News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes  (Read 224970 times)

etiel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #680 on: March 20, 2018, 11:34:31 am »
Top Racer (Japan, 0000 pid, clean rom) -- flickering horizon
https://www.sendspace.com/file/9dwesh

Lost Vikings 2 (USA, 0000 pid, clean rom) --- aio debuggers (runs, c8, black)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/00z9bi

- Top Racer: horizon flicker has been fixed
- Lost Vikings 2: all debuggers work! So, which one should I keep?

---------------------------------
Also, the game Troddlers (USA) is not on the list. From the big list: "Sound is glitchy, especially the percussion samples."

I just tested it and yes, the music is a bit distorted.

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #681 on: March 20, 2018, 12:32:08 pm »
Thanks as always. I'd say keep aio debug1, since closest to original. Something about cleaning echo buffer is crashing Canoe audio. Don't see what trips on; maybe sometime later since could be useful for remaining C8 games.


Jurassic Park. Could be ... huh. Maybe not hikachi detecting rom correctly? It's 3MB LoROM so unusual sized. #2 should've clean booted.

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #682 on: March 20, 2018, 01:15:43 pm »
Just gave Jurassic Park a try.
Unfortunately the screen stays black with both PIDs.
Just for clarifiction, in HakchiCE we put in 10A2/10A4 and not the other way round right?

No, all hakchis are backwards IDs, so A210. If you use SFROM Tool (standalone or through hakchi CE), then it's the correct way 10A2.

Jurassic Park. Could be ... huh. Maybe not hikachi detecting rom correctly? It's 3MB LoROM so unusual sized. #2 should've clean booted.

If the IDs were entered incorrectly, then that's why he got black screens. Let's wait for a re-test.

Fire-WSP

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #683 on: March 20, 2018, 03:31:15 pm »
I used SFROM Tool so 10A2
But I also did the other way around to be sure. Then the game started but it was like pid 0000.
No pixel errors but no transparency.

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #684 on: March 20, 2018, 03:39:06 pm »
I used SFROM Tool so 10A2
But I also did the other way around to be sure. Then the game started but it was like pid 0000.
No pixel errors but no transparency.

If you first build it with SFROM Tool, and then add it to hakchi as a regular game, the ID could get changed and it screws it up (at least I've read of that happening to people, might have been fixed since then). So, it's best to add the patched .smc/.sfc rom to hakchi directly when testing and add the ID by pressing CTRL+ALT+E.

Also, doing it that way, you risk SFROM Tool automatically patching the games with some of those patches on the paches folder that could interfere with the testing process since Sluffy needs the roms to be completely clean.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2018, 03:54:34 pm by reyvgm »

Bosco82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #685 on: March 20, 2018, 03:55:32 pm »
Um you have it backwards adding the rom and putting in the ID by using CTRL+ALT+E screws up the sfrom, its better to add the sfrom directly to hakchi

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #686 on: March 20, 2018, 04:04:52 pm »
Um you have it backwards adding the rom and putting in the ID by using CTRL+ALT+E screws up the sfrom, its better to add the sfrom directly to hakchi

In Hakchi CE maybe, but not in Hakchi2 (still on 2.21f version). Haven't used CE, so I don't know how it works. (I'm talking specifically about the IDs here. I know hakchi2 doesn't build 'perfect' roms.)

There's no point in building a rom with SFROM Tool when you are testing these patches. Just patch the game with LunarIPS, drop in whatever hakchi you use, add the ID and test. SFROM Tool is to build 'perfect' roms as Nintendo themselves would have made them for the VC. For the purpose of testing, you just need a vanilla clean rom.

But anyways, if doing it that way has worked fine for everyone so far, then carry on. However, when test-patching, if you encounter some strange non-reported behavior, try patching a clean vanilla rom and adding it directly to hakchi just in case.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2018, 04:20:58 pm by reyvgm »

Bosco82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #687 on: March 20, 2018, 04:21:22 pm »
In Hakchi 2.21f it just adds the sfrom and compresses it, it only messes it up if you then use CTRL+ALT+E on the rom otherwise it doesn't touch it

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #688 on: March 20, 2018, 04:28:54 pm »
In Hakchi 2.21f it just adds the sfrom and compresses it, it only messes it up if you then use CTRL+ALT+E on the rom otherwise it doesn't touch it

Ok.

Still, since testing sometimes requires people to be trying different IDs, it's still best to add the rom directly to hakchi and let hakchi build the sfrom itself, that way you can change IDs there without screwing anything up or using another tool.

Once the game is fixed by sluffy's patches, then people can use the SFROM Tool to build the perfect roms.

etiel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #689 on: March 20, 2018, 06:45:51 pm »
Jurassic Park (rev1, USA, 10A2/10A4 pid, clean rom) -- sprite test
https://www.sendspace.com/file/lqn869

Run around with Grant and see if junk pixels go away.

Can confirm that Jurassic Park rev1 with this patch (test2) and any id other than 0000 will result in a black screen.

I'm confused, so there are two different JP patches? what is the sram patch for?

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #690 on: March 20, 2018, 06:50:25 pm »
Can confirm that Jurassic Park rev1 with this patch (test2) and any id other than 0000 will result in a black screen.

I'm confused, so there are two different JP patches? what is the sram patch for?

Two different tests. Sluffy wants the sram to see what changes I guess.

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #691 on: March 20, 2018, 08:35:49 pm »
Mystic Ark (Japan, 0000 pid, whatever rom) --- cutscene 1, waking giant
https://www.sendspace.com/file/2w58fg

Short answer: hook game carefully and send my own tilemap. Lucky vram fits just enough to add 2 more tilemaps.



JP Rev1:
test1 = dump sram to see if pid 10A2/10A4 changed anything
test2 = 3MB LoROM with pid 10A2/10A4 to test graphics fix


test2a = 4MB LoROM with pid 10A2/10A4 to test graphics fix (modify header)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/lacjqx

There's no room to refit graphics into 2MB so must expand.

Bosco82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #692 on: March 20, 2018, 09:13:43 pm »
Mystic Ark shows the background now ,now when booting the game, going from building to building, is really slow now like the game loads.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2018, 09:21:35 pm by Bosco82 »

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #693 on: March 20, 2018, 09:26:04 pm »
Try this for mystic ark slowdown  (0000 pid, japan, yada)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/6uuv6u

etiel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #694 on: March 20, 2018, 09:27:59 pm »
JP Rev1:
test1 = dump sram to see if pid 10A2/10A4 changed anything
test2 = 3MB LoROM with pid 10A2/10A4 to test graphics fix

test2a = 4MB LoROM with pid 10A2/10A4 to test graphics fix (modify header)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/lacjqx

There's no room to refit graphics into 2MB so must expand.

Jurassic Park test1 with pid A210 = boots but the sprite has the same error.
pid A410 = same as A210

test 2a:
pid A210 or A410 = black screen

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #695 on: March 20, 2018, 09:34:08 pm »
JP1 test1 = please dump sram after game boots. Compare 10A2 vs 10A4. If first two bytes is not 0000, upload file.


Not understanding why test2(a) won't boot. test1 = 3MB LoROM also.

Bosco82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #696 on: March 20, 2018, 09:37:08 pm »
That seems to have fixed the slowdown in Mystic Ark, looks good now.

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1158
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #697 on: March 20, 2018, 09:59:40 pm »
Ok now that the Mystic Ark cutscene has be been fixed, I'll play the game to reach the 2nd cutscene. Will provide a save so people can test.


Try this for mystic ark slowdown  (0000 pid, japan, yada)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/6uuv6u

People have to use this patch plus the previous one, or does this patch have all the fixes?

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #698 on: March 20, 2018, 10:17:04 pm »
Has all Mystic Ark fixes. Have to tweak each cutscene - it'll look mini sized


Tin Star (USA, 0000 pid, clean rom) -- cutscenes
https://www.sendspace.com/file/mvo5j0

Bosco82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
Re: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes
« Reply #699 on: March 20, 2018, 10:32:35 pm »
The background in the first 4 cut-scenes work. I think were good here unless someone else finds an issue.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2018, 10:49:21 pm by Bosco82 »