News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Super Mario Bros. (NES) - "Pages"?  (Read 1722 times)

MongoLloyd

• View Profile
Super Mario Bros. (NES) - "Pages"?
« on: June 06, 2019, 07:10:28 am »
Hey! I'm pretty new to 6502 assembly and I've been trying to study the disassembly of Super Mario Bros. and I came upon the word pages and was wondering what they are referring to. What does pages mean in the context of the code?

Here's some examples of what I mean:

Near the beginning of RenderSceneryTerrain
Code: [Select]
lda CurrentPageLoc        ;otherwise check for every third page
At the start of Entrance_GameTimerSetup
lda ScreenLeft_PageLoc    ;set current page for area objects
sta Player_PageLoc        ;as page location for player

The code I'm using: https://www.romhacking.net/documents/344/

Disch

• NES Junkie
    • View Profile
Re: Super Mario Bros. (NES) - "Pages"?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2019, 10:11:29 am »
This is a little confusing because he does not appear to be using "page" to mean a memory page.  So this is not really a 6502 question as much as it is a question about this specific game.

From what I can tell having glanced at the code, I would bet that the level maps are broken into sections (which he's calling pages), and when the player transitions to a new page, new stuff on the map gets loaded.

I deduced this specifically from some code starting at line 5997:

CSetFDir:    lda Player_X_Position
             clc                      ;add or subtract from player's horizontal position
             adc ClimbAdderLow,x      ;using value here as adder and X as offset
             sta Player_X_Position
             lda Player_PageLoc       ;add or subtract carry or borrow using value here
             adc ClimbAdderHigh,x     ;from the player's page location
             sta Player_PageLoc