News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: How to: Command line tool  (Read 1191 times)

EmRoKtheVerdant

• Romhacking since August 2020
    • View Profile
How to: Command line tool
« on: September 02, 2020, 10:47:21 pm »
Noob here.
I'm trying to open a command line tool to extract PS1 bin files to edit text. I was suggested to find a tutorial on how to open the tool, but Google did not help. Any command I found did nothing or I'm inputting the file path wrong.

I know everyone hates answering obvious questions and I really am sorry to ask this. Can anyone help me out? How do I open it?
Discord ID EmRoK#9144

slidelljohn

• View Profile
Re: How to: Command line tool
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2020, 11:12:43 pm »
I copy cmd from system 32 folder in windows and put it in the same directory as the tool then open cmd from there. Not the best way to do it but it works sometimes when you can’t get the path right. What tool is it?

EmRoKtheVerdant

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2020, 12:33:42 am »
It came from here. https://www.romhacking.net/utilities/464/

Trying to familiarize myself with the toolset. It started with a program called extract.exe to uncompile the game (I think that's the right term). There are other programs that behave similarly too.

Is cmd the same as command prompt? If so I copied it, but it still won't open. What command should I be doing?
Discord ID EmRoK#9144

MysticLord

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2020, 05:45:21 am »
You need to run the command prompt until it appears. The command prompt is the big black or blue box where arcane text appears, and into which you can type things. Try running it from Windows Accessories in the Start Menu, which is where I think it's found.

Click into the command prompt to enter text. Type a command an press enter to do that command. Folder is another word for directory.