News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: Otake - PC Engine emulator  (Read 957 times)

ulieq

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Otake - PC Engine emulator
« on: August 11, 2017, 07:55:46 pm »
Anyone here keeping up with Otake emulator for the pc engine/tg16?  There has been quite a few updates this year.  The man is on a role!  His latest update on 8/5 says he started a new twitter and is asking for defect reports to help him improve Otake!

From his latest readme for 8/5 update
""
 + I began Twitter. (Japanese language & a little English language)
    http://twitter.com/kitao_n
  * The happiness of the game is the world human race commonness. It longs for
    peace.
  * I think that it cannot do improvement & correction of the above-mentioned
    if there are many neither operation report nor defect report. Thank you
    really for you who reported.
""

Corvo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2017, 09:46:41 pm »
Thanks for the heads-up. I'll keep an eye on this.

Chronosplit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 839
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2017, 10:08:48 pm »
I used to use this, but I haven't really looked at it since I've been using OpenEmu/RetroArch lately (those use Mednafen for TG16).  It's always been a pretty good emu though!

SunGodPortal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2922
  • 2 + 2 = 5
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2017, 11:27:36 pm »
I've been using a cracked copy of Magic Engine. If this emu runs smooth and can negate the need to actually burn CD based games then I'm in.
War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength.

maseter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2017, 09:34:02 am »
I've been using a cracked copy of Magic Engine. If this emu runs smooth and can negate the need to actually burn CD based games then I'm in.

You can mount iso images directly (instead of burning them) with tools such as WinCDEmu.

Just be sure to set the correct cdrom drive letter in pce.ini under the [cdrom] section!

SunGodPortal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2922
  • 2 + 2 = 5
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2017, 05:48:50 pm »
You can mount iso images directly (instead of burning them) with tools such as WinCDEmu.

Just be sure to set the correct cdrom drive letter in pce.ini under the [cdrom] section!

Awesome. This should be a big help. I don't really burn discs anymore unless it's for backup and would rather not put any extra wear and tear on my 7 year old optical drive.
War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength.

tvtoon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2017, 10:33:37 am »
You are wasting your time with Magic Engine, SGP. Ootake can load BIN+CUE directly, even do some tweaks to load stuff faster. While the UI is a bloody mess and the "easy" start doesn't help at all, everything else can be canned once you setup stuff.

Ootake is the future, let's make a better future happyful for the human race! :D

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6128
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2017, 12:32:51 pm »
I remember years ago Ootake was updating seemingly nearly every day, then stopped.

So the author has started working on it again?
Quote
Sir Howard Stringer, chief executive of Sony, on Christmas sales of the PS3:
"It's a little fortuitous that the Wii is running out of hardware."

SunGodPortal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2922
  • 2 + 2 = 5
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2017, 04:28:30 pm »
While the UI is a bloody mess and the "easy" start doesn't help at all, everything else can be canned once you setup stuff.

Oh wow. You weren't kidding. The UI is absolutely abysmal and the Engrish is the icing on the cake. For the time being I've decided to stick with Magic Engine. The UI is beautiful and every game I've played on it runs smooth as silk. Mounting an iso/bin is a very minor issue now that I know how it's done. I'll keep my eye on Ootake though. If this mess gets cleaned up one day I'll give it another shot.
War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength.

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6128
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2017, 12:52:08 pm »
I don't think the UI is that bad, aside from the giant load screen forcing you to load a game immediately.
Mednafen is supposedly also good, if you don't mind having to do everything from the command line.

While I don't like paying for emulators, I don't feel good about pirating said emulators either. So I don't think that leaves much left for PCE emulation, so I use Ootake.
Quote
Sir Howard Stringer, chief executive of Sony, on Christmas sales of the PS3:
"It's a little fortuitous that the Wii is running out of hardware."

Burnt Lasagna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2017, 02:28:29 pm »
Mednafen is supposedly also good, if you don't mind having to do everything from the command line.
Mednafen is the best. All around, it's a more accurate experience then Ootake and Magic Engine.
Also, it added PlayStation and Saturn support in recent years and those also are amazing in terms of accuracy.   

The moral, learn the command line my friends. For better emulation awaits you.

Starscream

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2017, 04:17:31 pm »
There are 3rdparty guis for Mednafen as well. I've only seen and used ones that help for configuration before launching games though. Dunno if there's a standalone gui that lets you have full functionality.
As has been mentioned, Retroarch features a TG16 core based on Mednafen.

Other alternatives are Bizhawk and MAME/MESS. Even Final Burn Alpha has limited TG16 support (no CDs).

I'd use Ootake if it weren't for the limited flexibility regarding CRT use.

SunGodPortal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2922
  • 2 + 2 = 5
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2017, 05:13:37 pm »
I don't think the UI is that bad, aside from the giant load screen forcing you to load a game immediately.

Perhaps my initial snap judgement was a bit harsh. I might give it another chance tonight.

Quote
While I don't like paying for emulators, I don't feel good about pirating said emulators either.

For me, there are certain things I'm willing to pay for and other things I'm not. I'm not willing to pay for used 20-30 year old software or the additional programs necessary to make unauthorized use of said software.

Mednafen is the best. All around, it's a more accurate experience then Ootake and Magic Engine.

And if I remember correctly it's one of the only ways to play PC-FX games which I am interested to try.

I'd use Ootake if it weren't for the limited flexibility regarding CRT use.

Hmm. Would you care to expand on this? I'm curious because I have an external VGA to composite/s-video/etc. converter on the way so I can play these games on one of my old CRT TVs.
War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength.

Starscream

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2017, 07:06:49 pm »
Quote

Hmm. Would you care to expand on this? I'm curious because I have an external VGA to composite/s-video/etc. converter on the way so I can play these games on one of my old CRT TVs.

It depends on the setup . For a standard VGA converter it shouldn't matter because the converter will happily accept the VGA signal and output as 480i to a TV.

I found that newer versions of Ootake couldn't switch to genuine 240p though, I had to go back to older ones (it works around 2.04).

However, the graphics card in my laptop is one of those that cannot output low resolutions like e.g. 256x240. The solution to this to simply increase the width (e.g. you can double to 512x240), and then the emulator stretches it appropriately.
Problem is, I couldn't find such a stretching option in Ootake, meaning it left me with a picture that's tall, but not wide enough.


SunGodPortal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2922
  • 2 + 2 = 5
    • View Profile
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2017, 07:42:00 pm »
It depends on the setup . For a standard VGA converter it shouldn't matter because the converter will happily accept the VGA signal and output as 480i to a TV.

Good deal.

However, the graphics card in my laptop is one of those that cannot output low resolutions like e.g. 256x240.

Ah. Graphics card woes. The desktop that I'm currently turning into a TV-based emulation station is 7 years old so when I decided to buy some stuff to hook it up to my CRTs I first went the graphics card route (compatible parts for a Compaq PC of this age are dirt cheap).

I assumed that an external converter would be expensive so initially I didn't even consider it. Looking back I think I was confusing what I needed with the sort of upscaler or whatever it's called that people need to hook old stuff to HD TVs. Turns out I ordered what I actually needed the other day for about 10 bucks. I wasted about $30 on old graphics cards that never quite got me what I wanted which was to be able to hook to a CRT using s-video, composite or component so I could use any of my old TVs, not just the one with s-video which is actually my least favorite TV (a weird flat screen CRT that's too heavy and has mild gaussing issues that I can't seem to fix). All of the cards I ordered seemed to imply that they were compatible with stuff like s-video to composite cables or VGA to component adapters. None of them actually were except for the one that would only work when I first hooked it up. Any attempt to enter s-video to composite mode after restart resulted in a black screen.

I'm running nearly all of these emulators in 1024x768 fullscreen mode with as few filters as possible typically with the proper aspect ratio. I chose that resolution because anything bigger than that makes navigating the menus rather difficult.

-----

But yeah, I'll give this emu another chance later tonight. I didn't mind having to mount disc images until I had about 20 games to test in succession. Then it became a pain in the ass.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2017, 07:53:59 pm by SunGodPortal »
War is Peace. Freedom is Slavery. Ignorance is Strength.

Sliver X

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1017
  • Master of Ceremonies
    • View Profile
    • Panicus - A Fragment of Memory
Re: Otake - PC Engine emulator
« Reply #15 on: August 17, 2017, 07:51:38 pm »
I've played PCE-CD games via Mendafen for over a decade. You basically don't have to touch manually editing the INI if you don't want in the 0.9.x series, so long as you put BIOS files and such in the proper subdirectories.

Mednafen has no GUI so to speak (Inputs can be set up with graphical prompts while the emulator is running, however), but it doesn't really matter if you use it with one of the bajillion frontends that exist for most operating systems. Personally I use Quickplay and Mah!Cade on my desktop's Windows/Linux installs and GameEX on my Windows-based HTPC, which looks like this.



Probably on of the nicest things about Mednafen is that you can run games as CUE/ISO/OGG rips to save a metric fuckton of space. This is how big Rondo of Blood is in said format:



I believe the original BIN/CUE dump I had was a little over 530MB?

It's not very hard to convert a PCE-CD game to this format so long as it's a good BIN/CUE dump of a game. I wouldn't mind writing a detailed description of the process here if you'd want to utilize it.