News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?  (Read 1092 times)

PasthorRothers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« on: March 21, 2018, 05:35:37 pm »
I am trying to rip sprites from various NES games onto Paint so I can upload them onto the Spriters Resource. Is there a way to transfer the Sprites from the ROM onto Microsoft Paint?

USC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Obviously Outdated
    • View Profile
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2018, 06:35:09 pm »
Yes. In TLP you can highlight a section of tiles (Click one with the left mouse button and drag to cover the rest). Then click on "Edit" and "Export to BMP". You can open the resulting .BMP file in Paint if you so choose.

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6615
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2018, 08:19:16 pm »
Probably won't have the right palette though.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

USC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
  • Obviously Outdated
    • View Profile
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2018, 11:13:13 pm »
It retains the palette you had set in TLP, so if that's incorrect then yes, the BMP won't look right either. :)

Gideon Zhi

  • IRC Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3460
    • View Profile
    • Aeon Genesis
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2018, 01:12:08 am »
It can import palettes from ZST savestates though.

bogaabogaa

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2018, 09:22:41 pm »
Sure this is one way to do it. I think it would be much easier to rip them of a emulator. You know record your sprite in the right resolution and remove the unwanted pixel in a graphic editor. If you go through the assembly process what might give you from non to very much work depending on the game your working on you could also document and provide files to make it easy for other to implement there now graphics after.

And thanks for ripping graphics was happy to pick some up in the past ;P

Also YY-CHR and tilemolester are also great choices to work with ROM graphics.

nesrocks

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 531
    • View Profile
    • nesrocks.com
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2018, 09:58:53 pm »
Yes, using an emulator is better. Fceux allows you to even disable backgrounds. Just watch out for those sprites that have a color equal to the background color.