News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: No Readable Transcription in HxD, What to do Next?  (Read 805 times)

AzureSkyes22

• View Profile
No Readable Transcription in HxD, What to do Next?
« on: June 14, 2019, 09:06:01 am »
Hello there! I'm fairly new to ROM hacking (started only yesterday,) and I decided to practice on english nes ROM's to see if I could make a script dump with the HxD. I have this dream of making a translation of the Hiryu no Ken series, just to be able to understand the story while playing it, alongside others who want the same. Probably a tall order at first, but I still want to get there some day!

So, about the problem... Instead of working directly with the first game, Hiryu no Ken - Ougi no Sho (J), I tried to mess with the translated version, Flying Dragon - the Secret Scroll (U). I opened some other ROM's before and I could find the game text in readable format (even made some small changes in a Crash and the Boys opening story.) It wasn't the case with the american version, though. I tried to mess up some parts of the data, to see what would be affected by the changes, but, so far, I could only screw up some tileset graphics starting on offset 7660 and HUD graphics as well.

Does the fact that the text is not in readable format mean that it's locked in Assembly compression? From what I read, I should probably steer away from this complex task at first, but I wouldn't mind to tackle the problem if it was something different from that.

I appreciate any kind of help! ^^

KingMike

• Forum Moderator
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: No Readable Transcription in HxD, What to do Next?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2019, 11:19:03 am »
NES games (maybe a few ever) stored their text is ASCII format.

You should start by looking up tutorials on Relative Searching.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

Cyneprepou4uk

• Самый лысый ромхакер