News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Legend Of Zelda Red Ring Bug  (Read 1167 times)

Hasmal

• View Profile
Legend Of Zelda Red Ring Bug
« on: April 20, 2020, 11:52:25 pm »
Hi there. I noticed, while play-testing my own hack, that when Link picks up the Red Ring in Dungeon 9, sprite palette 03 gets reverted to the normal dungeon palette.

The bug is in the original game - it's not something that I introduced. But it's not noticeable because the color of the dungeon is exactly the same as the color of the lower dungeon where you pick up the special items - grey and grey.

The only clue I found was in Mesen's PPU editor. Sprite palette 03 gets changed from 0F 0F 10 30 to 0F 16 10 30.

I looked through the debugger and found where the game updates Link's tunic color, but I couldn't find anything that would change the palette when picking up the Red Ring. I'm new to ASM. Any ideas? Anyone noticed this before? Thanks!

nattou

• View Profile
Re: Legend Of Zelda Red Ring Bug
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2020, 01:53:30 am »
If you know what's changing, then it should be a trivial matter to discover where it's changing.

Mesen's debugger allows you to set breakpoints on memory changes - and in particular, it allows you  to set breakpoints in PPU memory in addition to CPU memory. So all you have to do is set a breakpoint on the range of PPU memory values that correspond to palettes ($3F00-$3F10 - or you can restrict the range down to the specific palette you're interested in), and then follow the call stack in the debugger to find what function is setting it (or else perhaps just step around in the code - or even just backstep the code, since Mesen has that excellent code-rewinding feature!).