News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Help About Edit Pointer  (Read 3976 times)

HoaiTrung97

• View Profile
Help About Edit Pointer
« on: November 06, 2019, 08:22:01 am »
Hello, I know how to edit pointers and have hacking skills (a bit).  ;)

But I am not a programmer, or have any skills related to it.

So I don't have any way of writing myself an editing tool pointer to optimize my work.

Most of me I have to edit them manually, editing them one by one. It's not too difficult, but for super-large files, it's a nightmare for me, because if the edit text is wrong, I will be forced to edit the entire pointer again. kill me, kill me.  :banghead:

So I post this thread, in order to want to ask people, is any tool for automatic pointer editing easier? As just provided where pointer start / end, where text start / end. And it is fully automatic edit. :)

Some people recommend me to use Atlast, yeah it's quite useful, but I don't know how to optimize it, the writing process is long time, writing pointers by line, pasting text, the time I write scripts recent = time I edit the pointer manually (if I'm careful). So it quite unless. :-[

So if possible, hope someone can help me write a sample script from atlast better, so I can refer to it.  ;D

This is a sample script file and the translation I need to edit.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/jxoblh5cky38nud/SCRIPT.rar/file

Cyneprepou4uk

• I am the baldest romhacker
    • View Profile
Re: Help About Edit Pointer
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2019, 10:45:49 am »
No one is forcing you to put everything in rom sticking to each other. If you have a lot of free space, you can backup some space in between for future text editing, and so once you set up basic pointers, you won't have to edit them anymore
iromhacker.ru - NES ROM hacking tutorials for beginners. Please use Google Translate browser extension

FAST6191

• View Profile