News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS  (Read 1282 times)

TradFr_R

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« on: June 24, 2020, 04:44:56 am »
Hello, I want to play with these DS Roms on my R4i 3DS but it don't work....

Golden Sun : Dark Down (Black Screen after save message)
Kingdom Heart Re;Coded / 358/2 Days (Freeze after selecting difficult)
Suikoden Tierkreis (Black Screen)

Thanks !

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4384
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2020, 12:26:50 pm »
Do other ROMs work on your R4i?  Have you tried looking for AP patches?  Have you verified that the SD card in your R4i is functional?
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

Isao Kronos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1291
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2020, 03:35:04 pm »
which R4i 3ds do you have there are like 200 of the bloody things

TradFr_R

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2020, 04:41:45 pm »
@Jorpho yes all the other ROMs work except these 3 there.
I didn't try the AP patch, how does it work? The SD card works on the r4i

@Isao Kronos Exactly a R4i 3DS "Revolution for DS" www.r4ids.cn for nds / dsi / nds xl / 3ds

Isao Kronos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1291
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2020, 11:48:45 am »
There is something wrong somewhere but I'm not sure what. I have the same R4i from the same site and I haven't ever had any problems with it for whatever reason. Did you maybe turn off the auto-AP patcher?

TradFr_R

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2020, 12:59:11 pm »
I haven't used auto-AP patcher

Isao Kronos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1291
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2020, 06:45:40 pm »
then i don't know what to tell you besides back up all your roms and saves and re-do the sd card for your flashcart

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4384
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2020, 09:44:43 pm »
The SD card works on the r4i
SD cards fail all too frequently and cause all sorts of mysterious problems.

The only way to be sure is to copy everything off the card, format it, and test it with h2testw.
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

TradFr_R

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2020, 03:55:50 am »
Okay, I noticed that it is 256 MB games that do not work

Jorpho

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4384
  • The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2020, 02:09:39 pm »
How big is the SD card, anyway?  If it's larger than 64 GB you might need to pay attention to the cluster size when formatting.
This signature is an illusion and is a trap devised by Satan. Go ahead dauntlessly! Make rapid progres!

Isao Kronos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1291
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2020, 03:04:30 pm »
tbh i was using like a 16 gb sd card but was having problems so I bumped it down to 4gb and it's much more stable

Chronosplit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1434
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2020, 09:20:35 pm »
You might want to try TWiLightMenu++ instead.  You won't need to worry about SD Card size there.

TradFr_R

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: DS Games don't work R4i 3DS
« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2020, 05:14:08 am »
I have a 2GB SD Card