News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: Releasing an EP on an N64 Cartridge?  (Read 289 times)

teddybreihan

• View Profile
Releasing an EP on an N64 Cartridge?
« on: December 31, 2017, 12:40:13 pm »
Hello chaps!

I am brand spanking new to this board, so I’m probably coming off as a total bozo right now. I did look through posting/discussion rules and the Introductory section of the forum, and I’ve decided getting straight to the topic was the best route for me. Please forgive me if my hastiness is unwelcome.

Anyways, enough disclaimer, I’m gonna get into it. I’m a musician, and was mildly intoxicated last night, and had this really dumb but kind of hilarious idea. I want to try to release an EP exclusively on a bunch of N64 cartridges.

I am about as unknowledgable with RomHacking as a person can get, but I figure this kind of thing would involve somehow overwriting all the original data from the cartridge and then replacing it with my own file that would be specifically dedicated to manipulating the midi folders on the cartridge?

Again, I really have no idea what I’m talking about, and so I am seeking any kind of input or advice that anyone here may be able to bring to the table. This idea might be a completely unattainable pipe dream, but I figure just the investigation/attempt alone could be interesting and fun.

Thanks for sticking around to absorb my long-winded rambling! And again, I apologize for my excessive newbie-ness. Happy New Year!

- Teddy

FAST6191

• View Profile
Re: Releasing an EP on an N64 Cartridge?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2018, 04:23:24 am »
ROM hacking to make yourself a new game is generally considered a backwards way of setting about things, ROM hacking to do this... probably even more so.

One tends not to overwrite cartridges, the Read Only Memory part of ROM speaking to that one.