News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: First SRAM hack: Boxxle for Game Boy  (Read 415 times)

CecilMcW00t

• View Profile
First SRAM hack: Boxxle for Game Boy
« on: March 16, 2019, 10:53:51 pm »
I posted recently about my dream of adding SRAM to games with high score tables and I got a bit overwhelmed. I ended up deciding to take on a simpler but similar project I've been wanting to do. Adding SRAM to games which use passwords. I've noticed a couple other users have done a few of these so I studied what they did. I want to focus on the Game Boy line of consoles as that is one of my favorite consoles of all time.

Boxxle has a simple 4 digit password. I was able to find where the game stores the data for stages that you have cleared. Afterwards, I did some some hex edits to point that data to the SRAM area. I already knew how to do this from working on a Tetris SRAM hack another user, Capaneus, was working on. But, I ran into the same problem he ran into. The saves work, but it requires a save file filled with zeroes on first boot. Otherwise, the first set of levels are already cleared.

Regarding other things I did, I changed the ROM type to ROM+RAM+BATTERY and the RAM size to 32 KiB. From what I understand, if I use the MBC1 ROM type, I can add code which will initialize the SRAM on first boot. Someone posted some code which will do this on another forum, but when I tried to compile the code with a thumb compiler I downloaded from PokeCommunity.com, every single line in the code spit out an error. I can post the code in this thread if anyone wants to help me troubleshoot it.

I'm still very much a noob at this, so if anything I said up there is totally wrong or stupid, please let me know.

KingMike

• Forum Moderator
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: First SRAM hack: Boxxle for Game Boy
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2019, 05:13:06 pm »