News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: Snes emulators (Canoe, Snes9x) -- game problems and fixes  (Read 144104 times)

therourke

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #320 on: March 05, 2018, 05:56:07 pm »
Gun Hazard saves
https://www.sendspace.com/file/05u8ao

Give me sram or die. Nice or mean version.
I didn't have luck with japan2 patch. My GH saves disappeared on load. Still only patch that has had an effect is wake2.

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #321 on: March 05, 2018, 06:03:02 pm »
Gaia Europe (all)
https://www.sendspace.com/file/ldfk7m

Looks good, that works for now!


Oof! ASP. Wowzie. Without any hires or 512-wide mode, that's awful. Don't see how fixable without true hires support.


So Japan1 + Japan2 fails (in that same pack). That's truly amazing I got it working at all. Okay. Retry later.


news1:
Sorry folks. Truly shocked at how much of a fight Gun Hazard put up solely on Canoe side.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/16ic2h


This will run wake2 $4000 times. If it doesn't see sram, it will boot normal. Note that I'm not allowed to write sram -- this caused a "reset" and throws away your data. So blindly read 16384 * 256 banks and hope Canoe finally decides to load your data.

It's 125% pure luck we got this far at all. And if this fails, raise limit to $8000 or $ffff. Take longer to boot 1st time only but whatever works. Or if it needs more than that, I'll give you it. Wake2 is set to infinite time. :o

And thanks for your patience. On your end and mine. :)
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 06:40:53 pm by sluffy »

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #322 on: March 05, 2018, 06:43:12 pm »
Little Magic patch test from Demi:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYH_yGyebxs

Info update for Nangoku Shounen Papuwa-kun: Original japanese game goes to a black screen after the 3rd boss, but the translation patch doesn't go black after the 3rd boss.

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #323 on: March 05, 2018, 06:56:05 pm »
Little Magic -- uses mode 4. bg3 = 65535. Sounds like OPT. Could match video possibly. Going to work on this priority.


Nangoku -- now that's peculiar! Nice info. 3rd boss meaning stage 1-3? Maybe it's a "bad" bank that translation remapped. Look into this also.


Received another PM about Canoe donation. Can't receive/get one. Ofc I'd love to have one. Someday maybe, when my situation changes. Not now. Uh-uh. Nope. Not happening.

This is best working compromise for both sides atm. As long as I stay interested in making patches, that's most I can offer. Or Nintendo makes a rev1 release.

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #324 on: March 05, 2018, 06:58:30 pm »
Little Magic -- uses mode 4. bg3 = 65535. Sounds like OPT. Could match video possibly. Going to work on this priority.


Nangoku -- now that's peculiar! Nice info. 3rd boss meaning stage 1-3? Maybe it's a "bad" bank that translation remapped. Look into this also.


Received another PM about Canoe donation. Can't receive/get one. Ofc I'd love to have one. Someday maybe, when my situation changes. Not now. Uh-uh. Nope. Not happening.

This is best working compromise for both sides atm. As long as I stay interested in making patches, that's most I can offer. Or Nintendo makes a rev1 release.

Little magic I believe it's the level 3 boss, not 1-3. If you can't have a SNESC, would you take monetary donations from the ones that want to thank you for your work so far?

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #325 on: March 05, 2018, 07:19:24 pm »
Little Magic tester
https://www.sendspace.com/file/55ahbu

Sound + OPT4

therourke

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #326 on: March 05, 2018, 07:23:03 pm »
news1:
Sorry folks. Truly shocked at how much of a fight Gun Hazard put up solely on Canoe side.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/16ic2h


This will run wake2 $4000 times. If it doesn't see sram, it will boot normal. Note that I'm not allowed to write sram -- this caused a "reset" and throws away your data. So blindly read 16384 * 256 banks and hope Canoe finally decides to load your data.
This patch seems to work, and loads my saves fine. I haven't tried this on a fresh game (without previous saves). I added the patch to the pre-patched Aeon Genesis translation of the ROM. Just to be clear.

etiel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #327 on: March 05, 2018, 09:18:39 pm »
news1:
Sorry folks. Truly shocked at how much of a fight Gun Hazard put up solely on Canoe side.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/16ic2h

This will run wake2 $4000 times. If it doesn't see sram, it will boot normal. Note that I'm not allowed to write sram -- this caused a "reset" and throws away your data. So blindly read 16384 * 256 banks and hope Canoe finally decides to load your data.

It's 125% pure luck we got this far at all. And if this fails, raise limit to $8000 or $ffff. Take longer to boot 1st time only but whatever works. Or if it needs more than that, I'll give you it. Wake2 is set to infinite time. :o

And thanks for your patience. On your end and mine. :)

Gun Hazard works without any previous saves!!, tested on both japanese and translated roms. Amazing stuff.

Little Magic tester
https://www.sendspace.com/file/55ahbu

Sound + OPT4

Sound seems ok, you can see the sprites but no background
----------
Other:

Can confirm that Mickey no Tokyo Disneyland Daibouken works fine (using hakchi 2.21f).

Got to level 4 in Nangoku Shounen Papuwa-kun without any crashes using translated rom. Severe slowdown in some sections though, and the game is just not that good. You can't skip the dialogue which is really annoying. Moving on...

Quote
upd1: Wonder why no one caught that. Quickie test to see what affects
https://www.sendspace.com/file/uh3wl7

Illusion of Gaia: Got a black screen with this patch. Do I still need to add the canoe fix patch too?

« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 09:27:55 pm by etiel »

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #328 on: March 05, 2018, 09:45:03 pm »
Little Magic test2 -- unsure of problem, looking for Canoe mistakes. Not OPT this time.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/22h18u


Gaia = always needs slowrom patch


===1
asking confirmation vanilla Battle Racers (J) using Mario Kart ID doesn't boot. Or shows red dots.

then try this:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/0bjz3m



===2
Little Magic test3 -- alternate check
https://www.sendspace.com/file/gydkjb
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 10:04:38 pm by sluffy »

etiel

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #329 on: March 05, 2018, 10:18:31 pm »
Little Magic test2 -- unsure of problem, looking for Canoe mistakes. Not OPT this time.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/22h18u


Again, just sprites, no background. I noticed a small row of random pixels at the bottom of the screen which was not present in the last test. You can see it in snes9x.

===1
asking confirmation vanilla Battle Racers (J) using Mario Kart ID doesn't boot. Or shows red dots.

then try this:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/0bjz3m

Battle Racers with Mario Kart ID: black screen with red dots. Same thing with patch.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 10:40:38 pm by etiel »

Bosco82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #330 on: March 05, 2018, 10:51:15 pm »
I noticed the Shadowhawk prototype was on RayVGM's list, the nonhacked version of the prototype was missing the header info for the rom so it didnt work, i copied that from the hacked rom and that made the prototype work correctly. Here is a fix for it.

http://www.filefactory.com/file/zwc6sp88i0j/Shadowhawk%20%28Prototype%29%20%28Fixed%29.zip

« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 11:46:29 pm by Bosco82 »

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #331 on: March 05, 2018, 11:40:35 pm »
Little Magic test2 -- unsure of problem, looking for Canoe mistakes. Not OPT this time.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/22h18u


Gaia = always needs slowrom patch


===1
asking confirmation vanilla Battle Racers (J) using Mario Kart ID doesn't boot. Or shows red dots.

then try this:
https://www.sendspace.com/file/0bjz3m



===2
Little Magic test3 -- alternate check
https://www.sendspace.com/file/gydkjb

Demi says Little Magic test 3 shows no changes from previous patch.

sluffy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #332 on: March 05, 2018, 11:47:16 pm »
Crap. That's a weird game. BG1 missing but BG2 okay.

Are there other DSP-1 ids besides Mario Kart? Or does that generally work for all of them?

reyvgm

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1138
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #333 on: March 05, 2018, 11:49:39 pm »
Pilotwings also has an ID.

Bosco82

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile

FormerTree

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #335 on: March 06, 2018, 03:14:14 am »
Here's a fix for Super 3D Noah's Ark

http://www.filefactory.com/file/q3r92hxhq6p/Super%203D%20Noah%5C%27s%20Ark%20%28USA%29%20%28Unl%29%20%28Fixed%29.zip

I don't own a copy of the game to be able to test, but this patch appears to simply write the text SUPER 3D NOAH'S ARK to the rom; that's sufficient to fix the ROM? What was the actual error?

pimpinelephant

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #336 on: March 06, 2018, 04:00:46 am »
Something I observed while quickly looking at this list is that we currently have games that are working on canoe without any preset ID or patches, even though they run "special chip". This takes away the "issue" that "pimpinelephant" stated about games running special chips need patches/preset ID's. For an example, the game "Lock-On" uses the "DSP1" chip, and according to the two main compatibility lists this game works fine on Canoe without any patches or Preset ID:s. Sorry if this is way off-topic. I learnt something new, maybe someone else did as well.

These special chips are pretty interesting in that they each are designed with specific purposes in mind, except for the SA-1 chip. That chip was basically the SNES console's internal CPU except on steroids (probably why it was called the Super Accelerator). It was even capable of taking priority over the SNES console's CPU!

Anyways, I'm not exactly sure how Nintendo decided to do everything when it comes to Canoe, but at the very least, we know this: Preset IDs enable/disable various features in order to cater to its corresponding game. It's best to think of Preset IDs like a light switch in that features are either "flipped" on or off, take for example Kirby's Dream Land 3's official Preset ID of 10A2, its SRAM "light switch" was flipped off by Nintendo. This same concept applies with various other features, such as chipsets, modes 5/6 (high resolution), etc.
Preset ID 0000 is essentially a "default" Preset ID in that basically, every feature's "light switch" is flipped off (except for SRAM).

Preset IDs also do some other things that are not fully clear as of this moment (most likely insertion of new bits of code into RAM). This is why some games can have a bug (not related to on/off features) appear with one Preset ID but not with another Preset ID.

Preset IDs can be pretty complicated, and even I don't fully grasp them (not even close), but at the very least, this should be a good starting point into the understanding of the enigma known as Preset IDs.

One thing to note is that, for the most part, Preset IDs for different regions but the same game can be considered identical. This is obviously not always the case, as some games had vast differences between them when they were released in a different region. Having said that, it's always best to use the Preset ID with the same region's game.

I went ahead and tested Lock On.
Preset ID 0000 = No boot, C7 error.
Preset ID 10BD (Super Mario Kart) = Booted up and played normally.

Are there other DSP-1 ids besides Mario Kart? Or does that generally work for all of them?

As reyvgm previously stated, I believe there are currently two known DSP-1 games with official Preset IDs, Super Mario Kart and Pilotwings.

Oh. Forgot. Does Pilotwings plane demo (#4) crash early? Or does Canoe auto-cheat this one? Because Ballz 3D says working.

I went ahead and did some testing with Pilotwings, and I found some rather interesting discoveries.

First, the lists describe "sound issues" when used with the Super Mario Kart ID. It actually took me a while to figure out where these sound issues were occurring since it sounded perfectly fine to me. The issue occurs when pressing Start during the middle of gameplay (pausing the game) because when you unpause the game, ambient sounds become muted (engine noise, wind noise, etc.).

Using the official Preset ID fixes this issue (ambient sounds continue after unpausing), but introduces a completely new bug. Reyvgm's list already describes it better than I ever could.

The next thing I tested was with the Demos that play out when sitting idle at the splash screen. I tested Pilotwings with different DSP-1 BIOSes via Higan. I used the exact same ROM and only switched the DSP-1 BIOS.
Pilotwings with dsp1.rom = The plane in the demo landed successfully.
Pilotwings with dsp1b.rom = The plane in the demo crashes before reaching the runway.

Are the demo characters being controlled in real-time by the DSP chips? If so, that's actually kind of impressive!
Anyways, continuing on! I then tested Pilotwings on the Classic to see which DSP-1 BIOS is being emulated by Canoe. With both Pilotwings' ID as well as Super Mario Kart's ID, the plane in the demo landed successfully. This would mean that Canoe is emulating DSP-1, and not DSP-1B. It's not too big of a deal since there isn't really much of a difference between the two, but the 1B revision contains several bug fixes, so it just makes me ask the question, "Nintendo, why not just use DSP-1B?" :laugh:

EDIT:

I just tested via Higan to see if Ballz 3D works with the DSP-1 BIOS, and it does indeed work. I used dsp1.rom with Ballz 3D, and it appeared to run pretty fine.
I've never played or even heard of this game, so I have no idea what differences there are between using DSP-1 and DSP-1B. This is probably one of the strangest games I have ever played.

EDIT2:

I don't own a copy of the game to be able to test, but this patch appears to simply write the text SUPER 3D NOAH'S ARK to the rom; that's sufficient to fix the ROM? What was the actual error?

Apparently this game was an unlicensed game. The cartridge header is all null (00), and the header is used by the SNES/emulator to know various information about the ROM in order to run it correctly. The patch adds values to the byte for ROM makeup (HiROM, LoROM, FastROM, SlowROM, etc.) as well as ROM size. The chipset value as well as SRAM size and Country (NTSC, PAL) were already fine at their current values.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2018, 06:19:23 am by pimpinelephant »

JackMonty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #337 on: March 06, 2018, 04:55:17 am »
Hi Robin64,

Thanks for updating your custom patches pack and adding a PAL to NTSC fix for Theme Park.

I was wondering the next time you update your patch pack could you please add a PAL to NTSC auto fix patch for Super Bomberman 3? Also the game seems to be missing on your compatibility list under the EUR releases tab.

Thanks

therourke

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #338 on: March 06, 2018, 07:38:56 am »
news1:
Sorry folks. Truly shocked at how much of a fight Gun Hazard put up solely on Canoe side.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/16ic2h


This will run wake2 $4000 times. If it doesn't see sram, it will boot normal. Note that I'm not allowed to write sram -- this caused a "reset" and throws away your data. So blindly read 16384 * 256 banks and hope Canoe finally decides to load your data.
re. Gun Hazard... I deleted my saves and just started a brand new game with this Wake2 patch and the game loaded fine. Played to the end of level 1 and saved the game. Exited and restarted, the save is there. So all is fixed!!!

Thanks Sluffy!! Amazing work.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2018, 07:47:42 am by therourke »

lich

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: Canoe official snes emulator -- problems and fixes
« Reply #339 on: March 06, 2018, 07:53:00 am »
Okay so I've noticed some users been able to get some games to work with special preset ID's (Lock-on), Gun Hazard - Front Mission, and someone even got the Super Noahs Ark game to work? Can someone confirm?

Before the thread gets all messy and the games get forgotten we need the "compatibility guys" and testers too see if these games really work so we can add them to the list.

By the way, the two main compatibility lists stated that "Lock-On" was working when in fact it isn't, apparently this games needs the supar mario kart preset id. Why is this game even stated as working when it apparently gave the user a c7/black screen.

Anyways, glad we're moving forward!


****UPDATE****

Can confirm that sluffys latest "Front Mission Series: Gun Hazard" patch works, it finally saves the internal save-state, great work. It even worked by first patching a no-intro rom with the english translation before applying sluffys patch.

"Super 3D Noah's Ark" is also working with a patch that some user just made. Great work everyone!

Patches to these two games:

Gun Hazard:

Sluffy patch: https://www.sendspace.com/file/16ic2h
Aenon Genesis translation: https://www.romhacking.net/translations/528/

Super 3D Noah's Ark:

http://www.filefactory.com/file/q3r92hxhq6p/Super%203D%20Noah%5C%27s%20Ark%20%28USA%29%20%28Unl%29%20%28Fixed%29.zip


****UPDATE2****


Can also confirm that:

"Lock-On" works when applying "10BD" as Preset ID

The prototype game "Shadowhawk" also works with this patch (thx Bosco) applied to the non-hacked aka original version of this game.
Here's the patch: http://www.filefactory.com/file/zwc6sp88i0j/Shadowhawk%20%28Prototype%29%20%28Fixed%29.zip

The unmodified original version of this game with the hacked one included can be downloaded on the SNES Central homepage.
Google search (top result): https://goo.gl/sTke63


****UPDATE3****

"Battle Racers" also showed a black screen with red dots while applying sluffys patch but with a different preset id (10BA) that is normally used for DSP1-games like Pilotwings


« Last Edit: March 06, 2018, 09:27:42 am by lich »