News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: [solved]zsnes hdma mosaic bugs  (Read 2007 times)

Con

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • The BS Zelda Homepage
[solved]zsnes hdma mosaic bugs
« on: September 04, 2016, 06:32:41 am »
Hi there,

I have troubles making a hdma mosaic effect bugfree with zsnes. It is for LoZ, but I hope that people can help me with it nevertheless:


It works great with bsnes/snes9x:


But zsnes seem to not like that mosaic effect


Can somebody help me with it? Here's the patch:
http://www.filedropper.com/mosaic
Just patch a "Legond of Zelda - A Link to the Past (USA)" without header with this patch and cheat with 7e009b-F0 to enable the mosaic effect

The original author is MathOnNapkins, and I have this code sniplet, in case it helps:

Code: [Select]

    !mosaic1 = $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12
    !mosaic2 = $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02
    !mosaic3 = $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02
    !mosaic4 = $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02, $02, $02, $12, $02

Chan4TableAddrs:

dw Chan4Table0, Chan4Table0, Chan4Table0, Chan4Table0
dw Chan4Table1, Chan4Table1, Chan4Table1, Chan4Table1
dw Chan4Table2, Chan4Table2, Chan4Table2, Chan4Table2
dw Chan4Table3, Chan4Table3, Chan4Table3, Chan4Table3
dw Chan4Table0, Chan4Table0, Chan4Table0, Chan4Table0
dw Chan4Table1, Chan4Table1, Chan4Table1, Chan4Table1
dw Chan4Table2, Chan4Table2, Chan4Table2, Chan4Table2
dw Chan4Table3, Chan4Table3, Chan4Table3, Chan4Table3
   
Chan4Table0:

db $F0
db !mosaic1, !mosaic1, !mosaic1, !mosaic1
db !mosaic1, !mosaic1, !mosaic1
db $F0
db !mosaic1, !mosaic1, !mosaic1, !mosaic1
db !mosaic1, !mosaic1, !mosaic1

db $00

Chan4Table1:

db $F0
db !mosaic2, !mosaic2, !mosaic2, !mosaic2
db !mosaic2, !mosaic2, !mosaic2
db $F0
db !mosaic2, !mosaic2, !mosaic2, !mosaic2
db !mosaic2, !mosaic2, !mosaic2

db $00

Chan4Table2:

db $F0
db !mosaic3, !mosaic3, !mosaic3, !mosaic3
db !mosaic3, !mosaic3, !mosaic3
db $F0
db !mosaic3, !mosaic3, !mosaic3, !mosaic3
db !mosaic3, !mosaic3, !mosaic3

db $00

Chan4Table3:

db $F0
db !mosaic4, !mosaic4, !mosaic4, !mosaic4
db !mosaic4, !mosaic4, !mosaic4
db $F0
db !mosaic4, !mosaic4, !mosaic4, !mosaic4
db !mosaic4, !mosaic4, !mosaic4

db $00
« Last Edit: September 05, 2016, 04:35:17 am by Con »

KingMike

  • Forum Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6901
  • *sigh* A changed avatar. Big deal.
    • View Profile
Re: zsnes hdma mosaic bugs
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2016, 10:23:11 am »
ZSNES is the less accurate emulator.
I somewhat recall byuu even verifying with a real SNES that SNES9x is the "right" behavior.
"My watch says 30 chickens" Google, 2018

FCandChill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 528
    • View Profile
###
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2016, 10:59:34 am »
 Comment removed because reasons...
« Last Edit: October 04, 2016, 08:20:40 pm by FCandChill »

Bregalad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2641
    • View Profile
Re: zsnes hdma mosaic bugs
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2016, 11:01:24 am »
People still uses zsnes..? It's the nesticle of snes emulation...
Glad I'm not alone thinking this. Nevertheless, ZSNES lacks most of Nesticle's interesting debugging features. Nesticle is *still* the only emulator I think that enables you to chagne CHR-RAM or ROM on the fly during gameplay.

tvtoon

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 360
    • View Profile
Re: zsnes hdma mosaic bugs
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2016, 01:29:43 pm »
The most curious question is: why are you trying to fix the game instead of the emulator? :D

Chronosplit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
    • View Profile
Re: zsnes hdma mosaic bugs
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2016, 08:01:55 pm »
Do yourself a favor.  Don't aim for ZSNES compatibility, aim for real console compatibility.  At it's best it's time wasted, at it's worst you're causing flaws specific to other means of playing.

People still uses zsnes..? It's the nesticle of snes emulation...
Yes, even though it even has multiple found security holes at this point people still use the thing.  It still has it's uses.  I've seen it's still somewhat popular with...

-YouTube.  I saw Markiplier use at least the overlay, and since he's really popular... well, you know how it goes.
-Crazy old SMW hacks due to them using an emulator flaw for music.  Also Flames of Eternity.
-People who say it has better netcode.  There's truth to this, though it's really more like the lesser evil in that regard.
-Ubuntu users, apparently?  I've read reports that it's easier to run than any other SNES emu on there. :huh:

There's betas on Git for a new version, but it's not much to woop about and if it ever comes out it'll take forever and a half.  New ZSNES versions have been talked about since the last version IIRC.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2016, 08:11:50 pm by Chronosplit »

Con

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
    • The BS Zelda Homepage
Re: zsnes hdma mosaic bugs
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2016, 04:34:48 am »
Ah, Euclid solved it:
Zsnes -> config -> options -> uncheck "use new gfx engine"

Then it works flawlessly :)

FCandChill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 528
    • View Profile
###
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2016, 10:54:08 am »
 Comment removed because reasons...
« Last Edit: October 04, 2016, 08:20:58 pm by FCandChill »

Chronosplit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1392
    • View Profile
Re: zsnes hdma mosaic bugs
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2016, 02:22:54 pm »
Haha ... the exploit that makes the emulator open Internet pages when a "malicous" ROM is inserted. Let's be real here ... if you are seriously worrying about this exploit ... maybe you should harden your browser. and make it more secure. :P
That's true and it was discovered way too late to have any worries about it outside of a prank, but it also raises the question of what else is in there.

It would still be hilarious if a hack known not to work on ZSNES had a baked in use of this exploit of this if you're running it.  Dunno if it'd really be feasible though (not to mention it probably wouldn't be RHDN material).