News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Ps2 games structure?  (Read 666 times)

Leon4393

• View Profile
Ps2 games structure?
« on: July 23, 2021, 01:00:49 pm »
Hi! I'm a 16 years old with too much free time on his hands right now and well, knowing some C and x86 assembly, I thought of getting into reverse engineering, thinking that it would have been a 2 months adventure. Well, turns out I was wrong.

This is my first attempt at reverse engineering something, so I still don't know a lot of stuff. My target is the game Dark Cloud, and at some point I'd like to make some code in C that resembles the source code of the game. After some research, I've downloaded some tools that should help me in my task but I'm still unsure about a lot of stuff.

After opening the ISO, I have an elf32-little file (which i presume is the binary) and a bunch of DATA files. So I opened the SCES_502.95 file with ps2dis and started scrolling through the assembly code to make some sense of it. I saw that there are various addresses for what I think are functions (they have names like StopCamera__7CCamera) stored in registers. When I look for the address of the function, it leads to a nop. Does this mean that the function is loaded from another file?

Also, I wanted to ask you some info on what I should expect to find on this file. For example, what should I expect to find on the .text section? All of the data initialized in headers? And what about the 'main' section? Is there all the data stored in the main function of the original source?

I'm sorry if some of these questions sound dumb, I'm just curious of how these games work

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: Ps2 games structure?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2021, 03:26:45 pm »
"and at some point I'd like to make some code in C that resembles the source code of the game."