News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: The Legend Of Zelda (NES) translation in Ancient Greek, language not available  (Read 970 times)

MikeGRTran5lation5

• View Profile
DISCLAIMER: I'm still a newbie here, so, if I'm off-topic, excuse me :)

Hello everyone,
Recently, I wanted to learn to translate ROMs in different languages, mainly from English, since I don't know any Japanese. I saw that The Legend of Zelda (NES) was available here in my mother language (Greek) and in a classical-dead language I'm really fond of, in Latin. So, I considered producing a translation in Ancient Greek. The translation is at last ready and playable, based on the Greek version of Tasos500 here; the only untranslated text is the one which says: PLEASE LOOK UP THE MANUAL FOR DETAILS (in Modern Greek ΠΑΡΑΚΑΛΩ ΔΙΑΒΑΣΕ ΤΙΣ ΟΔΗΓΙΕΣ ΓΙΑ ΛΕΠΤΟΜΕΡΕΙΕΣ); it's on tiles, so, as I'm still a newbie in tile editing, I couldn't do more.

Anyways, I wanted to submit my translation here, on Romhacking, since here was the first place I learnt about ROM translation. But an Ancient Greek language option isn't available. I tried contacting Staff, but my mail can't be sent, because the system thinks I'm a spammer (even if I haven't done anything yet here). The only option available here is Greek, which really means Modern Greek.

~~ Could anyone help me with the missing language? I don't know what to do. Should I upload it tagged as Greek, instead? Can a new language be added? Or could anyone else contact Staff in lieu of me? ~~

KingMike

• Forum Moderator
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
I would probably put it as Greek.
I don't imagine there would be a huge number of submissions specifically for Ancient Greek, and I don't think it would be too different than if someone decided to make a number of Old English translations (I assume we'd count those as English).
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

RadioTails

• Holding the Mega Drive controller
    • View Profile