News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: A question regarding color palettes  (Read 863 times)

mascot1063

• View Profile
A question regarding color palettes
« on: July 20, 2018, 04:45:08 am »
Hey there, so I couldn't figure out a place to put this question, so if this is the wrong place, please forgive me.

so I have been looking for means to ripping color palettes from an SNES rom, but my search has not given me any results. The thing is, I am a pixel artist whom would like to fiddle around with a certain color palette, but I am not sure if ripping specific color palettes are even possible. I have considered doing this the hard way and just take colors from screen shots, however that would take me forever, and I would like to know if its even possible to do this an easier way before I even go into this.

Once again, I am not even sure if this is a proper place for this kind of question, but if anyone could answer this question, it would be rom hackers.

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: A question regarding color palettes
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2018, 08:59:00 am »
Don't take them from screen shots and instead take them from palette viewers on emulators, or use savestates to feed to tile editors which often have the ability to rip them (and even export to windows palette format). Not sure about the current favoured ones here but http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/112/ should have something.

Obviously you need to be at a point in the game where such things are displayed (cheats, existing savestates and such are good here, if you want to learn a bit of light hacking and cheat making it can accelerate this more**), possibly even on screen*.

*Some games will load things up way ahead of time, others will need to almost have the thing on screen before all the relevant data is there. If it is on screen though then it has to be there.