News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)  (Read 421 times)

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« on: March 16, 2019, 07:54:11 pm »
Does anyone know how to make this game work? It load fine but only I can see is black screen and audio running. So how can I fix this?

Before you suggest me use BizHAwk, I tried and it work, but no audio. If you know how to fix the audio problem, then please let me know how to work.
 
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

Dacicus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2019, 12:30:09 am »
Which version of mGBA are you trying?  Does the "black screen" contain any text or graphics at all?

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2019, 09:45:10 am »
Which version of mGBA are you trying?  Does the "black screen" contain any text or graphics at all?
All of them even Nighty thingy version.  None.   It didnt show anything.  Just black screen while audio running when I load the rom.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

vergil2012

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2019, 10:43:30 am »
I tested the game with the latest (stable) release of mGBA and no black screen. No configurations made, just started the emulator and I could play the first level...

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2019, 12:00:38 pm »
I tested the game with the latest (stable) release of mGBA and no black screen. No configurations made, just started the emulator and I could play the first level...
I don't see stable version on mGBA website.   You need to give more detail that where did you get it.
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

Chronosplit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1235
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2019, 12:40:04 pm »
I don't see stable version on mGBA website.   You need to give more detail that where did you get it.
Releases section of the Github and also here.  The RetroArch core version should be pretty close now (it recently updated from a beta of 0.7.0 that had a lot of saves not being read right).

vergil2012

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2019, 01:57:51 pm »
I don't see stable version on mGBA website.   You need to give more detail that where did you get it.

When a user is asking which version of mGBA you used and you reply with ''All of them even Nighty thingy version.'', then I assume that you know where to get the latest (stable) release of the aforementioned emulator.

But whatever, Chronosplit answered the question.

bradzx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2019, 02:39:19 pm »
Releases section of the Github and also here.  The RetroArch core version should be pretty close now (it recently updated from a beta of 0.7.0 that had a lot of saves not being read right).
RetroArch is pretty lame to me because it actually no sense at all.   All I see is load core and load content.   Where is load rom and stuff?   It look like PS3 and PSP menu screen to me.   So RetroArch is out of the hand.   You just gave me information to use emulator but no detail how to use Retroarch.   You should give me explanation how to use Retroarch instead give it out information.

Since you guys didn't show me how to use mGBA for this game problem, I have no choice but show you in video.

https://youtu.be/W8DOx7e-rFo
« Last Edit: March 17, 2019, 02:57:02 pm by bradzx »
Are you huge fan of Megaman Xtreme 2?   Then check this progress of Remastered version!

Dacicus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2019, 04:28:22 pm »
Please check if your ROM matches these hashes:

MD5: 9f966d8f9f2865e96a42eed33a201cde
SHA-1: f0b655c5b01870da92c9ea84736cb005a4cc4f9c
SHA-256: 52af6d9323f43254fe958c90f07d08bb48adafc534517433a14fddf18eca4b37

vergil2012

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2019, 05:44:19 pm »
Try also this:

''On loading a game I get a black screen or upside down image

Change the display driver from OpenGL to OpenGL (Force 1.x) or Software.''

Source:
https://mgba.io/faq.html#on-loading-a-game-i-get-a-black-screen-or-upside-down-image

Isao Kronos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1181
  • Dogman
    • View Profile
Re: How to use mGBA for Zook Man ZX4 (Luke Ren ZX4)
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2019, 09:54:00 pm »
If it continues to not work after trying the more recent things in this thread, you may have an edge-case game and may want to contact the mGBA author via the boards linked on their site.