News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Chrono trigger plus  (Read 204491 times)

crudelios

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #860 on: August 29, 2019, 09:47:53 am »
After some memory editing I managed to add Ayla to the third slot and move forward. Apparently the third slot was set in memory to disabled and to Marle (even though shw was active on the second slot). So definitely something wrong there, the bug needs to be fixed.

Finally got to 1999AD, I loved the movie!!! Very good stuff.

ThegreatBen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 631
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #861 on: August 29, 2019, 02:56:35 pm »
Found the problem, it would only be see by someone with that exact party, if Frog is active it would cause him to skip over adding Marle.

Anyway that and the other bugs you posted are fixed, it has been re-uploaded and should be approved soon.


I also changed it so that Lab 64 is connected to the main continent right beside the Bangor Dome. This makes it coincide better the 1999 map and allows it to be explored at any time (on Ng+ obviously.)

Also considering making a bridge to my coliseum giving Ng+ players the option to go there much sooner.

Also wondering what people think about making 600 ad Medina one continent like it is in 1000 ad, the only reason it's like that is to stop players from accessing Ozzie's Fort, but I think that should also be available as soon as Magus' castle is beaten removing some more linearity.




andrewclunn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #862 on: August 29, 2019, 03:08:36 pm »
I like all those ideas.  Allowing more choice, and the player to get in over their head when exploring is a real plus.  The sewers were a great little sidequest and having the ability to explore like that only adds choice and options.  Though perhaps "Cult of Lavos" is a bad name for a place that can be explored prior to the player knowing what Lavos is.

August 29, 2019, 03:17:37 pm - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Also, maybe change the text on entry.  Characters can't compare a place to Magus' castle if they haven't been there yet.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2019, 03:17:37 pm by andrewclunn »

ThegreatBen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 631
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #863 on: August 29, 2019, 07:34:49 pm »
Ok it's been updated, thanks for the reports.

@Andrew definitely considered that, that's why I didnt do it right away, those things would need to be adjusted as well as adjusting what characters appear during the movie in 1999.

TheChristoph

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #864 on: August 29, 2019, 09:54:30 pm »
Wow, I’m super impressed that this project has kept chugging along. I should jump back in I! hit a wall almost exactly one year ago at the Lavos fight in the Black Omen way back in version 1.2. No matter what I did I’d get wiped by Destruction Rains from the Heavens immediately.

andrewclunn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #865 on: August 30, 2019, 01:40:38 am »
Don't have the movie open until after Magus is beaten.

ThegreatBen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 631
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #866 on: August 30, 2019, 09:40:57 am »
Wow, I’m super impressed that this project has kept chugging along. I should jump back in I! hit a wall almost exactly one year ago at the Lavos fight in the Black Omen way back in version 1.2. No matter what I did I’d get wiped by Destruction Rains from the Heavens immediately.

Well now you have the option to jump back to the Epoch after beaten the Omen.

Don't have the movie open until after Magus is beaten.

That'd work, though I'd go a little farther to when Ayla is a permanent member so I don't have to adjust her parts either.

crudelios

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #867 on: August 30, 2019, 01:13:39 pm »
A few more bugs I have found:

All new major fights (lavos spawn, lab 64 and the dinossaur) can be run away from. Upon running away, you get the reward as if you won the fight. The Medina 1999AD fights may have the same issue, I haven't checked those.

After fighting the dinossaur, you can get stuck in it and must reset to progress.

Other than that, I must say I'm impressed with the amount of stuff to do in 1999. I will definitely post a review as soon as I finish (just need to find out if I'll ever be able to ride the flying dinossaur in 1999, and then I'm off to beat Lavos).

ThegreatBen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 631
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #868 on: August 30, 2019, 01:51:52 pm »
Wow thanks for the report, I need to check but it's possible that I didnt fix the 2 party members bug completely anyway.

Not too bad though since now the Coliseum and Ozzies fort are now available earlier giving a ng+ player more options.

Riding the dactyl on the 1999 map, oh I really like that idea, though I imagine it's pretty complicated.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2019, 05:47:02 pm by ThegreatBen »

crudelios

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #869 on: August 31, 2019, 09:13:53 am »
Riding the dactyl on the 1999 map, oh I really like that idea, though I imagine it's pretty complicated.

That's an idea for v3.0 then ;)

darthvaderx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #870 on: August 31, 2019, 11:59:16 am »
Would you also have an option to reverse the auto-run? (An extra ips file?)

Mauron

  • Submission Reviewer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #871 on: August 31, 2019, 01:33:35 pm »
I can make a walk by default patch that works with the speed shoes hack later today.
Mauron wuz here.

hmsong

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #872 on: September 01, 2019, 06:01:00 am »
Does anyone know which page contains the patch file?  I would love to try this, but I'm having trouble finding the patch file.

ThegreatBen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 631
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #873 on: September 01, 2019, 08:25:35 am »
Hold out, I'm gonna post an update later today, when it's up I'll give you the link.

hmsong

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #874 on: September 01, 2019, 08:47:49 am »
Oh, thank you.

ThegreatBen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 631
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #875 on: September 01, 2019, 06:44:03 pm »
Here version 2.1 is ready.

Fixes the bug in the last village hut for certain, allows earlier access to Ozzies fort and the cult of Lavos, allows you to walk right through both Guardia forests if you chose after a certain point.

https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/3691/

hmsong

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #876 on: September 01, 2019, 06:48:46 pm »
Thank you.  I shall try as soon as I get home.

Special

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #877 on: September 01, 2019, 07:12:15 pm »
Here version 2.1 is ready.

Fixes the bug in the last village hut for certain, allows earlier access to Ozzies fort and the cult of Lavos, allows you to walk right through both Guardia forests if you chose after a certain point.

https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/3691/

The file still says 2.0, did you upload the wrong file?

ThegreatBen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 631
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #878 on: September 01, 2019, 08:15:23 pm »
No it's the right one, just forgot to rename it, good catch.

Special

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: Chrono trigger plus
« Reply #879 on: September 01, 2019, 08:45:32 pm »
Think the patch is bugged I get a black screen after renaming Chrono, last version was working fine.