News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Shmup-vania?  (Read 940 times)

PowerPanda

• View Profile
Shmup-vania?
« on: November 07, 2021, 04:02:27 pm »
I just started playing "Earth Atlantis" on my Switch, and it is a fascinating concept. It has metroid-vania style exploration with shootem-up (shmup) gameplay. There's even a bit of bullet-hell thrown in for good measure. Now, while Earth Atlantis fails to really explore that concept well, it made me realize that the genre could actually really work. Does anyone know of any other games that have tried something similar?

aqualung

• View Profile
Re: Shmup-vania?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2021, 05:57:48 pm »
There was a gba game called Sigma Star Saga that mixed a bird-view rpg/adventure game with brief shoot'm-up styled battles as random encounters, and it also had some long shooter stages from time to time (kind of like the platformer stages in Gargoyles Quest).

Jorpho

• The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2021, 07:42:16 pm »
The Guardian Legend (NES) and Cosmotank (Game Boy) spring to mind, but I'm not sure those qualify.
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

Baggins

• View Profile

Jorpho

• The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2021, 09:48:35 pm »
Oh, of course! Aquaria! I thought I was forgetting something obvious.  Such a pity there was never a follow-up.

Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet probably qualifies too, in that regard.

There are probably a bunch of old British games that qualify as well. SQIJ comes to mind - the original Spectrum port is widely regarded as a fine candidate for The Worst Game Ever, but the other versions (including the much later Spectrum port) are probably fine.  Maybe Solar Jetman? Does that make sense?
« Last Edit: November 07, 2021, 09:57:35 pm by Jorpho »