News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules, Mobile Version
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia

Author Topic: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish  (Read 6194 times)

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #20 on: February 24, 2017, 02:39:23 pm »
I finished part of the intro, with colored text when the woman and the man talk.














Thanks to Hiei- for his help on the translation of the japanese text.

4ph

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #21 on: February 25, 2017, 04:58:45 am »
Great job Magno!  :thumbsup:

FlashPV

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
    • View Profile
    • Terminus Traductions
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #22 on: February 25, 2017, 05:49:50 am »

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #23 on: March 02, 2017, 04:41:33 pm »
Thank you, guys! :D

I finished translating the whole intro:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3o1yQYevLn8

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #24 on: April 05, 2017, 04:47:31 am »
More news!

I fixed a bug that occurs both in dejap's and japanese versions:



The empty slot in the inventary still prints a description message in the upper window if you move the cursor forward, but not if you move it backwards.

I fixed it so the upper window is erased in both cases:



April 10, 2017, 06:25:52 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
More changes! Now, the window showing the list of availabe magic is more better-looking, and lists each item in 2 rows and 2 columns (instead 3); it is more legible, although it implied a lot of changes in the code. Besides, the description window that appears when selecting a magic or item is now resizeable, i.e., its size changes depending of the number of text lines in the description:

« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 06:25:52 am by magno »

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #25 on: April 23, 2017, 05:33:36 am »
New fixed bug! This one occurs both in japanese and Dejap's versions: when you are in the tech sub-menu and the combo page is changed, the hand cursor points to a new tech but the description is not updated:



I made the proper changes to force the description to be updated:


magictrufflez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
    • View Profile
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #26 on: April 24, 2017, 11:19:39 am »
Replaying this right now, and I kind of wish some of this non-translation stuff could make it into the English version...

I'm a very big fan of the quality of life changes here!

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #27 on: April 24, 2017, 12:49:45 pm »
Replaying this right now, and I kind of wish some of this non-translation stuff could make it into the English version...

I'm a very big fan of the quality of life changes here!

Um... it'd be possible the other way round: inserting the english script into my tool rather than inserting my ASM changes into Dejap's version. All these changes I showed above aren't just "patches", there are some routines fully re-written instead. For example, almost all bank $CA, the one with the code for the menus, is rewritten, re-ordered and optimized to change the menu's layout and some cursor behaviour.

magictrufflez

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
    • View Profile
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #28 on: April 24, 2017, 04:11:15 pm »
That's kind of what I figured---I hope an enterprising someone with more hacking skills than me (a very low bar) feels the same way after you're finished!

But it no one does....maybe I can figure out how to make my (extremely) low-level Spanish work to play your hack!

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #29 on: May 10, 2017, 05:07:06 am »
That's kind of what I figured---I hope an enterprising someone with more hacking skills than me (a very low bar) feels the same way after you're finished!

But it no one does....maybe I can figure out how to make my (extremely) low-level Spanish work to play your hack!

I'd do myself the insertion of Dejap's script into the spanish version if I wouldn't fell as if I would be desecrating Dejap's work. Besides, it's not likely people will be interested on those aesthetic changes.

Anyway, more bug fixes, now related to skill messages: after learning or leveling-up some skill, you press 'A' button but the description message won't dissapear:



This won't happen in the spanish vesion:


magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #30 on: May 19, 2017, 03:24:27 pm »
I've found a weird scene change in a cut-scene near the ending... Maybe is it a bug?? Or another scene was intended to be played instead that of Ronixis going down the mechanical stairs?

You can see the video below, in the spoiler:


magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #31 on: September 01, 2017, 02:13:51 pm »
I keep working on Star Ocean although is fully translated and playable. I dumped all and any LZ and S-DD1 data chunks, all sprite tileset and every palette from bank $CD to $FF. I also made a full rommap for all those banks: executable code is in banks $C0 to $CC, data, graphics, palettes and so on is in banks $CD to $FF and some LZ data, few S-DD1 data chunks and all music, voices and effects are from $40 to $5F in the ROM file (usually mapped to SNES $E0 to $FF), but I'm not interested on this part.

Now I'll try to extract all these data and insert them again reallocating in an optimum way to get the most free room possible.

justin3009

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1510
  • Welp
    • View Profile
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #32 on: September 01, 2017, 05:36:25 pm »
Any extra room inside the normal ROM itself would be amazing. You CAN expand it to 8MB and use Bank Swapping but it's preferable to have as much room as possible in the original game size.
'We have to find some way to incorporate the general civilians in the plot.'

'We'll kill off children in the Juuban district with an infection where they cough up blood and are found hanging themselves from cherry blossom trees.'

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #33 on: September 08, 2017, 01:39:55 am »
Yes, I don't like expanding ROMs  ::)
I've got 5 Kbytes of free ROM by recompressing all the LZ data blocks (with an enhanced LZ algorith or the same Huffman tree used in dialogues) and I could get even more if I delete all unreferenced sprite tileset. I found about 100 sprite layout data which are not pointed by any sprite meta-data, so that could be safely removed.
My guess is that the full uncompressed ROM could take up about 80 megs and the S-DD1 compressed ROM about 42~44 megs (instead of 48).

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #34 on: October 11, 2017, 06:14:48 am »
I've been dumping lot of source code lately to fix some bugs and add new features to the game. So far, I fixed the bug related to treasure chest being opened from the top of a bridge:



Obviously, that's not what expected, so I fixed collision routine to take into account sprite priority; the game engine used those two bits to keep track of which floor level is the sprite at. So I got this:




Here, it happened the same in the original version:



But at the moment, I only could fix it partially; I 'll have to mess a bit with sprite piority list routine to make the chest be drawn last in the queue so Ratix always be on top of it:


justin3009

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1510
  • Welp
    • View Profile
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #35 on: October 11, 2017, 06:19:50 am »
Awesome job fixing that! One of the things that bugged me the most in the original. Glad to see this go away.
'We have to find some way to incorporate the general civilians in the plot.'

'We'll kill off children in the Juuban district with an infection where they cough up blood and are found hanging themselves from cherry blossom trees.'

RedScorpion

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
    • Snes-Projects
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #36 on: October 12, 2017, 06:54:51 am »
Great work!

To fix this bugs from the original game is a lot of work!

Thanks magno

red

jawler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #37 on: October 12, 2017, 04:02:57 pm »
Awesome job Magno :beer:
Is it possible download your modded rom?
Thanks

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #38 on: October 16, 2017, 05:50:16 am »
Awesome job Magno :beer:
Is it possible download your modded rom?
Thanks

No, but if you are interested on some source code to patch the Dejap's version, just ask.

The bug is fully fixed now:

   :crazy:

October 21, 2017, 06:21:54 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
New bug fixed: in Van I Il, the water was black instead of blue. They forgot to include BG3 into MainScreen:

Before:

After:



Before:


After:
« Last Edit: October 21, 2017, 06:21:55 am by magno »

magno

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Traducciones Magno
Re: [SNES] StarOcean translation into Spanish
« Reply #39 on: October 27, 2017, 06:45:32 am »
Yet another fixed bug! In the original version, these stairs don't behave as stairs, but as normal floor:



It was tough, but finally figures out what to change to fix it:



The programmers forgot to mask the tiletype for event tiles (MSBit = '1'), so the commands for that tile executed properly (that occurs when MSBit = '1') but the tile action was not executed (which was defined but the lower 6 bits).

I already fixed some wrong solid tiles in Dulce after the disaster: due to some tile types incorrectly defined, you could cross over the mountains and there was some spot in the snowed plain where you got stuck having nothing around.