News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Question about graphical pointers  (Read 1134 times)

Chicken Knife

• View Profile
Question about graphical pointers
« on: September 08, 2018, 04:14:49 pm »
I'm a newbie to romhacking and recently took on the project of restoring all the Japanese sprites in the NES Dragon Quest games back into the US versions.

My stumbling block is that in several cases, the US rom's pointers are accessing mirror images of tiles that make it impossible to reproduce sprites the way that I want.

Can anyone point me to resources I can use to learn how to locate these pointers and redirect them to different tiles? I've tried googling and searching youtube but haven't found any newbie friendly help for this.

nesrocks

• View Profile
    • nesrocks.com
Re: Question about graphical pointers
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2018, 06:32:05 pm »
I'm not sure there will be any guide like this other than learning assembly and the emulator's debugger (both tasks are surprisingly rewarding and not difficult!). Someone may correct me though, there may be specific tutorials for pointers. Maybe one of these? http://www.romhacking.net/?page=documents&category=&platform=&game=&author=&perpage=20&level=&title=&desc=pointer&docsearch=Go
Also, you're using either fceux or mesen, correct? Those have the best debuggers.

Chicken Knife

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2018, 08:58:05 am »
@nesrocks,

Thank you for pointing me to those faqs. I'll be referencing them!

And yes, I am using FCEUX. Seems like it provides a lot of tools that will be helpful when I learn how to use them.

Psyklax

• View Profile
    • Psyklax Translations
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2018, 04:03:37 pm »
There's a reason we call it "reverse engineering": you start with what you can see and work backwards.