News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Emerald QOL hack  (Read 471 times)

vblm12

• View Profile
Emerald QOL hack
« on: July 04, 2018, 07:47:58 pm »
This is my first hack, an attempt to Pokemon a little more fun and a little less tedious. I wouldn't say it's complete. It needs testing and I have a few more ideas, but this hack is meant to be fairly low-impact as a basis for other hacks. I personally have the lofty ambition of using this as the basis of a difficulty hack with a custom AI, but ah, we'll see. :laugh: I've never done anything with an AI before so it might turn out badly, but I do have the general idea for an algorithm in my head.

Current changes include:

* Running allowed anywhere.
* Make TMs re-usable.
* Allow HMs to be forgotten when learning new moves.
* The RNG is either fixed or even more broken, testing needed
* The player's party is completely healed before and after every battle.
* Bag items are not usable in trainer battles, either by the AI or the player.
* Move tutors can be re-used.

Shut up and give me a download link! (patched rom should have a sha1 of 00632ce88c1c78da2e57db3427aa623b7e9296bf)

I think the last two changes might be a little controversial, but the goal of this hack is to keep the player in the action without compromising difficulty. I want the player to be encouraged to move on to the next battle instead of running to a Pokemon Center or rooting around their bag for a potion, and I think bag items in battle are probably mostly exist as crutch so young children are actually able to beat the game, and it doesn't really fit the competitive conceit in the fiction. Also spamming hyper potions isn't fun. However, this does have the side effect of making healing items *mostly* useless, except maybe to help catch legendary Pokemon.