News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Translation Questions (Slayers Royal 2)  (Read 2246 times)

Mafoo343

• View Profile
Translation Questions (Slayers Royal 2)
« on: March 12, 2019, 07:26:56 pm »
Greetings, I'm a rookie translator that's currently working on a translation guide for Slayers Royal 2, which once completed, I hope to make into a romhack for either the PSX or Saturn versions.  At present I'm starting to get close to making the first public release of the translation guide which will span roughly from the start of the game to the end of the game's first dungeon (a vampire cave) which will cover the first hour and a half of gameplay.  Before I make the release public in a few weeks however I wanted to QC three sentences from two conversations that have glaring flaws in their translation.  Since the conversations are a little lengthy for this forum and I want to present as much context as possible I have posted them in a word document in my dropbox with the link being at the bottom of this post.  It's set up so that the original Japanese sentences are presented first with my current translation below it, with the highlighted sentences being the ones I'm checking for quality control.  For the first conversation I am relatively confident except when It comes to the following sentence:

"そりゃ旅費だけもらって、そのままにしとくってのもちょっとは考えたけど、魔道士協会と役人だけは敵にまわすとろくな事にならないし・・・・"