News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: Some Dumb 6502 Assembly Questions  (Read 1117 times)

Bob789

• View Profile
Some Dumb 6502 Assembly Questions
« on: October 02, 2017, 04:34:23 pm »
Hello,

I just started learning 6502 Assembly and I would like to ask a few dumb questions.

1. What does the .hex instruction do? I've been looking over the source code for the original Legend of Zelda on the NES and it uses this command quite often. Is it similar to the .byte instruction?

2. Can someone explain the BRK(break) command to me? All the documentation I've looked at does not explain it well.

3. I'm having a bit of trouble understanding Zero Page Indirect Indexed with Y. Ex. (ZeroPageAddress), Y

I will update this post as I continue to learn and my IQ gets lower.

Psyklax

• View Profile
    • Psyklax Translations
Re: Some Dumb 6502 Assembly Questions
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2017, 06:05:03 pm »
1. .hex? .byte? I don't understand any of that. Are you sure they're instructions?
2. BRK usually stops the program, in my experience. Try putting it in a game in place of a regular instruction and see what happens. :)
3. It just means that the program looks at a 16-bit address at that location in zero page, then adds whatever is in Y to what it finds there. So let's say Y has $08 and address $C0 and $C1 have $75 and $B3 respectively. Doing LDA ($C0),Y (or 'B1 C0' in the code) will first go to $C0 and find $B375 (because it's little-endian, ie the less significant byte goes first), then adds Y to what's at $B375 (let's say $24), and loads it into the Accumulator. Now we have $2C in the Accumulator ($24 + $08).

Bob789

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2017, 06:25:59 pm »
.hex? .byte? I don't understand any of that. Are you sure they're instructions?

My bad, they're directives. Sorry 'bout that.
I'm not too sure what they are, but here are some examples: