News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: SMB1 new blocks?  (Read 527 times)

AtanoKSi

• Musician, Bootleg collector and romhacker
    • View Profile
    • Join my Tomba! (Tombi!) discord server!
SMB1 new blocks?
« on: January 03, 2018, 10:01:56 am »
Hi everyone!
I'm new on this forum but I've been reading a lot of topics. (which I found very useful)
Searched on the forum to see if this has been asked before but never found anything about it.

So, I'm a musician, but in my free time I like to play retro games, and lately (2017 beginning) I started my own smb1 romhack just for fun. (I have the plan to put it on a cartridge when I finish to play it on my nes)
At this time I have almost every sprite changed to my own design, almost every song changed to songs I've composed (That was hard to do since i know NOTHING about programming and it was the first time I heard about hex edit lol), and now I'm stuck at the level designs:

I use Smbutil, did some levels easily, but I have the idea of making a level without floor and using the unused vertical balls you can climb, but there's a problem, you can't move them up or down, just L-R and change size.

I've seen a romhack called "Hard Relay Mario" (I think is made by Mana and other people) that replaced a block with a cloud that you can climb exactly like the vertical balls (and they are totally available to move them up-down)
Is there any way to use that blocks from that romhack for using them in mine?
I suppose that if I knew where in the hex code they are and copy that part would be easy, but I know nothing about that...

(And I hope it is okay, I'm not trying to steal that romhackers work, I just don't know how to create them for myself)

Well, sorry if this is too long, I try to give the more info I can wishing somebody can help me. :)
笑i like bootlegs and stuff笑

Join my Tomba! (Tombi!) discord server!
https://discord.gg/A4ZpY74