News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: SMAS: Auto load of specific game  (Read 835 times)

poltergasm

• View Profile
SMAS: Auto load of specific game
« on: March 10, 2018, 05:17:53 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm really new to ROM hacking, so I'm not sure if this is possible, but I was wondering if there's a way to have SMAS automatically load a particular game? In my case I'm wanting SMAS to just offer Super Mario Bros. Basically I want it to skip all the menu stuff and just go straight into a particular game.
I've tried it myself, but ended up causing the game to load a black screen and play music I didn't even know was on the ROM..

Many thanks.

zstandig

• View Profile
Re: SMAS: Auto load of specific game
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2018, 03:39:33 pm »
It's a good idea.  The way we load roms off of emulators and flash carts means that games like these just add yet another menu to go through.  Space is hardly an issue, so having four copies of SMAS, one for each game would subvert the need for the in-game selection menu.

It would also mean that individual hacks could be made for each game, or we could have the SMAS+World version of SMW as a stand alone rom with it's own patches and whatnot.

I can't help you, but I support your concept  8)

zacmario

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2018, 09:31:42 am »
There is a SMAS forum at smw central. Within that fourum you can find a rom map for smas.

poltergasm

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2018, 10:19:58 am »
There is a SMAS forum at smw central. Within that fourum you can find a rom map for smas.
Heya. Yep I've seen that one. Unfortunately, like I said, I'm new to rom hacking. I can make very basic edits, but trying to load a particular scene is something I'm not really comfortable with. Just looking for a point in the right direction really.

dACE

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2018, 04:07:47 pm »
Good Luck!

/dACE