News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Add routine in PS2 Elf file  (Read 2344 times)

Mirakichi

• View Profile
Add routine in PS2 Elf file
« on: December 24, 2016, 06:48:02 am »
Hi, this is my first time here in Romhacking.net. I need to help for add and enable some routines in ps2 elf executable.
This routine refers to the subtitles showed in cutscenes of Resident Evil 4 (ps2) european version. This RE4 version uses text files with subtitles for videos, however, manys videos don't show the subtitles during the speechs, but the this subtitles are in text files.
My goal is; add lines in text scripts to show subtitles in main game, e.g; when a Ganado to speak: "Un forasteiro", a subtitle to be showed in tv screen, sync with the speech. And enable the subtitles that are not showed in some cutscenes, edit the showing time of text in screen, and the position.
Someone can help me to find the routine that read the texts and shows them in screen, to make possible the edition of routine?
This is the link with executable elf of re4: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-izXc2oOt7udEpPU3FkOGJ3V0E/view?usp=drivesdk

mz

• Whore
    • View Profile
Re: Add routine in PS2 Elf file
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2016, 12:12:26 pm »
"Un forasteiro"
They're Spanish, not Portuguese, so it's "forastero", without an "i".
There has to be a better life.

Mirakichi

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2016, 02:01:44 pm »
Ok, forgive my mistake in "i", but returning to the post subject, how to find a routine that shows the subtitles in tv screen, and how to edit, add new subtitles syncronized with the speechs?

mz

• Whore
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2016, 04:22:08 pm »
If you have to ask that, you're probably not going to be able to do it.

This is what I'd try:
1. Find where the text for the other subtitles are in RAM.