News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: Super Mario Bros: All-Star Levels (Game breaking glitch in most emus)  (Read 467 times)

firedropdl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
I was wondering if anybody knows why this game doesn't play in most emulators: https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/1518/

I thought it was a glitch in the patch itself, but I finally got around to testing the "Super Mario Bros. (W) [!].nes" patched rom on the RetroPie and it does work, but only with the lr-fceumm emulator.  It doesn't work with lr-quicknes or lr-nestopia.  It also doesn't work with NestopiaX or MednafenX on the XBox either.

Everything seems fine when you start playing it but whenever you hit a question block with a mushroom in it the game will either totally freeze or reset, depending on the emulator used.  Maybe it has something to do with the SMW3 mushroom sprite being used? 

LOL.. I didn't know until 2 minutes before writing this what the mushroom looked like.  I didn't think I'd ever see it in this hack.  :)

Mari42

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Super Mario Bros: All-Star Levels (Game breaking glitch in most emus)
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2018, 02:57:59 pm »
Are you sure you patches the right original (UE) Prg0 clean rom?

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6298
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Super Mario Bros: All-Star Levels (Game breaking glitch in most emus)
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2018, 08:25:59 pm »
"(UE)"?
Aren't the two versions of Super Mario Bros. NTSC (Japan/US) and PAL? With some revisions?

Yes, that would be the NTSC PRG0 ROM.
Quote
Sir Howard Stringer, chief executive of Sony, on Christmas sales of the PS3:
"It's a little fortuitous that the Wii is running out of hardware."

firedropdl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Super Mario Bros: All-Star Levels (Game breaking glitch in most emus)
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2018, 08:33:20 am »
I literally patched every single GoodNES 3.23b version of the rom and it has the same problems.  Only one emulator on the RetroPie will play it, and neither emulator on the XBox will play it.

I have been in contact with somebody about an XML fix to NestopiaX on the XBox that gets it working though.  I have to see how that pans out.


The rom I'm currently sticking with is the one from the patch page.

Quote
    Super Mario Bros. (W) [!].nes - GOODNES 3.14
    CRC32: 3337EC46
    MD5: 811B027EAF99C2DEF7B933C5208636DE
    SHA-1: EA343F4E445A9050D4B4FBAC2C77D0693B1D0922
    SHA-256: F61548FDF1670CFFEFCC4F0B7BDCDD9EABA0C226E3B74F8666071496988248DE

(It's the same CRC as the same file name in GoodNES 3.23b)

edale

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Super Mario Bros: All-Star Levels (Game breaking glitch in most emus)
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2018, 09:35:10 pm »
@firedropdl PM sent.

firedropdl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Super Mario Bros: All-Star Levels (Game breaking glitch in most emus)
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2018, 07:45:30 am »
You sure?  I don't have one?

EDIT:  Nevermind.  It went to my email instead for some reason? 

Thanks :)