News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules

Author Topic: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)  (Read 47898 times)

Serity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #140 on: July 29, 2021, 03:04:51 pm »
Quite honestly, I don't really see an issue with that screen. Maybe a "Press A to continue" or something. It's not much different than the old GBA safety warnings other than it being a consistent font. Maybe hide it once at least one save file has been made (or if the readme points at a patch, if the patch is installed by LDA checking bytes that the patch edits).


Tomato

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 373
    • View Profile
    • Legends of Localization
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #141 on: July 29, 2021, 07:29:08 pm »
Thanks, I'll try to put a "press any button" message in there and see how it looks. Here's what I have now after some adjustment last night.



It still feels unprofessional/warez-y/trainer-y/demo-y but I also don't want to put much work into it. The ideal solution would be to fix the broken music somehow but I think I'd go crazy trying to do that.

Kain Stryder

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #142 on: July 29, 2021, 08:00:08 pm »
Sadly the solution to the music is you'd have to remake it completely, as the emulator Tsushiy used had unlimited ram audio or something (I'm not technical in that area, but had several SNES music people explain it to me). Alternatively, you can do the SNES9x sound fix Tsushiy suggest but in his own words "it still sounds off/not perfect" and I'm not sure how hardware would work. The only real work around to his music is MSU-1 which we released/have available, which fixes ALL the music issues currently (it plays the music how it should sound, as if you were on uosnes (the emulator he coded it for), if you'd like to use that in your work, you're more than welcome to it (we host the files and everything, so nothing on your end would be needed). I believe we just need to inject some code based on your translation patch but that's pretty simple. Lemme know if that's something you'd be interested in :)

Oh, and a cool feature we're still play testing (but works in another mod flawlessly right now, Brave New World), we have a patch to allow 4 player FF6 via multitap. We had some hilarious bugs pop up in BNW when testing, but it was an absolute blast doing 4 way co-op, each person controlling someone and we got it working on T-Edition. When we're sure it's 100%, I'm gonna offer it to the Japanese community in case they'd be interested in it. 4 player T-Edition with all its content and new game+ features just makes for a good time in my opinion and I'd love to see streams of it down the road or how people co-op with each other, sort of like a MMO. If this is also something you'd be interested in lemme know :)
« Last Edit: July 29, 2021, 08:28:33 pm by Kain Stryder »

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7215
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #143 on: July 29, 2021, 08:41:05 pm »
As I understand, the problem is that incorrect audio emulation assumes more RAM than is actually available, so on accurate emulation/hardware, the sound program overwrites itself and consequently crashes the APU.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

Tomato

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 373
    • View Profile
    • Legends of Localization
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #144 on: July 29, 2021, 09:37:05 pm »
Oh, I know the source of the problem thanks to everyone's explanations, but I imagine some of it might be feasibly fixable by modifying the amount of data that gets loaded before playing glitchy songs. That's how I would look into fixing it if I had the time. Kind of like how if a text script overflows into unrelated data, one solution is to trim the text until things do fit.

Speaking of which, a month or two ago during a stream I showed off my current build of T-Edition's translation. For some reason, enemies would just die immediately though, which confused me. It turns out my Bank 2 script had overflowed into some enemy data. Luckily I was able to get around the problem without any trimming.

Ballz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • party time excellent
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #145 on: August 01, 2021, 02:22:27 am »
Thanks, I'll try to put a "press any button" message in there and see how it looks. Here's what I have now after some adjustment last night.



It still feels unprofessional/warez-y/trainer-y/demo-y but I also don't want to put much work into it. The ideal solution would be to fix the broken music somehow but I think I'd go crazy trying to do that.

Any thoughts about giving it a background, maybe something simple like one of the battle landscapes?  Maybe have it be sepia-toned or something like that so the text pops over it more easily.
Ballzysoft Industries: Making rom hacks about once every 20 years. This decade's release: EarthBound MSU-1 Hip Hop Journey

Vanya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1920
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #146 on: August 01, 2021, 06:58:18 pm »
Any thoughts about giving it a background, maybe something simple like one of the battle landscapes?  Maybe have it be sepia-toned or something like that so the text pops over it more easily.

I second this! That's a nice simple way to give that screen more life.
Maybe even make a background based on the intro sequence.

Masaru

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • lmao
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #147 on: August 02, 2021, 01:31:59 pm »
How much is done?

TheChristoph

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #148 on: August 02, 2021, 08:58:35 pm »
Since the music issues will be a big pain for people who aren't aware of them, I'm thinking of including a boot-up screen that mentions the issues, similar to what I did with my FF2c translation patch. Problem is, it looks pretty ugly and unprofessional right now:



This is all displayed in BG Mode 0 and is actual text data rather than a big image converted to tiles. If anyone has suggestions on how to improve this lemme know. I'll try to improve it on my own but I don't have high hopes, heh.

I think this is very charming.

8.bit.fan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 317
    • View Profile
    • 8-bit fan's Hacking Projects
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #149 on: August 02, 2021, 11:41:28 pm »
Great work on translating FF6 T-Edition Tomato! :)

Ever since this was brought to my attention I've been waiting and looking forward to your project's completion so that I can finally give T-Edition a go! :thumbsup:

Cheers!! :beer:

8.bit.fan
In the year of 200X, a super robot named Mega Man...
http://www.8bitfan.info/
FF4 Ultima Discord: https://discord.gg/4MqjwJt

Tomato

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 373
    • View Profile
    • Legends of Localization
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #150 on: August 05, 2021, 09:12:37 pm »
Status-wise, I'm in the early testing phase, I've been streaming it on Twitch the past weekend or two.

I discovered that my splash screen code was causing the Equip menu to glitch out, so I decided to drop that idea since it was mostly someone else's code that I didn't fully understand myself. Instead, I decided to make a standard game text box open before the title screen panning, etc. so that I can then share info about the patch.



I've got it displaying properly, but for some reason, the game doesn't always recognize the A button when the the text box is showing, meaning it's not possible to progress the text/close the the box with the A button. Other times, it doesn't recognize other buttons. Sometimes, it doesn't recognize any buttons. WTF? This weirdness seems to change if you reset or reload the ROM, but I can't figure out why this happens. I've checked/watched/set various controller-related registers but with no luck.

Has anyone other FF6 hacker encountered this problem before? Basically, my custom title event script code now looks more like:

$96 (fade in)
$4b,$00,$80 (display Bank 0, Line 0, at bottom of screen)
$b2,$29,$5e,$00 (jump to the pre-existing title screen event script at $ca5e29 as is normal for FF6T)
$fe (return)

Everything

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #151 on: August 06, 2021, 07:37:54 pm »
By any chance did you modify the event script at CA/0001? Event command 4B has a hard-coded jump to a short subroutine at CA/0001 to make it wait for the dialog window to close.

Or maybe you need to add or remove character 0x12 (wait for keypress) at the end of your dialog message?

PowerPanda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #152 on: August 06, 2021, 11:14:35 pm »
Take a look at the original dialog scripts for the opening cutscene. They all have an ending character that allows them to be used either as a dialog you need to press "A" to advance, or as a dialog that clears automatically if it's part of attract mode. (In FF3usME, this character is listed as "<P>"). The event bits that controls these is either 2FE or 2FF (1EDD bits 6 or 7).

If I had to hazard a guess, when you reset the game, something happens to these bits that messes with how you have the new dialog box set up. Maybe it won't register the A button being pressed unless you have $2FF set?

You can check out the event that 2FE/2FF affect at CA/5E33. This is the event that shows the title screen and decides whether or not to go into attract mode. The actual cutscene where the dialog appears and is either cleared automatically or with a button press starts at CC/985E.

Everything

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #153 on: August 07, 2021, 02:09:33 pm »
PowerPanda might be on the right track (I think they meant 1EDF instead of 1EDD?).

Another idea, maybe the joypad settings aren't initialized when the message appears? Try forcing bit 6 of $1D54 to be zero when the game is reset (before the joypad gets initialized at C0/0053). That will force it to load the default button mapping when it reads the joypad.

PowerPanda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: Mato Projects (mostly FF4/6 stuff)
« Reply #154 on: August 09, 2021, 01:10:18 pm »
PowerPanda might be on the right track (I think they meant 1EDF instead of 1EDD?).

I did indeed mean 1EDF. Thanks for that catch.