News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Arcana SNES translation project/problem creating graphics of language characters  (Read 10195 times)

Sarah Shinespark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Creator of Arcana: Seal of Rimsala
    • View Profile
Hmm, you could probably ask around for playtesters to speed that part up.
Really odd how there's so much unused text... you should be able to use a read breakpoint to track where the order is coming from. Do you have a log for right before one is read?

Wondering if it's going through the dumb main loop each time, moving the pointer to $10 and $1049 with subroutines $9008, $9527 etc. That part *is* pretty hard to read.

RetGal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Spanish patch 1.0 finally released
« Reply #21 on: May 08, 2020, 12:36:28 pm »
It has been just around a month since I tried just once more to find the language tiles and add the Spanish ones.

Today I can say the patch is ready to download.

Since the last update, I fixed some untested bugs, bad translations that I overwatched and other minor changes. This is, just polishing the patch.

One thing I did not tried before was the compatibility with the other patches; as far as checked all of them work fine with the STP (Spanish translation patch), and even all together.

Unfortunately (and this is for the fabulous Sarah) the patch does not fit well with Seal of Rimsala. Main problems found are:

• Some words from SoR override the STP.
• Random letters due to positioning.
• "Ariel" and "Alan" indistinctly appearing.
• Level up does not show values improved.

You can see these are really minor problems, and they can be solved quite easy just by adjusting these things in (spoiler alert)
Spoiler:
a STP just for SoR  :o *plot twist*

I am quite bad at selling myself, so that's all :P

I jut wanna thank once again all of you guys of forum/topic that helped me with your comments, so this project has come to its objective; right now will be mainly just updating the patch. Oh, and create the STP for SoR. Oh, and create another patch for music and other things if I have the guts to open that door, hehehe

Have a nice play  :beer:

Sarah Shinespark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Creator of Arcana: Seal of Rimsala
    • View Profile
Congrats hun! Make sure to make a news entry advertising it!

The three SLEEP tilesets are at 38F6E, 38F7B, 38F88. I mapped out all of them; there's a ton of other ones between the FINIS tiles and these, for the other statuses... but they aren't used! (The tiles are wrong too, like Petrified says 'EDAI and Confused says RWINVI. This is the case in the vanilla game.)

Did you want to change the title "Licensed by"? Oh and I meant that I changed the "battle" Cards menu to Arcana in SOR, but it's really cool you drew a VWF for the menu!


I found a minor display bug in shops when buying and the GP loses a digit, 100GP -> 90GPP.


Oh and in case it helps, I made a few advances figuring out the text opcodes.
Code: [Select]
00 Return from code (End of text/stop reading)
01 XX XX Moves to a position XX hori, XX vert
03 0E Normal vertical spacing (03 0D less spacing, 03 0F more spacing)
06 0E Change font color to yellow
06 0D Change font color to white
08 XX Tabs to a position XX
10 XX YY 00 Continue reading from RAM YY XX (10 81 15 00 → Loads from ram $1581)
10 XX YY ZZ Continue reading from ROM ZZ YY XX (10 01 86 08 → Loads from rom $08/8601) (Basically a subroutine)
11 01 XX YY 00 Continue reading from RAM YY XX and convert to text (11 01 E7 16 00 → Loads from ram $16E7) (Turns 0D "thirteen" into text 31 33)
1C Text appears immediately
1D Text scrolls 1 line at a time
1E Text scrolls quickly by character

Yeah SOR's level up screen took me quite awhile to port from Card Master; I'm really proud of it. But since it's displayed differently, it would need to be patched on top of the Spanish translation. Not difficult now that I know how, lol.

RetGal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
I found a minor display bug in shops when buying and the GP loses a digit, 100GP -> 90GPP.

Thought I corrected it, my bad :P first time I noticed it was because I used bytes $3194 to $31A5 to create the "Ú" tile, with the $2c74 being the VWF... at the end instead of showing that display bug it filled all empty spaces with "Ú"s  :'(

Right now I correct it, but there is still some display bug (here a gif, notice when they appear before "Dinero" and the amount of money) :



I am pretty sure the problem comes for using bytes for the tiles that were unused for this purpose in the original ROM, so am removing the unused tiles (like "Ñ" or "Í") and moving there others, and hope it somehow solves it  ;D

Did you want to change the title "Licensed by"? Oh and I meant that I changed the "battle" Cards menu to Arcana in SOR, but it's really cool you drew a VWF for the menu!

Sorry, I do not really understand what you're talking about :'( As much I am understanding you are talking about this:



In the title screen wanted to change "New Game" to "Nuevo"; "Continue" to "Continuar" and "File 1-2-3" to "Fila 1-2-3"... but it is tricky as hell, if I modify some specific bytes it messes up the whole screen, and the bad part is that those untouchable bytes are part of the tile so seems quite impossible for me.

I liked you could add the subtitle "Seal of Rimsala" in your project ;D so I thought it wouldn't be difficult to translate that screen, but yeah it is :P and in kind of bad since for instance "File" just need to change an "a" to is already displayed in the tiles seen in bsnes to become "Fila", but couldn't find the way.

The licensed part is ok the way it is, English in there is kind of official :police: and after having the troubles I had I preffer not even try that part :-X

Yeah SOR's level up screen took me quite awhile to port from Card Master; I'm really proud of it. But since it's displayed differently, it would need to be patched on top of the Spanish translation. Not difficult now that I know how, lol.

Yeah; actually I like the way SoR level up is shown, pretty direct and in a flash, I surely addapt another STP to make both patches work fine together :beer: :beer:

The info about petrification and confusion is quite amusing, I knew they were not implemented since petrification could softlock the game or something, but certainly that spelling is quite a thing! :D

About opcodes, thanks for the detailing, I actually figured out most of them thanks (that is why I needed to solve so many bug since sometimes a portrait was displayed with wrong color palette, or monstrosities things (like half Salah - half lower part of somebody with the mouth talking in a non spected part and dark blue palette... that was REALLY scary!)
« Last Edit: May 09, 2020, 09:54:25 am by RetGal »

Sarah Shinespark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Creator of Arcana: Seal of Rimsala
    • View Profile
In the title screen wanted to change "New Game" to "Nuevo"; "Continue" to "Continuar" and "File 1-2-3" to "Fila 1-2-3"... but it is tricky as hell, if I modify some specific bytes it messes up the whole screen, and the bad part is that those untouchable bytes are part of the tile so seems quite impossible for me.

I liked you could add the subtitle "Seal of Rimsala" in your project ;D so I thought it wouldn't be difficult to translate that screen, but yeah it is :P and in kind of bad since for instance "File" just need to change an "a" to is already displayed in the tiles seen in bsnes to become "Fila", but couldn't find the way.

The licensed part is ok the way it is, English in there is kind of official :police: and after having the troubles I had I preffer not even try that part :-X
Yeah those parts are VWF tiles, so you would need to re-draw them! Or use exclusively the non-VWF tiles, which doesn't seem practical. But VWF is used for NEW, TINU (continue), INC., FILE1-3, and some thin tiles like 1.

I gave the copyright a shot. Did I say it right?  :cookie:
The tile bytes changed are 97 04 8C 04 00 04 9D 04 8E 04.


Oh and I was talking about this, I used "Arcana" as the battle command for card magic. I thought your edit was referencing mine... never mind me  :crazy:

Side note, do Spanish games use HP and MP (Hit Points and Magic Points)? Maybe swap them to PV and PM, and NV over LV.

Quote
About opcodes, thanks for the detailing, I actually figured out most of them thanks (that is why I needed to solve so many bug since sometimes a portrait was displayed with wrong color palette, or monstrosities things (like half Salah - half lower part of somebody with the mouth talking in a non spected part and dark blue palette... that was REALLY scary!)
I wrote that on TCRF  :beer:
That's hilarious about Salah... I'm working on changing available encounters in SOR (some areas have only 4 monsters when they could have 5 types). But, the graphics aren't loading right. I got a Goblin with 4 arms once, or this monstrosity  :crazy:
« Last Edit: May 09, 2020, 04:09:09 pm by Sarah Shinespark »

RetGal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
My my! Thanks for sharing the code, now I could spot the bytes and change the intro almost close to perfection:




As you can see I have modified some tiles (in NEW and G) to create the smaller capital A, the Z and the R :woot!:

Unfortunately the CONTINUA is not as Spanish as I would like :P it should either be:

♦ CONTINUAR that is the translation of CONTINUE, but there are not enough bytes available (77 2C 78 2C 79 2C 7A 2C 7B 2C 7C 2C 6B 2C 7E F0 <-- if I change this two to 68 (that is the tile created for R) and 2C (that seems to be the one that makes it lighter or darker when selected) this happens:



♦ CONTINÚA, that means "YOU CONTINUE", but as easy as is to change the tiles of NEW, G, M or IN, it is impossible to spot the U and change it.

Either way seems enough cool for me ;D at least is way cooler than before ;D ;D ;D Thanks!!!

Oh, and now I understand you, yeah I created some "rc" and "an" tiles for "Arcana" in order to make it fit in the menus... the difference is that in the STP I call "Arcana" for the 4 spirits, hehehe.

About HP, MP and LV, it is true that propper translation should be PV, PM and NV... but I do not find that strange keeping them the English way, maybe I sound pedantic but they are quite omnipresent words in every RPG game, hehehe

But maybe you are right, I am checking some translated ROMs (Treasure of the Rudras, FFVI, Shin Megami Tensei...) and all of them have this the PV, PM and LV(L) way... I think I should do it as well, hehehe

Thanks for everything  :thumbsup: oh and did not know you were the responsible of writing the Arcana part in TCRF, you are quite omnipresent he he  :beer:

UPDATE: updated HP, MP and LV to PV, PM and NV, at least for one character :D

Well, everybody ;D


UPDATE: Also changed "SLEEP" for "FRITO":

It comes from the Spanish "Quedarse frito" or "Estar frito", that means literally "stay fried" and "to be fried", an informal way to say one is asleep as hell.

Is the more creative with the provided letters, since there is no C nor U that helps (like for DURME or YACE or CAIDO) and I did not find the tiles to add them or Ñ for SUEÑA:
« Last Edit: May 10, 2020, 11:05:32 am by RetGal »

Sarah Shinespark

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Creator of Arcana: Seal of Rimsala
    • View Profile
Curious, how did you fix the corruption from modifying NEW GAME? I was having trouble modifying NINTENDO in mine, because it decided to re-use the EN in LICENSED. It used a code that made the rest of the tiles take up 1 less byte, so overwriting everything would run into the following code  :banghead:

The U in CONTINUE is tile 7C in VRAM, and seems to be only used there. Amazing job btw  :woot!:

Oh, fried is also English slang for being really high or doped up :laugh:

RetGal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Well, I did not changed the whole NEW, just 2 of the tiles:

I just modified the tiles marked with red numbers 1, 2 and 4, and changed just a little bit the M (removed two dots on the top, you see this had an effect in the M of "AMERICA". After that I just reused the tiles for CONTINUE and GAME to create COMENZAR, ($BAE17 --> $BAE26, just to state it, hehehe).

The tile below the red 3 is the one that was giving me the glitchy, and since I did not touch it there were no mess :P

Also the modification of tiles marked as 1, 2 and 4 somehow affected the one marked as 6, but it does not matter since I changed that.
______________________________

UPDATE 12-May-2020: Well I know it is a bit late to announce but yesterday was released version 1.01, that includes:

%u2022 Fixed a bug that would mirror GP when dropped the amount of money in one or more digits.
%u2022 Now title screen is fully Spanish.
%u2022 "SLEEP" status is now "FRITO", the only thing so far related to sleepiness that I can come up with the tiles and space provided.
%u2022 Changed HP, MP and LV for more Spanish PV, PM and NV.
%u2022 Some lines and dialogues minor changes.

Just to make it official. And version 1.02 is in progress with few improvements and polishing, just for you people to know :P
__________________________

UPDATE 16-May-2020: Upcoming a redrawn of some punctuation marks:





This comes to give consistence with the style of the font, less "squary" and "bulky" than the original punctuation marks that have been changed.

Also minor change for the "?" is for the same reason, consistence.
______________

UPDATE 18-May-2020: Version 1.02 is now available.

This changes:

• Added new ending credit


• Improved the way custom tiles are displayed

(Before the "Arcana" text was more compact, but right now I cannot improve it more since the arrow would cover it when pointing "Más"; I would need to code the arrow to move a few pixels to the right when is in the middle column to improve the "Arcana" text even more)

• Some lines and dialogues polishing
• Some coordinate-calibration in menus
• Fixed ALMOST completely minor bug when money is displayed in stores.
• Redrawn of punctuation marks.

KNOWN BUGS OF THIS PATCH:

♠ When selling weapons, a few pixels of the last line can be seen when back to the shop. Still better than before, though.

♠ In Chapter 2, when facing an entrance with fog, if you turn left you can see briefly that there are a repeated tile of the floor on air. In emulator, if you remove BG1 you can see is already loaded this way.


♠ I think this happens in the original ROM, but if you die in battle with Rimsala the bottom part of the screen will not display what it should anymore; just reset to fix.


I say it must happens also in original ROM since it happened at least in the unmodified copy I have of the game:

_________________________________________

UPDATE 22-May-2020:
Quote
♠ In Chapter 2, when facing an entrance with fog, if you turn left you can see briefly that there are a repeated tile of the floor on air. In emulator, if you remove BG1 you can see is already loaded this way.

Bug fixed  :woot!: the problem were two bytes $193b9 and $193ba, that were 63 6c instead of 20 dd... weird, when there is nothing interesting to translate over there.

Just for sharing how did I find it with my small programming knowledge: I have a save state right where the bug were; since I do almost a daily copy of my work, I just changed the name of the save state to the copy I wanted to check, from older to newest, until bug appears again. Then I created a patch using as "original file" the last version without the bug, and the "modified file" the first one with the bug. In that patch would be a small amount of changes, one of them that bug to fix, I just needed to read the patch right (as I learned thanks to this thread, btw), spot the pink elephant and fix it with original code :laugh: It has been quite interesting experiment.

Sooner than later I will upload the new fixes, but before I would like to fix the "bug shop" bug (the Rimsala's one is quite destroyer but that is out of my comprehension), and try to make the result patch to be Checksum OK.

EDIT: well, as far as I have checked... the mirror bug is also happening in the original and unmodified ROM:



UPDATE 23-05-2020:

Version 1.03 is now available.

This version solves the bug in chapter 2 (that tile when turning around in front of fog doors), and polishes some lines of dialog. Nothing serious, bug still necessary.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 02:14:18 pm by RetGal »

RickkyJaden

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • https://casinowonderland.net/where-to-play-online-baccarat-in-canada/
So you are busy for real ;D I think you can just find some freelancers (I am not the one xd) but I am interested in that, recently I`ve found an article (https://translatehub.org/how-to-become-a-freelance-translator/) so there is a detailed description with advantages and disadvantages.

I am also game developer, but I am making physical game (Card Game, if to be certain) dedicated to battle-rap, and I know that it is not about WORK,that is about inspiration and sometimes it is hard to find energy and power to carry those little things like translation.
I am Rickky Jaden, 20y.All I love in my life is a hockey,basketball and music creating. Learning in Linguistic School. Recently I have finished 3rd academic year, I like this one by the way, I didn`t thought that learning will give me pleasure.
Good luck !pow!