News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)  (Read 24693 times)

dACE

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #20 on: January 09, 2017, 10:23:22 am »
Speaking of ProtoMan, maybe this forum-thread is more appropriate: http://www.romhacking.net/forum/index.php/topic,21623.0.html

/dACE

falchion22

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Shoryuken!!
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #21 on: January 12, 2017, 08:27:57 pm »
Here is the first build of the hack:

http://download944.mediafire.com/s8bdccrii8bg/o4gbe9ona76k6o4/Megaman+Bass.zip
(New Link per DarkSamus993)

It is 95% done. DarkSamus993 is working on improving this hack even further. I do not know how long it will take him, but from from what he has shown me, it looks impressive.

Also, when you leave feedback, let me know what you liked and disliked about the hack. There is always room for improvement.

Anyway, enjoy.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2017, 07:00:51 pm by falchion22 »

Zeikar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #22 on: January 13, 2017, 01:46:01 am »
gg browser has blocked the file as unsafe

January 13, 2017, 02:19:42 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
Here is the first build of the hack:

http://www104.zippyshare.com/v/Q0Ao9GTk/file.html

It is 95% done. DarkSamus993 is working on improving this hack even further. I do not know how long it will take him, but from from what he has shown me, it looks impressive.

Also, when you leave feedback, let me know what you liked and disliked about the hack. There is always room for improvement.

Anyway, enjoy.
could use the Boss Select Pre-Text patch, for one
I dunno about the other patches, there is one that fixes one-hit kill glitches, but makes all 8 masters selectable from the get-go and changes their AI and then there is MSU-1 patch, and the Plus one that enhances Bass/Forte's sprites and restores Japanese names etc.
http://www.romhacking.net/?page=hacks&genre=&platform=&game=849&category=&perpage=&title=&author=&hacksearch=Go
« Last Edit: January 13, 2017, 02:29:57 am by Zeikar »

sindrik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #23 on: January 13, 2017, 06:26:48 pm »
Here is the first build of the hack:

http://www104.zippyshare.com/v/Q0Ao9GTk/file.html

It is 95% done. DarkSamus993 is working on improving this hack even further. I do not know how long it will take him, but from from what he has shown me, it looks impressive.

Also, when you leave feedback, let me know what you liked and disliked about the hack. There is always room for improvement.

Anyway, enjoy.
thx! will play it now!

gg browser has blocked the file as unsafe

January 13, 2017, 02:19:42 am - (Auto Merged - Double Posts are not allowed before 7 days.)
could use the Boss Select Pre-Text patch, for one
I dunno about the other patches, there is one that fixes one-hit kill glitches, but makes all 8 masters selectable from the get-go and changes their AI and then there is MSU-1 patch, and the Plus one that enhances Bass/Forte's sprites and restores Japanese names etc.
http://www.romhacking.net/?page=hacks&genre=&platform=&game=849&category=&perpage=&title=&author=&hacksearch=Go

there is also http://www.romhacking.net/translations/1792/

shmoo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #24 on: January 13, 2017, 06:57:44 pm »
Here is the first build of the hack:

http://www104.zippyshare.com/v/Q0Ao9GTk/file.html

It is 95% done. DarkSamus993 is working on improving this hack even further. I do not know how long it will take him, but from from what he has shown me, it looks impressive.

Also, when you leave feedback, let me know what you liked and disliked about the hack. There is always room for improvement.

Anyway, enjoy.

Excuse me, but which rom version should I apply the patch to? I downloaded the same game on five different sites and their respective CRC32, MD5, SHA-1 and SHA-256 verification codes does not match the one indicated in the txt document. As a reference I leave the specs of the site superfamicom.org:

ROM Information

Country USA
Internal CRC F199
CRC32 2D947536
MD5 301D8C4F1B5DE2CD10B68686B17B281A
SHA-1 6E7C9C9DD397F771303EE4AEC29D106B9F86C832
SHA-256 A255FEC32453739903A1954149F19BC9658F4A415600B44BADF1D4E5E13A16F9
ROM Speed ​​120ns (FastROM)
ROM Size 16 Mb
ROM HiROM Bank
ROM Type Normal
SRAM Size 0 Kb
Internal Title MEGAMAN 7
Common Filenames
Mega Man 7 (U) .sfc (GoodSNES v0.999.5)
Mega Man 7 (USA) .sfc (No-Intro 2011-12-24)
Megaman VII (USA) .sfc (No-Intro 2011-xx-xx)
Mega Man VII (NTSC) (Eng) (1.0) .sfc (Zapatabase 2011-01-30)

Country Japan
Internal CRC 3DC6
CRC32 EE05A1AF
MD5 28DE2793D6A51715DA1757B5C0D4314D
SHA-1 1702BD66DB2860FF2C399AF34D62FC1BA59B32BD
SHA-256 1CFDD9E354859834FA554488CDE195FB8E249A3D7B03DD432F687C94FD6C1B82
ROM Speed ​​120ns (FastROM)
ROM Size 16 Mb
ROM HiROM Bank
ROM Type Normal
SRAM Size 0 Kb
Internal Title ROCKMAN 7
Common Filenames
Rockman 7 - Shukumei no Taiketsu! (Japan) (Sample) .sfc (No-Intro 2011-12-24)

Country Japan
Internal CRC 44D1
CRC32 31F18DDA
MD5 E9C126CBD7C68C9E985DC501F625B030
SHA-1 A907F7ECE8A8D89126C466079712282D675486EF
SHA-256 704C035CF9236577334DE9B935190D8D22FE775FB64CE3008C893B7BD3BFA64A
ROM Speed ​​120ns (FastROM)
ROM Size 16 Mb
ROM HiROM Bank
ROM Type Normal
SRAM Size 0 Kb
Internal Title ROCKMAN 7
Common Filenames
Rockman 7 - Syukumei no Taiketsu (J) .sfc (GoodSNES v0.999.5)
Rockman 7 - Shukumei no Taiketsu! (Japan) .sfc (No-Intro 2011-12-24)
Rockman 7 - Shukumei no Taiketsu! (NTSC) (Jap) (1.0) .sfc (Zapatabase 2011-01-30)

Country Europe
Internal CRC 66F6
CRC32 03579738
MD5 C533C4EF3D086ACEC510A6E3B55B3AF3
SHA-1 D11E3793F46F2B1BD00150438D394E4B13489A14
SHA-256 81F90A36C07221546C441D67689D951864F071F3218AA96994C0C54E93998A67
ROM Speed ​​120ns (FastROM)
ROM Size 16 Mb
ROM HiROM Bank
ROM Type Normal
SRAM Size 0 Kb
Internal Title MEGAMAN 7
Common Filenames
Mega Man 7 (E) .sfc (GoodSNES v0.999.5)
Mega Man 7 (Europe) .sfc (No-Intro 2011-12-24)
Megaman VII (Europe) .sfc (No-Intro 2011-xx-xx)
Mega Man VII (PAL) (Eng) (1.0) .sfc (Zapatabase 2011-01-30)

Which rom I use?

thainferno305

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #25 on: January 14, 2017, 03:02:47 am »
freedom of speech ok i can say whatever i want plus i wasnt even talking to u useless

shmoo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #26 on: January 14, 2017, 02:04:52 pm »
freedom of speech ok i can say whatever i want plus i wasnt even talking to u useless

... your comment helped me a lot... :P

falchion22

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Shoryuken!!
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #27 on: January 14, 2017, 04:53:39 pm »
Excuse me, but which rom version should I apply the patch to? I downloaded the same game on five different sites and their respective CRC32, MD5, SHA-1 and SHA-256 verification codes does not match the one indicated in the txt document. As a reference I leave the specs of the site superfamicom.org:

Which rom I use?

Make sure you are using the USA version and that it is a smc file and not a sfc file.
Also I found the rom by using google. Also another good tool to use is "hashmyfiles". It tells you all the information for the rom you have.

shmoo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #28 on: January 14, 2017, 05:37:20 pm »
Make sure you are using the USA version and that it is a smc file and not a sfc file.
Also I found the rom by using google. Also another good tool to use is "hashmyfiles". It tells you all the information for the rom you have.

But the information about which rom to apply the patch does not match. These are the specs you wrote in the txt document:

CRC32: 8002c19b
MD5: dbc70aedf7b93d727ba1c351df5126f5
SHA-1: 441d539a2bfb482295010f48ae8bf7bef9bb2c88
SHA-256: a0a8614fd3720ed09f5280cba826cb2d8486f184da1701dc21335bc9a46ebe04

And these are the specs about the USA rom (Mega Man VII (U) .smc) I have - using HashMyFiles, like you suggested:

Filename: Mega Man VII (U) .smc
MD5: 301d8c4f1b5de2cd10b68686b17b281a
SHA1: 6e7c9c9dd397f771303ee4aec29d106b9f86c832
CRC32: 2d947536
SHA-256: a255fec32453739903a1954149f19bc9658f4a415600b44badf1d4e5e13a16f9
SHA-512: a197d223d7609c226c21ace4db5302a82cf68545621f3ac00e03d482ee6e5cf5b431087b5dc26fdeded4b7bc94f3f963deb442b8514fa1844c02347e68cdc2f1
SHA-384: f46049ab507764f686d2fe0099c7b849978db408ec730bbf37828cac371b2e7a29c83222d27298ff3179dfa1f6ed0d3c
Extension: smc
File Attributes: A

Can you tell me what site you downloaded this rom via PM?

xstuff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #29 on: January 14, 2017, 06:18:15 pm »
I'm having the same problems too.

Zeikar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #30 on: January 14, 2017, 08:08:46 pm »
What problems? it runs fine just Bass is still Mega Man, I guess cuz it's beta right now? Unless that's a problem..

shmoo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #31 on: January 14, 2017, 08:40:24 pm »
What problems? it runs fine just Bass is still Mega Man, I guess cuz it's beta right now? Unless that's a problem..

I thought the glitched megaman was caused because of a bad patched rom. But he says the project is at 95%. From the photos I imagined that the MegaMan's sprites had all been replaced by Bass. Not to mention the inconsistencies of the checksums he mentions in txt doc. Personally, I think he's working with a bad ripped rom, but it's just my opinion.

Zynk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
  • WIP Roll-chan: The Wily Wars
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #32 on: January 15, 2017, 12:01:32 am »
CRC32: 8002c19b
MD5: dbc70aedf7b93d727ba1c351df5126f5
SHA-1: 441d539a2bfb482295010f48ae8bf7bef9bb2c88
SHA-256: a0a8614fd3720ed09f5280cba826cb2d8486f184da1701dc21335bc9a46ebe04
GoodSNES set doesn't have this ROM info, even the [trained] ones.

azoreseuropa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #33 on: January 15, 2017, 08:13:35 am »
















It is about 70% done. However I need some help.
Anyone available?

Nicely done but I hope that you can fix Bass to have his abilities like double jump, diagonal shooting and dash. Can you ?

DarkSamus993

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #34 on: January 15, 2017, 11:08:42 am »
Since I happen to have a working copy of this, I went ahead and modified the patch to use the USA No-Intro rom, so that should hopefully solve any patching errors people are having. Get it here.

----------------------------------------

As falchion22 has stated, I've sort of taken over this project and I hope to greatly improve upon it. It started out as simple graphics replacement and has moved onto assembly hacking.

I've already rewritten several loading routines to enable the game to load data from any bank (in this case objects with uncompressed gfx). MM7 has the annoying habit of hard coding data to certain banks, making it hard to move/expand data in an already full rom. Fortunately, rom expansion is a thing, meaning it's just a matter of modifying the code to allow use of it. Expanding animation data will have to happen at some point if I'm going to add Bass's usual abilities.

----------------------------------------

I've also written a utility to make exporting and importing uncompressed sprites much easier. It currently only supports Mega Man and the Super Adapter, but that should change in the future.
                  ROM                        =>                   Export                   =>                  Import



This means Bass can now use his normal sprites, rather than "squished" ones that were used to replace Mega Man's. Of course sprite OAM needs to be completely rewritten (unfortunately my GUI programming is quite limited, so that will be quite tedious without one).

----------------------------------------

Nicely done but I hope that you can fix Bass to have his abilities like double jump, diagonal shooting and dash. Can you ?
No promises, but it is my goal to program his usual abilities in. Examining Bass's code from RM&B should help in that regard.

EDIT:
I should also mention the script is very rough atm, and a good portion of it will need rewritten to fix things like out-of-character lines and such. I've been working on figuring out the control codes (there's 18 of them) and have managed to dump the script with Cartographer.

While falchion22 says the patch is 95% done, that only refers to his version of it. With all the improvements I'm working on/planning, I'd say that brings it down to ~10% done.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2017, 11:39:14 am by DarkSamus993 »

shmoo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #35 on: January 15, 2017, 04:35:21 pm »
I appreciate all the information and work around this project. I would never dare to make demands of any kind, you can be sure about that. My concern was about its completion using a defective rom (bad rip). Anyway, Thanks to both of you, DarkSamus993 and falchion22. :)

DarkSamus993

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #36 on: January 15, 2017, 05:12:30 pm »
My concern was about its completion using a defective rom (bad rip).
You won't have to worry about that with future updates. I'm using the No-Intro ROM for all my work and simply re-importing whatever changes falchion22 made that are going to be kept. :thumbsup:

falchion22

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Shoryuken!!
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #37 on: January 15, 2017, 05:50:22 pm »
You won't have to worry about that with future updates. I'm using the No-Intro ROM for all my work and simply re-importing whatever changes falchion22 made that are going to be kept. :thumbsup:

Thank you DarkSamus for uploading the correct patch. That was my fault. Sorry eveeyone.

shmoo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #38 on: January 15, 2017, 05:59:48 pm »
I'm playing the game right now and I must say: GREAT WORK! It's the same as shown in the photos at the beginning of this topic. Although it's the same gameplay as MegaMan (of course), the sprites animation of Bass is very fluid and very well done. I have no idea if you intend to implement a gameplay similar to "MegaMan & Bass", like double jump or something. It's enough fun for me. Congratulations to both of you. :woot!:

azoreseuropa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
    • View Profile
Re: Play as Bass in Megaman 7 (Snes)
« Reply #39 on: January 18, 2017, 10:25:47 am »
Quote from: DarkS
No promises, but it is my goal to program his usual abilities in. Examining Bass's code from RM&B should help in that regard.

Can't wait.  :beer:
« Last Edit: January 20, 2017, 12:12:53 pm by azoreseuropa »