News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack  (Read 1271 times)

NesDraug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« on: November 30, 2018, 07:40:43 am »
So I wanted to do something with that awesome Super Mario Two Players Hack by Corpse Grinder and Ti.

This is Batman Bros. Co-Op.
Batman and his long lost twin Batbro find themselves in a very dark Mushroom Kingdom.



Link to IPS-file: (version 0,6)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j7o6g9j5f22sy1x/Batman%20Bros%20by%20NesDraug%20v0%2C6.ips.zip?dl=0

ROM: Super Mario Bros. (W) [!] [NES] - GoodNES V3.23b




It's a real chore hacking this rom because I can't use any of the custom smb1 utilities since the information in the two player hack is altered.

- Sprite editing in NES CHR Editor
- HEX-editing in FCEUX to fix the colors

This is a work in progress, please tell me what you think or feel free to ask me if you have any questions.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Edit: (Released version) : https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/4265/
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 
« Last Edit: December 16, 2018, 06:53:17 am by NesDraug »
Hello! You found my shop of strange and wonderful things!
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nesdraug

Googie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 749
  • eeee!
    • View Profile
    • My work in progress ROM Hacking site
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2018, 08:27:06 pm »
I'm gonna have to try this out with a friend of mine, I do like the Batman look of it though.  :D :cookie:

Eden.GT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Hardcore SMB1 Player and Hacker
    • View Profile
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2018, 05:01:40 am »
Could have perhaps dragged the SMB1 new level data in the two player hack (via graphics editor) to see if it works fine.
Want to get more into SMB Hacking alongside with help support? Send me a private message for a Discord invite link: SMB Arena

NesDraug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2018, 05:44:06 pm »
I'm gonna have to try this out with a friend of mine, I do like the Batman look of it though.  :D :cookie:

Hes simply menacing adorable. Like LEGO Batman.

Please do, and report back if you encounter any bugs. I haven't managed to change all the sprites for all enemies yet. I was thinking of tweaking the physics a bit giving batman more speed and jumping power.

December 10, 2018, 08:00:54 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)




UPDATE
- Fire flower is now Bat Shurikens
- Player Two is now grey instead of green in underwater levels
- Mushrooms are batmask with blue eyes

I tried to replace the tile card and write BATMAN instead of SUPER MARIO BROS. but I simply couldn't get it to work. I think I'll call it a day. I'm quite satisfied with my hack though it could be improved.

IPS File:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/713k2zhkvg7ccdw/Batman%20Bros.%20v0%2C7%20By%20NesDraug.ips?dl=0

Used rom: Super Mario Bros. (W) [!]
« Last Edit: December 10, 2018, 08:00:55 am by NesDraug »
Hello! You found my shop of strange and wonderful things!
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nesdraug

NesDraug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2018, 06:23:01 am »
UPDATE: (I think this is the final one)



- Stars are now bats
- Fixed game over bat symbol
- Well, that title screen is the best I can do




IPS FILE:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/270w4y2eewwx40k/Batman%20Bros.%20Co-Op%20by%20NesDraug.zip?dl=0


Rom: Super Mario Bros. (W) [!]
Hello! You found my shop of strange and wonderful things!
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nesdraug

HPJ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2018, 10:55:54 am »
The title screen is a little bland. Are you planning on sprucing it up? If not, I could attempt it

December 12, 2018, 11:15:13 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Actually, no. I created a pretty sweet-lookin title screen, but couldn't put it in because all of the data is offset or something. Shame, really.  :-\
« Last Edit: December 12, 2018, 11:15:13 am by HPJ »

NesDraug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2018, 03:23:34 pm »
The title screen is a little bland. Are you planning on sprucing it up? If not, I could attempt it

December 12, 2018, 11:15:13 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Actually, no. I created a pretty sweet-lookin title screen, but couldn't put it in because all of the data is offset or something. Shame, really.  :-\

I agree. This was the best I could do. :P
I tried to make a cool title screen but I don't know how to insert it into the rom without damaging the code for the two player hack. Remember I'm working with an already patched version of SMB. https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/4180/

If someone know how to do it. Please, feel free. :)


Edit: Just out of curiosity. What did your title screen look like? 
Hello! You found my shop of strange and wonderful things!
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nesdraug

HPJ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2018, 06:14:32 pm »
It seems really odd, it's all in the right place but if you open the patched rom in a graphics editor, there's about two tables of empty space at the beginning. I mean, I'm no expert but that seems weird to me.

NesDraug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2018, 08:07:41 pm »
It seems really odd, it's all in the right place but if you open the patched rom in a graphics editor, there's about two tables of empty space at the beginning. I mean, I'm no expert but that seems weird to me.

The two player hack is a pretty unusual hack so I guess Corpse Grinder and Ti had to move the data around to make simultaneous gameplay possible. I have no idea why, but it sure limits my possibilities.
Hello! You found my shop of strange and wonderful things!
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nesdraug

Eden.GT

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Hardcore SMB1 Player and Hacker
    • View Profile
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2018, 05:33:42 pm »
After all, it's quite not intended that this "base" hack is user-friendly to make another hack out of it.
Want to get more into SMB Hacking alongside with help support? Send me a private message for a Discord invite link: SMB Arena

NesDraug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Batman Bros. - SMB1 Two Players Hack
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2018, 08:44:33 am »
I created a pretty sweet-lookin title screen, but couldn't put it in because all of the data is offset or something. Shame, really.  :-\

Just out of curiosity. What did your title screen look like? Can you upload a pic?
Hello! You found my shop of strange and wonderful things!
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nesdraug