News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: First translation project. 3x3 Eyes: Juuma Houkan  (Read 5537 times)

Atomizer_Zero

• View Profile
First translation project. 3x3 Eyes: Juuma Houkan
« on: December 16, 2016, 06:54:21 am »
So, this is my first attempt at translating a rom (snes in this case). I've managed to build the hiragana, katakana, A-z,  a-z, numbers and symbols table. I believe the kanji table will be 2 hexs per character  (FFFF).  So, I have a question. Text pointers, how do I find them? On the option menu, sound is 4 characters wide in Japanese,  and I need it to take 5 characters in English. My first attempt caused the menu to glitch out. Any help here would be great, thanks :)

Zeikar

• View Profile
Re: First translation project. 3x3 Eyes: Juuma Houkan
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2016, 07:00:13 am »
I'm not sure, but I think my question is similar to yours, however I'm not doing my own project, it's only for personal use

USC

• Submission Reviewer
  • Obviously Outdated
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2016, 09:17:39 am »
This article on Data Crystal might be helpful.
Get the address at the start of a line of dialogue, convert it to the formats mentioned there, then see if you can find it in the ROM itself.

Atomizer_Zero

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2016, 10:05:50 am »
Thanks. Looks like what I need.

I'll have to have a look when I get home from work.

I have a question though. On the game, the option screen has 3 options. In the hex data, each set of characters are separated by "F1 00" (iirc... Will check later). Do I check from the first character of the first option? (for example, the SA in SA U N DO(Sound in Japanese)) Do I check from the F1? Thanks

cccmar

• View Profile
    • Nebulous Translations site
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2016, 10:32:34 am »
Thanks. Looks like what I need.