News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: RoboCop NES MMC3 to MMC5 Help  (Read 531 times)

Dracula X

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Page for ROM hacking
RoboCop NES MMC3 to MMC5 Help
« on: December 30, 2019, 07:21:11 pm »
I'm not sure that the bankswitch code will work on this game but here is the location of the bankswitch code:

Code: [Select]
07:C33B: 20 1D C0  JSR $C01D
Bankswitch1:
 07:C33E: 78        SEI
 07:C33F: 85 19     STA $19 = #$0D
 07:C341: A2 06     LDX #$06
>07:C343: 8E 00 80  STX $8000 = #$07
 07:C346: 8D 01 80  STA $8001 = #$0C
 07:C349: 58        CLI
 07:C34A: 60        RTS -----------------------------------------
Bankswitch2:
 07:C34B: 78        SEI
 07:C34C: 85 1A     STA $1A = #$00
 07:C34E: A2 07     LDX #$07
 07:C350: 8E 00 80  STX $8000 = #$07
 07:C353: 8D 01 80  STA $8001 = #$0C
 07:C356: 58        CLI
 07:C357: 60        RTS -----------------------------------------

I try to make a JSR at $C343 or $C450 to a new location but it didn't work.

And here is the MMC5 Setup code:
Code: [Select]
mmc5setup:
LDA #$00
STA $5010
LDA #$00
STA $5015
LDA #$03
STA $5100
LDA #$03
STA $5101
LDA #$02
STA $5102
LDA #$01
STA $5103
LDA #$02
STA $5104
LDA #$44
STA $5105
LDA #$00
STA $5113
LDA #$0F
STA $5123
LDA #$0F
STA $5127
LDA #$0F
STA $512B
LDA #$0F
STA $5130
LDA #$00
STA $5200
LDA #$00
STA $5204
LDA #$00
STA $5209
LDA #$8C
STA $5114
LDA #$8D
STA $5115
LDA #$8E
STA $5116
LDA #$8F
STA $5117

And the bankswitch code that I normally use in a free space in a fixed bank:

Code: [Select]
Bankswitch:
PHA
ASL
ORA #$80
STA $5115
PLA
RTS
This code might not work for this mapper hack so I'm still trying.This code is located at the free space in a fixed bank.

I can't seem to get the game running. Am I'm doing something wrong?
« Last Edit: December 30, 2019, 08:44:21 pm by Dracula X »
I might go back to Thunder Force II hacking again.

Cyneprepou4uk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • I am the baldest romhacker
    • View Profile
Re: RoboCop NES MMC3 to MMC5 Help
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2019, 08:22:21 pm »
Who knows. Show how you insert your code.
iromhacker.ru - NES ROM hacking tutorials for beginners. Please use Google Translate browser extension

Dracula X

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Page for ROM hacking
Re: RoboCop NES MMC3 to MMC5 Help
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2019, 10:01:53 pm »
Uh oh! I think I did something to make it work. So right now, I'm working this out about what I just did.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2019, 10:11:35 pm by Dracula X »
I might go back to Thunder Force II hacking again.