News: 11 March 2016 - Forum Rules
Current Moderators - DarkSol, KingMike, MathOnNapkins, Azkadellia, Danke

Author Topic: VRC-4 dissasembly and Goemon Gaiden translation  (Read 930 times)

Drag0nscythe

• View Profile
VRC-4 dissasembly and Goemon Gaiden translation
« on: May 27, 2016, 04:48:17 am »
Howdy,

I am rather new to the hacking/translation scene and I felt that my original goal to translate a DS game was a bit ambitious. Instead I decided to start simple by translating nes games and move up. The game I want to translate is Goemon Gaiden.

I have already started using fceux to retrieve the hex values for the characters and I have also started looking through the code to locate the graphics. However one thing I noticed is that the hex data for the kanji and the hex data that displays the kanji are different. Some hex will bring up 3 kanji while others will bring up 1. I have also noticed that two different tables are used for the game.

As a way to figure out how to translate the game. I was planning on disassembling the games, translating and modifying the game and reassembling it. This way I could ensure enough space for the sentences. However one problem that I found out was that the gaiden games are both vrc-4, a mapper used by the gaiden games and only 3 other games. Because of this, I am having difficulty locating any information which can help in the translation of these games.

Are there any useful dissasembly programs which work on the mapper vrc-4. Any tips on trying to translate these particular games.

Disch

• NES Junkie
    • View Profile
Re: VRC-4 dissasembly and Goemon Gaiden translation
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2016, 01:08:07 pm »