News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.  (Read 10833 times)

RHDNBot

  • Guest
Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« on: September 01, 2007, 03:06:53 am »

Update By: KingMike

I have released a nearly finished translation patch for the NES platformer “The Genius Bakabon”, translated by odino and hacking done by me.
But I could use help from an NES genius locating what I suspect is a PPU issue with the cutscenes (junking palette data onto a few tiles of the nametable).
This minor glitch is the only thing seperating this from being labeled a Complete patch.

Relevant Link: (http://kingmike.emuxhaven.net)

odino

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2007, 06:30:53 am »
Hopefully somebody knows more about that glitch.

Until then here is a readme, or even then, here's an FAQ:

http://www.gamefaqs.com/console/nes/file/580590/47958

hap

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • hap's stuff
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2007, 04:46:08 am »
KingMike: The glitch is (maybe indirectly) due to the changes you've made. Could you provide us with your source code and notes, or do you expect someone to just reverse engineer, disassemble and understand your changes before tackling the glitch?

Spinner 8

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Pink Pretty Princess
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2007, 10:57:33 pm »
It seems the expanded ROM will only work in NEStopia. Is this an issue with the program, or is it an emulator problem?

Kitsune Sniper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3503
  • Complaining about mods == trolling, whee
    • View Profile
    • Foxhack.net
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2007, 11:09:04 pm »
Holy crap! I remember stumbling upon this rom ages ago and laughing at the poor guy's appearance! And the game wasn't half-bad either.

Nice going, man. :thumbsup:
For any further project updates, please visit my website. I do not wish to belong to a site where a user has no voice.

hap

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • hap's stuff
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2007, 04:15:49 am »
Quote
It seems the expanded ROM will only work in NEStopia. Is this an issue with the program, or is it an emulator problem?
Which emulators did you try it on? Nestopia, and a bunch of popular but outdated/inaccurate NES emus? It works fine on Sega Li. (my NES emu :P )

Spinner 8

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Pink Pretty Princess
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2007, 11:09:11 am »
I tried it on FCE Ultra and Mednafen. Those are the only other emus I have besides Nestopia. I tried it out on NESticle just for kicks, and it started working at first, but then it started having the same problem. Looks like a weird mirroring issue to my untrained eyes.

I usually play my games on the Xbox, so FCEU and Mednafen are really my only choices. I don't know why the original ROM would play, while the expanded ROM messes up all weird like that.

hap

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • hap's stuff
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2007, 11:28:11 am »
try changing it to mapper 210

Spinner 8

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Pink Pretty Princess
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2007, 07:21:28 pm »
Worked like a charm! I still can't get past that first big pit though, but at least I can see what's going on. :)

Thanks!

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7071
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2007, 10:27:20 pm »
I used FCEUXD SP to test and play, as a mapper 19 (Namcot 106) ROM.
The only other thing I can think of that would bug up some emulators, is that I added space at the beginning of the ROM. Though I did the same to Shell Monsters Story/Kaiju Monogatari, and that didn't SEEM to cause issue on the ems that'd play it (NEStopia and FCEU. I can't remember what else I used).

I'll have to check my notes again.

Alright, I've posted my code changes:
http://kingmike.emuxhaven.net/Bakabon/baka_text.txt

Only thing I suspect is maybe the timing. Not really sure how to calculate the values needed.

Code: [Select]
$9C83:AD A4 01  LDA $01A4 = #$00           A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:nvUbdIZC
$9C86:D0 B7     BNE $9C3F                  A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:nvUbdIZC
$9C88:AD F2 04  LDA $04F2 = #$00           A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:nvUbdIZC ;$39C98
$9C8B:C9 59     CMP #$59                   A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:nvUbdIZC ;"Not Now Papa"
$9C8D:F0 3C     BEQ $9CCB                  A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:NvUbdIzc
$9C8F:C9 64     CMP #$64                   A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:NvUbdIzc ;"Mama and Hajime have"
$9C91:F0 13     BEQ $9CA6                  A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:NvUbdIzc
$9C93:C9 9F     CMP #$9F                   A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:NvUbdIzc
$9C95:F0 34     BEQ $9CCB                  A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:nvUbdIzc
$9C97:C9 A0     CMP #$A0                   A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:nvUbdIzc
$9C99:F0 22     BEQ $9CBD                  A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:nvUbdIzc
$9C9B:C9 F0     CMP #$F0                   A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:nvUbdIzc
$9C9D:90 03     BCC $9CA2                  A:00 X:02 Y:30 P:nvUbdIzc
Those CMPs are the hard-coded values controlling how long to wait after each string to advance. This case is the part of the intro after Papa enters the house.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2007, 11:24:02 am by KingMike »
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7071
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2007, 11:32:33 am »
Worked like a charm! I still can't get past that first big pit though, but at least I can see what's going on. :)

Thanks!

See the control info in the readme. ;)
You have to do a running jump. Press the direction you want to move, then hold B while moving. Then jump.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

hap

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • hap's stuff
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2007, 01:14:36 pm »
I've messed around with it a bit, seems to be fixed if you change the end of your ";routine 8x16, hacked to 8x8" from RTS NOP NOP NOP NOP ..... NOP, to RTS NOP NOP NOP NOP ... RTS. So: translated .NES file offset $3F7BC: change $EA to $60.

*edit* unrelated to this, small bug at Circus 3 (and maybe other sublevel 3's too, haven't checked): http://home.planet.nl/~haps/crap/circus3.png
Nestopia 1.37 savestate for testing, at the end of Circus 2: http://home.planet.nl/~haps/crap/circus3.zip
« Last Edit: September 09, 2007, 01:57:08 pm by hap »

StreetTrash

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2007, 08:52:22 pm »
It's been a long time since I played this game but I'm glad it caught the attention of a translator. Nice unique quirky little platformer. I'm sure I'll enjoy it even more now that it's in english.
vive le zopharsdomaindonutparodiusthewhirlpoolrhdn~!

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7071
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2007, 10:16:38 pm »
I've messed around with it a bit, seems to be fixed if you change the end of your ";routine 8x16, hacked to 8x8" from RTS NOP NOP NOP NOP ..... NOP, to RTS NOP NOP NOP NOP ... RTS. So: translated .NES file offset $3F7BC: change $EA to $60.

*edit* unrelated to this, small bug at Circus 3 (and maybe other sublevel 3's too, haven't checked): http://home.planet.nl/~haps/crap/circus3.png
Nestopia 1.37 savestate for testing, at the end of Circus 2: http://home.planet.nl/~haps/crap/circus3.zip

Yes, somebody reported that one in an email. There was an error with the "3" 8x16 tile definition. I have since corrected it. Thanks for reporting, though.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

hap

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • hap's stuff
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2007, 05:29:40 am »
No problem, I just stumbled upon that while playing.
Is the quick ea->60 fix sufficient to call the translation complete now?

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7071
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #15 on: September 23, 2007, 10:50:05 pm »
I have submitted an update, but if you want it now, you can get it on my site.

Thank ugetab for writing a proper fix.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

Googie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1009
  • I'd like to solve the puzzle... Jiggers!
    • View Profile
    • My work in progress ROM Hacking site
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2007, 11:29:26 pm »
Thanks for the heads up, I've been waiting for the update. I'm gonna play this game for a few before I hit the bed.  :cookie:

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7071
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Translations: The Genius Bakabon nearly done.
« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2007, 06:29:58 pm »
Actually, I think I forgot to make one correction to the gameplay directions.
You DO want to finish before time runs out.
When you run out of time, your lifebar will start to auto-drain.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018