profile
Super Mario Unlimited (SMB) - Released!
« on: October 26, 2007, 12:19:54 am »
2011 UPDATE: GAME HAS BEEN RELEASED!! See page 18

I've been working on this SMB hack for a rediculously long time now. I made a simple graphics and level hack in 2004 called Super Mario 5000.. after that I started learning assembly and started on a more ambitious new hack "Super Mario Forever" Well I cursed myself by naming it after Duke Nukem Forever cause I got stuck in development lol.  Recently I started working on it again, only to discover there is already another hack named SMForever so I chose a new name Super Mario Unlimited.

Some current and planned features include:

* 32 all new levels (31 completely unique levels) with fun and attractive layouts ranging from easy to somewhat challenging. [update july 2008:  now 40 completely unique levels with twice as many objects and enemies as SMB]
* Themed worlds with different palettes and looks (Mushroom kingdom, desert, ocean, mountain top, lower sky, upper sky, outer fortress, inner fortress) [update 2008: Mushroom kingdom, desert, ocean, mountains, cliffs, clouds, Bowser's sewer, Bowser's fortress]
* Tweaked controls including super stomp jump like in smb3/smw, faster running and quicker acceleration which means the ability to jump farther as well.
* Two new power ups: stopwatch (freezes enemies like from smb2) and Mushroom retainer idol (gives invulnerability for a while)
* Unlimited lives
* Collect 100 coins for invincibility (this is good for those levels which you just can't beat.. eventually you collect 100 coins and can get past tough spots)
* All new graphics and backgrounds (no more ugly bricks at all!) with animation
* Many other changes and tweaks