News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: Removing everything but the backgrounds  (Read 491 times)

Egon

• View Profile
Removing everything but the backgrounds
« on: February 25, 2018, 04:12:53 pm »
Hi.

I'm totally new to this, I would like to try learn a bit about romhacking and as something of a, I guess, art project I'd like to remove all elements from a racing game except the backgrounds. I know this should be possible as I was inspired by an artist called Corey Archagel who did exactly that with SMB http://www.coryarcangel.com/things-i-made/2002-001-super-mario-clouds

I've read through the info on the site, but before I dive into it I wanted to ask how you would recommend going about it? Is it something I'd be able to do with a Graphics Hacking program or is there a better way?

thanks in advance.  :thumbsup:
Egon

Jorpho

• The cat screams with the voice of a man.
    • View Profile
Re: Removing everything but the backgrounds
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2018, 08:43:46 pm »
Is there some reason you're being shy about naming the specific racing game..?

If this is a SNES game, then some emulators have the ability to selectively disable different "layers" and it would be trivial to get rid of everything but the background.
This depresses me. I feel like a goldfish right now...

Egon

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2018, 01:40:41 pm »
Only reason being I haven't decided on which one yet. At the moment the short list is Top Gear 2 & Street Racer. I'm trying to find games with the more interesting backgrounds / visual effects and focusing on the 16-bit era. (any other suggestions would also be welcome).

Would the emulators with that function be ZSNES and SNES9X ? Or are there others capable of it now?

I found this helpful page (in case anybody else is interested) http://www.bghq.com/tutorials/ripbgszsnes.html

FAST6191

• View Profile