News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Dancing Mad - Final Fantasy VI MSU-1 Hack for Higan and SD2SNES - Public Beta  (Read 9258 times)

Insidious611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
The test I just did was with a standard .smc file, as I mentioned. The installer is coded to work on all possible SNES formats, at least the ones that use only one file. It should work on .sfcs, .figs, .bins, and .smcs among many others, headered or no (it'll strip the header if it has one).

The reason it defaults to .sfc is because .sfc is what you should be using 90% of the time these days.

Madsiur

  • RHDN Patreon Supporter!
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 173
  • FF6 hacker
    • View Profile
I wonder which thing I did that messed it up before. Is the Installer not compatible with .smc files or something? Why does the image locator use .sfc as the default format?

You know you don't have to download 103 songs each time you want to patch the ROM? If you got all songs, just put a vanilla ROM in your folder and use the IPS file included in the source folder or maybe it was in the source folder available on Github...

I had a problem with the installer always throwing an exception at the time to patch the ROM so this is what I've done.

Insidious611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
It's concerning to me that I'm just learning now that people are having problems with the patching process. That shouldn't be possible and it hasn't ever happened on my end. The only thing I can think of is please make sure you're using a clean, verified ROM and that it's not set read only or something.

Please report bugs like this on the GitHub and attach installer logs. The installer logs every action it does, including the patching process and any python exceptions, for a reason.

I'd rather people not patch the IPS themselves especially if they're using TWUE. It's easier for my debugging purposes if I can rely on the installer's integrity checking routines to make sure everyone running this patch is using an identical ROM. IPS patchers have no such integrity checks.

The only thing I can think of other than permissions issues or such is that maybe my routine for stripping copier headers isn't working right, I haven't tested that since Alpha since my copy is dumped sans header.

That's yet another reason I dont want people patching the IPS themselves unless they're absolutely certain what they're doing by the way. If you patch a headered ROM with this without stripping the header, behavior is utterly undefined. My routines can detect and remove headers, or should be able to anyway.

My other tip to anyone having installer issues is to try running the installer as administrator. This shouldn't be necessary but the "AttributeError" mentioned makes me believe this may be a file permissions error and generally the the Administrator user is not subject to these limitations.

Also be sure you have full write access to your destination directory.

March 25, 2018, 08:23:35 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Also, it's worth noting that I'm considering including a "download no songs" preset option in the installer soon, but that for now going to custom and setting each track to "Do Not Download" will skip downloading that track entirely, and you can select that for all tracks. This is useful for patch upgrades or reinstalls, but it will still require you to feed it a clean ROM that matches crc.

Restrictions on ROMs accepted by the installer are likely to lift once I've confirmed this patch works on other ROMs than US 1.0. I have had no chance to test this hack against J or US 1.1 yet.

One situation in which I *would* encourage patching the IPS yourself atm is if you're using a patch requiring ExHiROM in which case the current master on github needs your testing, especially on SD2SNES. Am not comfortable putting this one into the installer until I've thoroughly checked it works properly.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2018, 08:32:43 am by Insidious611 »

Spooniest

  • Restricted Access
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3067
  • Madge, I want your body! 'harry your a beast!11'
    • View Profile
Rodimus said in his thread just today I think...

TWUE uses an unheadered rom as a base. So perhaps feeding a headered rom into Dancing Mad was a mistake, if I were going to apply TWUE as well.

... Perhaps I'm late to this party. I'll shut up now. :)

edale

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Just noticed I forgot to post these to this thread when I was spreading them around a week or so ago.

All the versions of the Opera converted to work with the Dancing Mad MSU-1 patch so far:

View at 720p/60 to listen without an audio fidelity decrease from Youtube's re-encoding, text is the updated opera text from TWUE 2.0:

Final Fantasy VI Original Sound Version Remastered album's version of the Opera:
https://youtu.be/TCyd8STWwtE
This is currently included in the Dancing Mad MSU-1 mod under the OST listing.
There's a slight fidelity increase, but overall you might as well use the SPC audio, it sounds the same.

Game Music Concert 4's version of the Opera:
https://youtu.be/4xo5oQWjXP8
This is the one currently included in the Dancing Mad MSU-1 mod under the OTH listing.

The Black Mages' version of the Opera:
https://youtu.be/pqk7bKMCPj8
https://mega.nz/#!KJRGVKKK!7z_LdxBntuB7EoXA2Z42dN-XO8eokvWH8Ny9PkuUPsY
This is probably my favorite version of the opera for multiple reasons.
-The narration is voiced, although it's too fast to be matched up to the on-screen lyrics.
-When racing to Ultros, the battle between Ralse and Draco, complete with spoken dialog, continues.
-The Black Mages is led by the lead music designer from FFVI.
-First version of the Opera to ever be released in its entirety, allowing fans to find out how it was supposed to end if Ultros/Setzer didn't interfere.
-Electric Guitar. Enough said.

More Friends: Music from Final Fantasy album's version of the Opera:
https://youtu.be/aM407Oxzsew
https://mega.nz/#!nYREHQTL!FuvrBjtOhUOChpa8KeAonCukCRtYG9NZzNu0uDPBsIE
-English.

Distant Worlds version of the Opera:
https://youtu.be/dIn5t4TGv3w
https://mega.nz/#!CUR2iLRb!X2H5KQVbq6_dqGmE6KveKvf_UGNfVVRYAUYezdjjRw0
-English.

If anyone knows of another performance of the FULL Opera (not just the Aria) that I haven't converted, let me know.

Insidious611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Hi all! I want to apologize for the fact bug fixing has been slow lately but also let you guys know that's probably going to continue for a while. I decided to head back to college and started a couple months ago, so my time to spend on this has been limited. Rest assured I *am* paying attention to all bug reports coming in and am brainstorming fixes, if not actually putting code to file atm.

edale

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
So it was brought to Insidious and my attention that Sean Schafianski (SSC option in the installer) actually had a partially completed Disk 2 for his remaster.
https://soundcloud.com/sschafi1/sets/ongoing-final-fantasy-vi-remastered-soundtrack-disc-2

The tracks will probably be added with the next hotfix Insidious releases, but in the meanwhile, here they are:
https://mega.nz/#!SVYyyCxR!9nb0okEsbo3N0-e-zSd2ynjqs-FcBfFs1yaCkIVhpyQ

In particular the version of Another World of Beasts is amazing.

Insidious611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Just a small update. I've gotten potential fixes for most of the current known issues implemented, but I'm awaiting either someone providing a save just before the first Shadow's past cutscene or having the time to reach this point in the game myself so that I can properly test one of said bugs.

The "fix" for the shadow cutscene bug (where the town music continues to play) and the "select a scenario" scene bug (where the previous music continues to play on the scene where you pick which scenario to play through) is the same, and it's a fairly heavy handed one. These scenes rely on the previous music having faded down to zero so that silence is playing. As the fading code hasn't yet been merged in, the only temporary fix to this is to look for the "fade to zero" call and immediately mute the volume entirely. This will result in tracks which call for fadeouts suddenly cutting to silence where they wouldn't have before, with one of the notable instances of this being at the end of Dancing Mad Part 3 before the transition to Part 4.

I consider this a bit of a regression, honestly, but it's imo unavoidable as a temporary workaround. Due to this regression, however, I'm considering providing an option in the installer to use a different version of the patch that lacks this workaround. This will still have music when there should be silence in the shadow cutscenes and the "select your scenario" menu, but it won't have these sudden audio cuts, so it's a tradeoff.

That said, with the help of madsiur, a final version with the fading implemented is not far off at all, so I wouldn't blame you if you were to decide to skip this upcoming Hotfix Three and simply wait for the final release. I'm excited we may soon be able to call this project officially finished!

Rodimus Primal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 841
    • View Profile
Just a small update. I've gotten potential fixes for most of the current known issues implemented, but I'm awaiting either someone providing a save just before the first Shadow's past cutscene or having the time to reach this point in the game myself so that I can properly test one of said bugs.

The "fix" for the shadow cutscene bug (where the town music continues to play) and the "select a scenario" scene bug (where the previous music continues to play on the scene where you pick which scenario to play through) is the same, and it's a fairly heavy handed one. These scenes rely on the previous music having faded down to zero so that silence is playing. As the fading code hasn't yet been merged in, the only temporary fix to this is to look for the "fade to zero" call and immediately mute the volume entirely. This will result in tracks which call for fadeouts suddenly cutting to silence where they wouldn't have before, with one of the notable instances of this being at the end of Dancing Mad Part 3 before the transition to Part 4.

I consider this a bit of a regression, honestly, but it's imo unavoidable as a temporary workaround. Due to this regression, however, I'm considering providing an option in the installer to use a different version of the patch that lacks this workaround. This will still have music when there should be silence in the shadow cutscenes and the "select your scenario" menu, but it won't have these sudden audio cuts, so it's a tradeoff.

That said, with the help of madsiur, a final version with the fading implemented is not far off at all, so I wouldn't blame you if you were to decide to skip this upcoming Hotfix Three and simply wait for the final release. I'm excited we may soon be able to call this project officially finished!

Glad you're keeping up with this. I have to make a TWUE version 2.01 to iron out some typos that I missed. That along with updating one of Leet Sketcher's patches. I've been watching someone stream on Twitch and she's got a good eye for it.

Insidious611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Dancing Mad - Final Fantasy VI MSU-1 Hack for Higan and SD2SNES - Public Beta
« Reply #29 on: September 03, 2018, 06:01:07 pm »
So, I absolutely missed my original deadline of the end of june, by a few months. This is why I don't generally like making deadlines :P

*but*

I am happy to announce the release of
Dancing Mad Final Beta Hotfix Three

There's a *lot* of bug fixes and new stuff in this version, much of which I'm very excited to get into your hands. Here's a summary taken from the Readme for the installer itself:


Fixed Bugs

* A workaround for the issue where the wrong song plays during some of Shadow's cutscenes was implemented. The wrong song may still play for a split second.
* Installer is now usable without manually resizing the window on High DPI systems.
* Patch now uses a more recent version of wla-dx assembler.
* Phantom Train track now behaves correctly, playing train noises until the music is called for.
* Select-a-scenario menu is now properly silent, instead of playing the last song played.
* Patch is now compatible with ExHIROM patches.
* Installer no longer freezes while testing for the status of mirrors.
* Minor packaging fixes.
* Unused files removed from GitHub tree.

New Features

* Dancing Mad MSU-1 now works along with the Brave New World patch (apply after install). Technical details of this support are that state variables had to be moved to a different place in RAM so as not to conflict with BNW's state variables.
* Five different versions of the opera are now available! These include new versions The Black Mages, Distant Worlds concert and More Friends Concert, as well as the existing Game Music Concert 4 and OST versions. See section 2 for details.
* Installer is now capable of previewing songs! Currently support is only enabled for the Opera selections, but once previews are available, a "preview" button will be available in the "custom track" selection table.
* Installer now checks for pre-existing PCM files in the install directory. If these are found, they are compared against the files on the server. Upon a match, the download is skipped. This enables updating your version of Dancing Mad or changing your selection of tracks without redownloading a large number of files.
* Sean Schafianski's "Disc 2" tracks now available to be downloaded/installed.
* Installer now outputs a log to dancing-mad-installer.log in your home directory (e.g., C:\Users\yourusername). Please attach this when reporting installer bugs!


And just to update people, here are the still existing known bugs/issues:

* NOT A BUG - On older versions of BSNES and older SD2SNES firmware, area music will restart after battles. Please see the thread on qhimm.com for discussion of this issue. Area music *will* resume on Higan v096 and later, bsnes-plus, snes9x-msu, and latest SD2SNES firmwares, due to updates to the MSU-1 code. I will not workaround nor fix resume support on earlier versions of Higan or BSNES.
* Tracks do not smoothly fade. Implementing this requires precise NMI timing and is a continuing project. Contributions welcome.
* Installer may look strange on High DPI systems (4K displays, 1080p laptops with small screens). It should at the very least be usable now, but for best effect please use the compatibility settings in Windows to set the DancingMadInstaller.exe to System instead of Application scaling.
* Music may revert to SPC after certain scenes. Known scenes mostly involve the Coin Song and the Figaro theme.


Downloads!

Windows AMD64 (64-bit) (If you're not sure, this is what you want)
Windows i386 (32-bit)
Linux
« Last Edit: September 03, 2018, 06:13:57 pm by Insidious611 »

DSwizzy145

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
  • Super Famicom Fanatic
    • View Profile
    • Super Famicom Game List A-C + SNES Game List
Re: Dancing Mad - Final Fantasy VI MSU-1 Hack for Higan and SD2SNES - Public Beta
« Reply #30 on: September 03, 2018, 07:09:16 pm »
Why translate the same game a bazillion times?

Midna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Resident Panel de Pon Nut
    • View Profile
Re: Dancing Mad - Final Fantasy VI MSU-1 Hack for Higan and SD2SNES - Public Beta
« Reply #31 on: September 03, 2018, 07:27:46 pm »
This isn't a retranslation, it's a mod designed around taking advantage of the MSU-1 chip--basically allowing streamed audio on the SNES's hardware. (All that said, though, I wouldn't mind a new fan translation of FF6, considering how dated and admittedly bad Sky Render's translation is. That, or an import of the GBA script into the SNES game. Either would do.)

edale

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Re: Dancing Mad - Final Fantasy VI MSU-1 Hack for Higan and SD2SNES - Public Beta
« Reply #32 on: September 03, 2018, 09:40:35 pm »
This isn't a retranslation, it's a mod designed around taking advantage of the MSU-1 chip--basically allowing streamed audio on the SNES's hardware. (All that said, though, I wouldn't mind a new fan translation of FF6, considering how dated and admittedly bad Sky Render's translation is. That, or an import of the GBA script into the SNES game. Either would do.)
Have you tried the Ted Woolsey Uncensor patch? It's a MUCH better translation than Sky Render's. Also has a lot of bug fixes. Also renames all the monsters and such to the GBA names.

IIRC, the goal of the patch was to bring things as close as possible to the GBA version, within the limits of the SNES.

The version of the Ted Woolsey patch with all the bug fixes, addons, and updated Opera script is actually included as an optional component of the Dancing Mad installer (if you want one of the lesser versions of the patch, you'll need to get it yourself: http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/1386/)

Insidious611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Dancing Mad - Final Fantasy VI MSU-1 Hack for Higan and SD2SNES - Public Beta
« Reply #33 on: September 04, 2018, 07:53:29 pm »
I'm not sure how anybody could have gotten the impression this was a retranslation :P.


In any case, I have great news to report.

I just discovered an amazing thing. The audio code we patch is identical between the Japanese, US, and US v1.1 versions of FF3. That is to say, it should be completely possible to *as is*, use Dancing Mad on both Japanese and V1.1 US copies of FF3, not just V1.0 US copies. I made an investigation of the files between the different versions and an entire 16kb segment of code starting at where I jump from is identical between different versions. Given said code is exactly what needs modified/replaced, unless any of our own RAM addresses conflict with the Japanese or patched US ROMs, this should mean that, and excuse my big bold words

Dancing Mad is, as far as I can tell, compatible with all known versions of FF6.
Please note that optional patches may or may not work.
I had never gotten around to testing for this compatibility before now, but I can say this with 90% certainty. Please report any bugs trying to run Dancing Mad on these versions!

The installer has now been updated to check for these additional versions.

Insidious611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Turns out that was a slightly hasty declaration.

US V1.1 ROMs have a crashbug in the battle and patching bugs in the installer. See issue tracker on GitHub.
V1.0 ROMs have neither of these issues.

They still function up until the first battle. I'm unsure why this would be the case as my code should be generic considering there's no change in the music code I'm wrapping.

I'll need to step through this stuff in a debugger and see where it's falling down.

Thank you for your patience.

Rodimus Primal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 841
    • View Profile
Turns out that was a slightly hasty declaration.

US V1.1 ROMs have a crashbug in the battle and patching bugs in the installer. See issue tracker on GitHub.
V1.0 ROMs have neither of these issues.

They still function up until the first battle. I'm unsure why this would be the case as my code should be generic considering there's no change in the music code I'm wrapping.

I'll need to step through this stuff in a debugger and see where it's falling down.

Thank you for your patience.

Almost all hacks for FFVI use 1.0 as a base instead of 1.1. There is something different about it that causes issues. To my understanding, the biggest change between 1.0 and 1.1 is the Sketch glitch but the Hacking community came up with a better solution to that problem. I think that is why folks made hacks specifically for 1.0.

Insidious611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
I do get that. The thing is that before announcing 1.1 *should* work for Dancing Mad, I had been trying to find a way to make a version of the patch for 1.1 (by figuring out where the audio code differed and tryig to find where track loading was being done) and ran checks on the differences between the ROMs by bank. My code only touches bank C5, and the entirety of bank C5 is identical between the two ROMs, as are all the RAM addresses I'm using as well as afaict the free space available.

So my surprise is mostly to do with the fact that while a lot changed, none of it has anything to do with anything my code should have touched :/

Sorry if I sound at all annoyed, but I've had the same thing told to me a few times. :P

In any case if I can't get it working on V1.1 I at least hope it works on J.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2018, 01:48:51 am by Insidious611 »

Vector

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
I just wanted to thank Insidious611 for his work on this project. Final Fantasy III (VI) or whatever you want to call it is my very favorite Final Fantasy game in the entire series and this is just an awesome way to experience it once more. I've played through the Bannon waterfall Ultros area so far. I haven't really had any issues besides the music not really fading after a battle, but I think I read that's known. I'm playing on an SD2SNES cart on an Analogue Super NT and I've also tried all the different tracks that the installer offers to find the one I like the most which is so far for me the quertymondo one with the exception of the Locke theme song not being my favorite. Anyway, just thank you again to Insidious611, hope you're doing well with college.

Insidious611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Things are going well, just very busy! Lots of things using up my time atm. Thank you for the compliment and the report of a good working result on a Super NT with an SD2SNES, that was something I was interested in hearing about. The fading is currently being handled by another coder though I've got my own prototype for it, it's just currently a bit threadbare.

On another note!

I haven't gotten time to check this out but I think I've tracked down the issue with 1.1. I *think* all the people using 1.1 were also using the TWUE option in the installer, which doesn't check what version it's being applied against before applying it. That was a thinko on my part, one I'm planning on fixing sometime soon. I'm basically going to disable any optional patches being applied on anything but 1.0 because they've all only been tested on 1.0.

I might also encourage using a 1.0 ROM in the README from what I've heard about the community's fixes being more complete for the issues in 1.0 than 1.1 is anyway.

If you've posted about having an issue with 1.1, and you weren't using TWUE, or you were and could check if it works properly without TWUE, please get in touch! There's a github issue about this, feel free to toss things back and forth on that issue, I encourage in depth bug discussion