News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?  (Read 216 times)

PasthorRothers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« on: March 21, 2018, 05:35:37 pm »
I am trying to rip sprites from various NES games onto Paint so I can upload them onto the Spriters Resource. Is there a way to transfer the Sprites from the ROM onto Microsoft Paint?

USC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Obviously Outdated
    • View Profile
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2018, 06:35:09 pm »
Yes. In TLP you can highlight a section of tiles (Click one with the left mouse button and drag to cover the rest). Then click on "Edit" and "Export to BMP". You can open the resulting .BMP file in Paint if you so choose.

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6389
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2018, 08:19:16 pm »
Probably won't have the right palette though.
Quote
Sir Howard Stringer, chief executive of Sony, on Christmas sales of the PS3:
"It's a little fortuitous that the Wii is running out of hardware."

USC

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Obviously Outdated
    • View Profile
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2018, 11:13:13 pm »
It retains the palette you had set in TLP, so if that's incorrect then yes, the BMP won't look right either. :)

Gideon Zhi

  • IRC Staff
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3415
    • View Profile
    • Aeon Genesis
Re: How do I rip Sprites using Tile Layer Pro onto Paint?
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2018, 01:12:08 am »
It can import palettes from ZST savestates though.